We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Okotoks, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Awesome”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

What a beautiful property! The hotel rooms surround a courtyard in which there is a structure with steam rising from it...this is the hot tub which is a replica of the original Cave and Basin hot springs. The continental breakfast was lovely with very good service. We loved the decor...everything was a picture or shadow of a fox.

Room Tip: Because of the way the hotel is built, it is a little noisy with echos around the courtyard, but und...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    447
    121
    58
    21
See reviews for
414
664
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

We stayed for 2 nights and booked because of the Trip Advisor reviews. We were driving and had no where to stay, so I looked up the reviews on my phone and we turned up at the Fox Hotel which was lovely and welcoming with a huge log fire in the reception area.

Everything about our stay was perfect and the service at all times was excellent. We upgraded to a suite which was lovely and gives you a bit of extra space, plus had a microwave and fridge if you needed it. The bathroom was tiny, but it wasn't a problem, as the basin was outside.

We ate at Chillis restaurant one night, which is in the hotel and had a lovely meal. We also visited the hot tub/caves, which are amazing, really unique, we had never seen anything like it. It has a huge open roof so you can sit in there while the snow comes down!

Breakfast was great, pretty basic and loads of kids causing carnage with the make your own waffle machines!! Good entertainment for us though...

Hotel is about 10-15 min walk to the centre of Banff, and we made use of the free underground parking in the hotel too.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellingen, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Superb hotel with excellent rooms. Very helpful, friendly and efficient staff who went out of their way to assist. Unique spa room in centre of hotel. Chilli's Restaurant great place to eat. Excellent wait staff, good range of food and super cocktails. Convenient transportation close to front door. Excellent decor.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Our stay was alright! Service wasn't great but It was because we booked online through booking.com. WARNING: You are better off in all cases to book your hotel stay Through the Hotel rather than online! If you book online and have any issues with your room the hotel does nothing for you! Also you most likely will get your stay cheaper booking through the hotel rather than online! we have made the mistake booking online too many times now and will Only book through the hotel! As for this hotel it is extremely pricey for what the rooms are like. We got a double queen room and the beds were actually two twins! Far too tiny! The rooms weren't great. Also was not a fan of the continental breakfast they only served cereal and waffles.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I appreciate the opportunity to respond. I'm very sorry to hear that your stay was just 'alright'. We strive to provide excellent guest service that exceeds our guests expecations, and are disappointed when our guests don't leave happy. I must correct you, our double bedded rooms are all full double beds. We do not have any twin beds on property. I'm sorry you did not enjoy you room, nor our complimentary continental breakfast. For future guests I must clarify that in addition to a selection of cereals, and a make-you-own waffle station, we also offer fruit, toast with perserves, pastries, muffins and cold hard boiled eggs. Perhaps you would prefer one of our sister properties for your next stay in Banff? Please visit our website to book.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

This was our second stay at this location, this time we brought along some friends to help celebrate my 40th birthday. We rented a two bedroom suite which did not disappoint. This is a beautiful place to stay, very clean and comfortable. I recently recommended the place to another couple who recently returned from their getaway; they actually report back to me that they booked an extra night as they enjoyed it that much. That should speak volumes I guess.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamloops, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed here twice in the last 3 years and both times were great!! I love the decor and layout of the hotel.. You don't feel like your in the town! Nice rooms and great staff. We will definitely be staying here again next time we visit Banff :)

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

wonderful hotel, small. staff very helpful. chillis restaurant awesome. 10 minute walk into main centre of banff.
bad points
- access to rooms only from outside, so you have to walk back to your room from the hot tub dripping wet in snow/freezing conditions.
- no mini bar/fridge in room. okay as you get great free continental breakfast with your stay but would be nice to be able to keep some beers in your fridge!
-only double beds in the standard room.
-not many towel rails.
-noisy (?thin walls), can hear toilet flushing from room above.
-hot tub very busy in peak periods.

we had the hotel as part of a ski package.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.