We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Storm Stayed in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Storm Stayed in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We were coming back to Calgary from Golden during a bad storm and decided to stop in Banff for night. We had eaten at Chilis before (and enjoyed it) and thought we would have lunch there again and see if we could get a room for the night at the Fox Hotel and Suites. They were so helpful and super nice. It was 1:00 when we asked about a room and not only did they have a room available but it was ready and they let us check in right away, which was great as I had a very tired baby who needed to be fed and changed. The room was cozy, VERY clean and affordable.The staff was very friendly and helpful. The hotel itself was very clean, the hot pools were also very nice and much needed after a long drive and the hotel itself was quiet.
I will definitely go back again!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    447
    121
    58
    21
See reviews for
414
664
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with 2 young kids (age 3 and 1). We stayed in a premium loft with king. No complaints. For those with young kids like ours who are not good with stairs, might not want to book this room as you have to keep a constant eye on them because the stairs are steep. One downfall and completely our fault. Great rooms though! Fire place in room was nice but also, another thing you must keep an eye on as it gets really hot on the outside! If our one year old was older, then we wouldn't have felt the constant need to watch her every move. Great location, a quick drive; short walk to all the restaurants/shops. Chilis was great to have in the hotel. Didn't have to leave he hotel if the girls were really hungry when we woke up. Breakfast at chilis was simple and free. Continental, waffles, hard boiled eggs, toast, 3 cereal options, small selection of fruit. Like I said simple and did the trick when we the girls didnt have patience to go somewhere else to eat breakfast. (Banff has amazing restaurants def try different places!!!) can't complain at all about our stay! Would recommend for sure.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013 via mobile

Was expecting much more based on other TripAdvisor reviews. My king bed room was small, the carpet and couch stained. Couldn't see the TV from the couch. The sink was outside the bathroom which is ok except that there was nowhere to hang a towel. The light switches in the room were oddly placed behind the door and halfway down the wall in the bathroom. Could clearly hear the people in the next room. The rooms open onto an internal 'courtyard' around the hot tub with external walkways. The walkways are not well protected against the rain. The hot tub was noisy on the weekend as were the walkways. The exercise room equipment is old and very limited. On the positive, the hot tub is neat, big and hot. Chilli's restaurant is friendly and offers good, reasonably priced food and drinks. Plenty of underground parking, continental breakfast included in the room price and free wifi. Have stayed in better priced Banff hotels such as the nearby Banff Lodge and Caribou Lodge.

Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
I'm sorry to hear our property did not live up to your expectations. We strive to exceed all guests expectations, and are regretful we did not succeed with you. We do have towel hangers at each sink, so I'm confused by this comment. Our fitness room, though small has equipment that is just 5 years old. I am very pleased to hear you enjoyed Chili's, as well as our heated underground parking, and free wi/fi. I am also happy to hear you enjoyed a previous stay at our sister property, the Caribou Lodge & Spa. The unique open design concept of the Fox, does not appeal to everyone. I hope you will choose our sister property upon your next visit to Banff.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Fox with our teenage daughter this past week. We had one of the 'loft suites' and it was as lovely as in the pictures. The hot tub was a great treat, we all enjoyed that, especially after a day skiing. The continental breakfast was as would be expected, not amazing but ok. There was enough of a variety that we could all find something. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. Overall it was a wonderful experience. It's a lovely hotel with a great view !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 daughters aged 6 & 9. As a couple we had travelled to Banff before having children and stayed in the Banff Springs twice.This holiday was to be our daughters first ski holiday and we wanted a suite rather than the room...the fox looked ideal and didn't disappoint. We had a 2 storey suite (room 214). The downstairs had 2 double beds and en-suite bathroom. Upstairs a well equipped (kettle, toaster, fridge, microwave, cutlery and crockery) kitchenette, dining area and bed settee. Both floors had a TV. The bus stop was outside the next door hotel for daily transfers to & from Sunshine & Lake Louise. We booked bed & breakfast and breakfast was lovely - waffles, fruit, toast, pastries, yoghurt, cereal, juices, tea & coffee. Ideal food before skiing. The hot tub area is lovely - a real treat after skiing. Really useful coin operated laundry too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel felt so homely and relaxed. My only tiny criticism was I wished the beds were bigger (its always tricky sleeping in double beds when you are used to super king beds at home) however this aside we are already talking to our travel agent about booking here for February 2014!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently had a great stay at the Fox Hotel and Suites.

The hotel has real "chalet" feel to it. There is lots of wood on the walls and ceilng and there is a fire burning in the lobby which smells great when you walk in. The staff was very friend and helpful and the rooms were very modern with kitchenettes, granite countertops and fridges. Other highlights include:

Free underground heated parking
Great indoor/outdoor hot tub and spa area
Chilli's resturant inside the hotel. They will deliver to your room and they show all the hockey games on TV.
Free continential breakfast
Discounts on rentals and lift tickets
The rooms can be connected via ajoining doors to created larger suites

The only negatives I have are minor:
1) Chilli's closes at 12 - it would be nice to have the bar stay open until 2
2)Although on Bnaff Ave, it is at the end of the strip so you have about a 15 min walk to the heart of the village.

I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sleeping quarters on a different level. Some rooms have separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Fox for our anniversary weekend February 15-17th. This is our fourth stay at this hotel as it has everything we could possibly want and has become our favourite in Banff!
The vibe at the hotel is very friendly and the ambiance is rustic, natural and woodsy. The rooms are always impeccably clean and comfortable. There is a Chili's Restaurant within the hotel which makes it very easy to enjoy some après ski drinks or snacks! If you do plan on skiing, the hotel next door (to the left) is the first pick-up spot for the shuttle to Sunshine, Norquay or Lake Louise, so you are likely to get a seat on the first bus. They have the schedule available at the front desk. The cost is $15 return foe adults (you pay the driver) and is a wonderful way to avoid the hassle of parking at the hill.
This past weekend the hotel was fully booked due to Valentine's Day, so all they had available was a standard hotel room, which suited us just fine. Normally, if the hotel isn't fully booked, we are offered an upgrade for a small fee to a larger, one bedroom suite which we just love! We didn't notice a difference in value for the money with the smaller room, it was just as cozy and clean and was the perfect place to relax in after a full day of skiing. The hot pool area is amazing and is meant to look like a natural/cave hotspring. It's very nice to sit and relax in!
We would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan on returning again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.