We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Second time round, still got it!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Second time round, still got it!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

As per the title another fantastic stay in the Fox. Travelling from the UK you don't want any messing about after the long flights and thats exactly how it is with this hotel.Check in was a breeze, efficient and courteous.We had the option of 1 or 2 beds in the room and we took the room with just one. Still plenty of space for two of us plus all our gear. Hotel has free WiFi in the rooms and bar,was good enough for Netflix while I was waiting for the Mrs to get ready. I don't really need to say much else as everything was spot on again, we spent a fair bit of time in chillis this time round and the staff were great.

Only downside is, as with all of Banff I guess,that the weekend guests are horrendous. You would thinksome of them had never had a beer. It turns a quiet hotel into a noisy one full of obnoxious inconsiderate people. Unfortunately the way the fox is laid out it means that one noisy guest can be heard by everyone. The rooms with adjoining doors are incredibly noisy and you can hear everything that is said or goes on in the next room. We found ourselves almost whispering to each other, a courtesy not returned by our neighbours. The dividing doors need some work or soundproofing for sure. If it wasn't for the noise issues this hotel would be perfect.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 18, 2013
It was great to welcome you back! I'm pleased to hear 'we've still got it' and that you had an enjoyable stay once again. Unfortunatly we had some 'louder that usual' guests stay with us while you were here. Although we do patrol the property to enforce our quiet hour, sometimes inconsiderate guests disturb others that are trying to sleep. I'm sorry you were inconvenienced in this way.

We are available 24/7, and just a phone call away. Please don't hesitate to dial '0' from your room phone for assistance. We will quickly escourt guests back to their rooms, and remind them of our quiet time policy.

I hope we can welcome you back for stay #3!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    845
    563
    163
    79
    28
See reviews for
477
804
32
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (319)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
44 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. The cave hot tub was fun. We were upgraded from a regular room to a suite, for only $10 more. The loft room was wicked. So cozy to stay for a couple days. Ended up staying an extra day to enjoy it and banff some more ;)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not one complaint of service. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. We asked them for extra blankets and they were brought up before we even got to our room. Couldn't ask for better. Pretty clean and very well maintained. I am glad we stayed here and I would definitley stay again. The hot pool/tub was so wonderful. It was very relaxing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for 3 nights - Fri to Mon. in a 2 Bedroom Suite. Note that we're first timers at Banff.
Overall, a great place to lodge in Banff! In some cases, the place totally exceeded my expectations..and then a few minor things you'd want to know...

Pros: The grounds and the lobby are very inviting, comfortable, and nicely decorated- gives you the cabin-y feel. Folks at the reception are super friendly and helpful. The room was clean, which is key for me. Folks have mentioned to check out the hot pool / grotto, and you definitely should. It's almost like a private hot spring and quite perfect for relaxing after a day of snowboarding when you don't feel like taking a shuttle to the springs- super convenient. It can get crowded, but it's surprisingly decently sized.
The great thing is that we had wifi included- BIG PLUS. And the downtown shuttle and breakfast were also included.
Also, the hotel sells lift tickets to the three resorts and you can also pay for the shuttle bus which is $86 CAD at reception - and the shuttle stop is conveniently located steps away from the hotel.

Cons: The hotel is a bit further away from downtown. It's not a huge issue (probably because it wasn't freezing during our stay), but after a long day it's a bummer to have to walk (about 12-15 mins into town) to grab drinks / dinner etc. And unfortunately the included downtown shuttle runs every 40 mins so it's not terribly helpful when you don't hit the right times. And although "breakfast included" is a pro, it's also very basic continental. No frills. We would've like the option to order hot breakfast.

Otherwise - suite it up and stay at Fox. Seems like the nicer of all the hotels on the block.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Rooms are nice and big, but the hot tub is the reason to stay here! An easy walk to downtown, but far enough away to avoid the noise and hustle/bustle of people. A Great getaway, we'll definitely be back! Pillows weren't the most comfy but the bed was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staff was super friendly and our room was so nice with a beautiful view of the mountains. The bathroom was a little snug but that didn't put a damper on our getaway. Loved the king bed and comfy pillows. Sauna was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for 3 nights on a recent ski / sightseeing visit.

Pros: The room was very clean, which is definitely a priority for me. The hot pool / grotto was also very nice - perfect for relaxing after a day of skiing or hiking. I also enjoyed the fact that hotel provided soaps from the Rocky Mountain Soap Co. - a nice local touch. Finally, the breakfast was adequate for a short stay - very basic (toast, cereals, waffles, fruit) but fresh.

'Cons': The room (incl. bathroom) was quite small. Also, the design of the hotel is more of a 'motel' style, with windows and doors opening out onto central open corridors. That is fine -- it just doesn't give the greatest sense of privacy. Finally, the mattress we had for the first night was horrible - the springs were shot and it was crunched down in a permanent accordion shape (although to the hotel's credit, we mentioned it and the staff did change out the mattress while we were out on the slopes). Finally, I think the hotel would be well-served to purchase some new towels - while clean, many were well-worn and grey in color from multiple washings.

Overall, we got a great deal on the room so cannot complain about much. However, if price is not a big issue, we feel that we would opt to stay at another hotel where we spent our honeymoon - bigger rooms, more privacy, finer accoutrements.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or outdoor equipment, etc. opt to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry your were inconvenienced by a poor mattress. I am happy however, to hear it was rectified promptly upon your notifying us.

I have been in contact with our outside laundry company, as we've had our towels come back looking rather old, and grey. I am happy to report that the issue seems to have been rectified.

I hope after researching Banff's other options, you will find that the Fox is great value, and you will return to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 774 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 946 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.