We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome again!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Awesome again!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is my second stay in at this hotel. My first visit was when it opened up 5 years ago. Stayed in the Loft Suite.

This is an excellent hotel 5 years later! Service and front desk personnel is outstanding. The onsite restaurant is Chili's. There are dishes and cutlery in the cupboard. A personal safe is in the suite. You can book two suites and connect them with a adjoining insuite door.

It's a different concept in hotel designs where the hallway is actually exposed to the inner courtyard. Yes it's outdoors so dress appropriately. It has lockers if you choose to store your skis and snowboard in the heated underground garage.

A must stay in Banff!

Room Tip: Tall vehicles will not fit in garage. Make sure you know your vehicle height. Book lift tickets to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    574
    167
    81
    32
See reviews for
490
813
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We were staying in Fox hotel for the first time. Had a great time Hotel is located very close to downtown ( within a short walk) Rooms were spacious (1 bedroom suite) and clean Housekeeping was doing excellent job. Hotel has free underground parking which was very nice. Hot tub is very unique.
The continental free breakfast was fulfilling and keep us energetic until lunch time.
Definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Get the room on 4 floor, less noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a beautiful property! The hotel rooms surround a courtyard in which there is a structure with steam rising from it...this is the hot tub which is a replica of the original Cave and Basin hot springs. The continental breakfast was lovely with very good service. We loved the decor...everything was a picture or shadow of a fox.

Room Tip: Because of the way the hotel is built, it is a little noisy with echos around the courtyard, but und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and booked because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We were driving and had no where to stay, so I looked up the reviews on my phone and we turned up at the Fox Hotel which was lovely and welcoming with a huge log fire in the reception area.

Everything about our stay was perfect and the service at all times was excellent. We upgraded to a suite which was lovely and gives you a bit of extra space, plus had a microwave and fridge if you needed it. The bathroom was tiny, but it wasn't a problem, as the basin was outside.

We ate at Chillis restaurant one night, which is in the hotel and had a lovely meal. We also visited the hot tub/caves, which are amazing, really unique, we had never seen anything like it. It has a huge open roof so you can sit in there while the snow comes down!

Breakfast was great, pretty basic and loads of kids causing carnage with the make your own waffle machines!! Good entertainment for us though...

Hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the centre of Banff, and we made use of the free underground parking in the hotel too.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Superb hotel with excellent rooms. Very helpful, friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to assist. Unique spa room in centre of hotel. Chilli's Restaurant great place to eat. Excellent wait staff, good range of food and super cocktails. Convenient transportation close to front door. Excellent decor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013 via mobile

Our stay was alright! Service wasn't great but It was because we booked online through booking.com. WARNING: You are better off in all cases to book your hotel stay Through the Hotel rather than online! If you book online and have any issues with your room the hotel does nothing for you! Also you most likely will get your stay cheaper booking through the hotel rather than online! we have made the mistake booking online too many times now and will Only book through the hotel! As for this hotel it is extremely pricey for what the rooms are like. We got a double queen room and the beds were actually two twins! Far too tiny! The rooms weren't great. Also was not a fan of the continental breakfast they only served cereal and waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was just 'alright'. We strive to provide excellent guest service that exceeds our guests expecations, and are disappointed when our guests don't leave happy. I must correct you, our double bedded rooms are all full double beds. We do not have any twin beds on property. I'm sorry you did not enjoy you room, nor our complimentary continental breakfast. For future guests I must clarify that in addition to a selection of cereals, and a make-you-own waffle station, we also offer fruit, toast with perserves, pastries, muffins and cold hard boiled eggs. Perhaps you would prefer one of our sister properties for your next stay in Banff? Please visit our website to book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this location, this time we brought along some friends to help celebrate my 40th birthday. We rented a two bedroom suite which did not disappoint. This is a beautiful place to stay, very clean and comfortable. I recently recommended the place to another couple who recently returned from their getaway; they actually report back to me that they booked an extra night as they enjoyed it that much. That should speak volumes I guess.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.