We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Whitby, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

My husband and I spent 3 nights at the Fox with our teenage daughter this past week. We had one of the 'loft suites' and it was as lovely as in the pictures. The hot tub was a great treat, we all enjoyed that, especially after a day skiing. The continental breakfast was as would be expected, not amazing but ok. There was enough of a variety that we could all find something. The hotel staff were courteous and helpful. Overall it was a wonderful experience. It's a lovely hotel with a great view !!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,403 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    756
    447
    121
    58
    21
See reviews for
414
664
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We are a family of 4 with 2 daughters aged 6 & 9. As a couple we had travelled to Banff before having children and stayed in the Banff Springs twice.This holiday was to be our daughters first ski holiday and we wanted a suite rather than the room...the fox looked ideal and didn't disappoint. We had a 2 storey suite (room 214). The downstairs had 2 double beds and en-suite bathroom. Upstairs a well equipped (kettle, toaster, fridge, microwave, cutlery and crockery) kitchenette, dining area and bed settee. Both floors had a TV. The bus stop was outside the next door hotel for daily transfers to & from Sunshine & Lake Louise. We booked bed & breakfast and breakfast was lovely - waffles, fruit, toast, pastries, yoghurt, cereal, juices, tea & coffee. Ideal food before skiing. The hot tub area is lovely - a real treat after skiing. Really useful coin operated laundry too. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel felt so homely and relaxed. My only tiny criticism was I wished the beds were bigger (its always tricky sleeping in double beds when you are used to super king beds at home) however this aside we are already talking to our travel agent about booking here for February 2014!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

I recently had a great stay at the Fox Hotel and Suites.

The hotel has real "chalet" feel to it. There is lots of wood on the walls and ceilng and there is a fire burning in the lobby which smells great when you walk in. The staff was very friend and helpful and the rooms were very modern with kitchenettes, granite countertops and fridges. Other highlights include:

Free underground heated parking
Great indoor/outdoor hot tub and spa area
Chilli's resturant inside the hotel. They will deliver to your room and they show all the hockey games on TV.
Free continential breakfast
Discounts on rentals and lift tickets
The rooms can be connected via ajoining doors to created larger suites

The only negatives I have are minor:
1) Chilli's closes at 12 - it would be nice to have the bar stay open until 2
2)Although on Bnaff Ave, it is at the end of the strip so you have about a 15 min walk to the heart of the village.

I would definitely stay again and recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: Some rooms have sleeping quarters on a different level. Some rooms have separate bedrooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Strathmore, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at The Fox for our anniversary weekend February 15-17th. This is our fourth stay at this hotel as it has everything we could possibly want and has become our favourite in Banff!
The vibe at the hotel is very friendly and the ambiance is rustic, natural and woodsy. The rooms are always impeccably clean and comfortable. There is a Chili's Restaurant within the hotel which makes it very easy to enjoy some après ski drinks or snacks! If you do plan on skiing, the hotel next door (to the left) is the first pick-up spot for the shuttle to Sunshine, Norquay or Lake Louise, so you are likely to get a seat on the first bus. They have the schedule available at the front desk. The cost is $15 return foe adults (you pay the driver) and is a wonderful way to avoid the hassle of parking at the hill.
This past weekend the hotel was fully booked due to Valentine's Day, so all they had available was a standard hotel room, which suited us just fine. Normally, if the hotel isn't fully booked, we are offered an upgrade for a small fee to a larger, one bedroom suite which we just love! We didn't notice a difference in value for the money with the smaller room, it was just as cozy and clean and was the perfect place to relax in after a full day of skiing. The hot pool area is amazing and is meant to look like a natural/cave hotspring. It's very nice to sit and relax in!
We would definitely recommend this hotel and we plan on returning again and again!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for Christmas and New year after much deliberation. 3 skiing all different abilities husband wife and 11 year old son. It was amazing, great shuttle bus to town or any one of the 3 ski areas. Friendly service, very helpful but not intrusive. the rooms are small but very clean and more than adequate. Not cheep but good value as far as skiing accommodation is concerned.Great holiday highly recommend it.

Room Tip: if you can afford it get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reception and general impression very good but like other reviews double rooms small and bathrooms too small to have washbasin in ! We decided to upgrade to a suite as there were three of us for 11 nights plus luggage. We were woken at three am on the saturday night including our 4 year old to the sound of partying guest in the courtyard talking to guests on the floor above, when we told the reception their answer was it should be better when your in the suite! I feel the hotel should stop people using the courtyard between 2 and 6 am. Chillies was great to eat in and you could get room service if necessary. Breakfast became very boring and there was no option of ordering extras which we would be happy to pay for I.e porridge or bacon. The roam bus tickets were great and the hot tub was so nice after a day skiing but does get very busy at peak times. Having the laundry facilities was a great bonus. I feel the room cleaning appeared very rushed and not thorough and often done late in the day. Overall we enjoyed banff and many things about this hotel but for the price they need to sort out the breakfast and the noise issues.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a suite on the 4 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As per the title another fantastic stay in the Fox. Travelling from the UK you don't want any messing about after the long flights and thats exactly how it is with this hotel.Check in was a breeze, efficient and courteous.We had the option of 1 or 2 beds in the room and we took the room with just one. Still plenty of space for two of us plus all our gear. Hotel has free WiFi in the rooms and bar,was good enough for Netflix while I was waiting for the Mrs to get ready. I don't really need to say much else as everything was spot on again, we spent a fair bit of time in chillis this time round and the staff were great.

Only downside is, as with all of Banff I guess,that the weekend guests are horrendous. You would thinksome of them had never had a beer. It turns a quiet hotel into a noisy one full of obnoxious inconsiderate people. Unfortunately the way the fox is laid out it means that one noisy guest can be heard by everyone. The rooms with adjoining doors are incredibly noisy and you can hear everything that is said or goes on in the next room. We found ourselves almost whispering to each other, a courtesy not returned by our neighbours. The dividing doors need some work or soundproofing for sure. If it wasn't for the noise issues this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It was great to welcome you back! I'm pleased to hear 'we've still got it' and that you had an enjoyable stay once again. Unfortunatly we had some 'louder that usual' guests stay with us while you were here. Although we do patrol the property to enforce our quiet hour, sometimes inconsiderate guests disturb others that are trying to sleep. I'm sorry you were inconvenienced in this way.

We are available 24/7, and just a phone call away. Please don't hesitate to dial '0' from your room phone for assistance. We will quickly escourt guests back to their rooms, and remind them of our quiet time policy.

I hope we can welcome you back for stay #3!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, HotelTravel.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.