We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great for Christmas with kids” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“great for Christmas with kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

We stayed here for Christmas and New year after much deliberation. 3 skiing all different abilities husband wife and 11 year old son. It was amazing, great shuttle bus to town or any one of the 3 ski areas. Friendly service, very helpful but not intrusive. the rooms are small but very clean and more than adequate. Not cheep but good value as far as skiing accommodation is concerned.Great holiday highly recommend it.

Room Tip: if you can afford it get a suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    505
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
733
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dorset
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Reception and general impression very good but like other reviews double rooms small and bathrooms too small to have washbasin in ! We decided to upgrade to a suite as there were three of us for 11 nights plus luggage. We were woken at three am on the saturday night including our 4 year old to the sound of partying guest in the courtyard talking to guests on the floor above, when we told the reception their answer was it should be better when your in the suite! I feel the hotel should stop people using the courtyard between 2 and 6 am. Chillies was great to eat in and you could get room service if necessary. Breakfast became very boring and there was no option of ordering extras which we would be happy to pay for I.e porridge or bacon. The roam bus tickets were great and the hot tub was so nice after a day skiing but does get very busy at peak times. Having the laundry facilities was a great bonus. I feel the room cleaning appeared very rushed and not thorough and often done late in the day. Overall we enjoyed banff and many things about this hotel but for the price they need to sort out the breakfast and the noise issues.

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for a suite on the 4 floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumbria
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As per the title another fantastic stay in the Fox. Travelling from the UK you don't want any messing about after the long flights and thats exactly how it is with this hotel.Check in was a breeze, efficient and courteous.We had the option of 1 or 2 beds in the room and we took the room with just one. Still plenty of space for two of us plus all our gear. Hotel has free WiFi in the rooms and bar,was good enough for Netflix while I was waiting for the Mrs to get ready. I don't really need to say much else as everything was spot on again, we spent a fair bit of time in chillis this time round and the staff were great.

Only downside is, as with all of Banff I guess,that the weekend guests are horrendous. You would thinksome of them had never had a beer. It turns a quiet hotel into a noisy one full of obnoxious inconsiderate people. Unfortunately the way the fox is laid out it means that one noisy guest can be heard by everyone. The rooms with adjoining doors are incredibly noisy and you can hear everything that is said or goes on in the next room. We found ourselves almost whispering to each other, a courtesy not returned by our neighbours. The dividing doors need some work or soundproofing for sure. If it wasn't for the noise issues this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It was great to welcome you back! I'm pleased to hear 'we've still got it' and that you had an enjoyable stay once again. Unfortunatly we had some 'louder that usual' guests stay with us while you were here. Although we do patrol the property to enforce our quiet hour, sometimes inconsiderate guests disturb others that are trying to sleep. I'm sorry you were inconvenienced in this way.

We are available 24/7, and just a phone call away. Please don't hesitate to dial '0' from your room phone for assistance. We will quickly escourt guests back to their rooms, and remind them of our quiet time policy.

I hope we can welcome you back for stay #3!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. The cave hot tub was fun. We were upgraded from a regular room to a suite, for only $10 more. The loft room was wicked. So cozy to stay for a couple days. Ended up staying an extra day to enjoy it and banff some more ;)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not one complaint of service. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. We asked them for extra blankets and they were brought up before we even got to our room. Couldn't ask for better. Pretty clean and very well maintained. I am glad we stayed here and I would definitley stay again. The hot pool/tub was so wonderful. It was very relaxing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for 3 nights - Fri to Mon. in a 2 Bedroom Suite. Note that we're first timers at Banff.
Overall, a great place to lodge in Banff! In some cases, the place totally exceeded my expectations..and then a few minor things you'd want to know...

Pros: The grounds and the lobby are very inviting, comfortable, and nicely decorated- gives you the cabin-y feel. Folks at the reception are super friendly and helpful. The room was clean, which is key for me. Folks have mentioned to check out the hot pool / grotto, and you definitely should. It's almost like a private hot spring and quite perfect for relaxing after a day of snowboarding when you don't feel like taking a shuttle to the springs- super convenient. It can get crowded, but it's surprisingly decently sized.
The great thing is that we had wifi included- BIG PLUS. And the downtown shuttle and breakfast were also included.
Also, the hotel sells lift tickets to the three resorts and you can also pay for the shuttle bus which is $86 CAD at reception - and the shuttle stop is conveniently located steps away from the hotel.

Cons: The hotel is a bit further away from downtown. It's not a huge issue (probably because it wasn't freezing during our stay), but after a long day it's a bummer to have to walk (about 12-15 mins into town) to grab drinks / dinner etc. And unfortunately the included downtown shuttle runs every 40 mins so it's not terribly helpful when you don't hit the right times. And although "breakfast included" is a pro, it's also very basic continental. No frills. We would've like the option to order hot breakfast.

Otherwise - suite it up and stay at Fox. Seems like the nicer of all the hotels on the block.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Rooms are nice and big, but the hot tub is the reason to stay here! An easy walk to downtown, but far enough away to avoid the noise and hustle/bustle of people. A Great getaway, we'll definitely be back! Pillows weren't the most comfy but the bed was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.