We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Love this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Loved everything about this place. The cave hot tub was fun. We were upgraded from a regular room to a suite, for only $10 more. The loft room was wicked. So cozy to stay for a couple days. Ended up staying an extra day to enjoy it and banff some more ;)

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    507
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
735
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Not one complaint of service. Everyone was very friendly and accomodating. We asked them for extra blankets and they were brought up before we even got to our room. Couldn't ask for better. Pretty clean and very well maintained. I am glad we stayed here and I would definitley stay again. The hot pool/tub was so wonderful. It was very relaxing

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nyc
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for 3 nights - Fri to Mon. in a 2 Bedroom Suite. Note that we're first timers at Banff.
Overall, a great place to lodge in Banff! In some cases, the place totally exceeded my expectations..and then a few minor things you'd want to know...

Pros: The grounds and the lobby are very inviting, comfortable, and nicely decorated- gives you the cabin-y feel. Folks at the reception are super friendly and helpful. The room was clean, which is key for me. Folks have mentioned to check out the hot pool / grotto, and you definitely should. It's almost like a private hot spring and quite perfect for relaxing after a day of snowboarding when you don't feel like taking a shuttle to the springs- super convenient. It can get crowded, but it's surprisingly decently sized.
The great thing is that we had wifi included- BIG PLUS. And the downtown shuttle and breakfast were also included.
Also, the hotel sells lift tickets to the three resorts and you can also pay for the shuttle bus which is $86 CAD at reception - and the shuttle stop is conveniently located steps away from the hotel.

Cons: The hotel is a bit further away from downtown. It's not a huge issue (probably because it wasn't freezing during our stay), but after a long day it's a bummer to have to walk (about 12-15 mins into town) to grab drinks / dinner etc. And unfortunately the included downtown shuttle runs every 40 mins so it's not terribly helpful when you don't hit the right times. And although "breakfast included" is a pro, it's also very basic continental. No frills. We would've like the option to order hot breakfast.

Otherwise - suite it up and stay at Fox. Seems like the nicer of all the hotels on the block.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Rooms are nice and big, but the hot tub is the reason to stay here! An easy walk to downtown, but far enough away to avoid the noise and hustle/bustle of people. A Great getaway, we'll definitely be back! Pillows weren't the most comfy but the bed was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staff was super friendly and our room was so nice with a beautiful view of the mountains. The bathroom was a little snug but that didn't put a damper on our getaway. Loved the king bed and comfy pillows. Sauna was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for 3 nights on a recent ski / sightseeing visit.

Pros: The room was very clean, which is definitely a priority for me. The hot pool / grotto was also very nice - perfect for relaxing after a day of skiing or hiking. I also enjoyed the fact that hotel provided soaps from the Rocky Mountain Soap Co. - a nice local touch. Finally, the breakfast was adequate for a short stay - very basic (toast, cereals, waffles, fruit) but fresh.

'Cons': The room (incl. bathroom) was quite small. Also, the design of the hotel is more of a 'motel' style, with windows and doors opening out onto central open corridors. That is fine -- it just doesn't give the greatest sense of privacy. Finally, the mattress we had for the first night was horrible - the springs were shot and it was crunched down in a permanent accordion shape (although to the hotel's credit, we mentioned it and the staff did change out the mattress while we were out on the slopes). Finally, I think the hotel would be well-served to purchase some new towels - while clean, many were well-worn and grey in color from multiple washings.

Overall, we got a great deal on the room so cannot complain about much. However, if price is not a big issue, we feel that we would opt to stay at another hotel where we spent our honeymoon - bigger rooms, more privacy, finer accoutrements.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or outdoor equipment, etc. opt to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry your were inconvenienced by a poor mattress. I am happy however, to hear it was rectified promptly upon your notifying us.

I have been in contact with our outside laundry company, as we've had our towels come back looking rather old, and grey. I am happy to report that the issue seems to have been rectified.

I hope after researching Banff's other options, you will find that the Fox is great value, and you will return to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and our 2 - 9 year old daughters just spent a week at the Fox and enjoyed EVERYTHING about the property. From the reception we received at the front desk, to the wonderful cave like hot tub, the delicious daily breakfast, and the spacious suite... We cannot wait to return to the Fox. It was a little further to walk to the downtown, but the close proximity to the ski shuttles and the Roam transit stop made the walk insignificant as we only walked when we wanted too which was more often than not. One night when walking back to hotel from dinner, an elk leisurely walked through town and crossed Banff Ave. Right in front of us. It was amazing for our kids to see. We would definitely recommend this hotel. The wood burning fireplaces were great and truly gave the feel like a wilderness cabin. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Go for the suite! The extra space and the fireplaces were worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed 'EVERYTHING' about our property,and that you cannot wait to return. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.