We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Banff
Calgary, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Rooms are nice and big, but the hot tub is the reason to stay here! An easy walk to downtown, but far enough away to avoid the noise and hustle/bustle of people. A Great getaway, we'll definitely be back! Pillows weren't the most comfy but the bed was good.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    492
    138
    70
    25
See reviews for
440
723
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

Staff was super friendly and our room was so nice with a beautiful view of the mountains. The bathroom was a little snug but that didn't put a damper on our getaway. Loved the king bed and comfy pillows. Sauna was amazing!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We stayed at The Fox for 3 nights on a recent ski / sightseeing visit.

Pros: The room was very clean, which is definitely a priority for me. The hot pool / grotto was also very nice - perfect for relaxing after a day of skiing or hiking. I also enjoyed the fact that hotel provided soaps from the Rocky Mountain Soap Co. - a nice local touch. Finally, the breakfast was adequate for a short stay - very basic (toast, cereals, waffles, fruit) but fresh.

'Cons': The room (incl. bathroom) was quite small. Also, the design of the hotel is more of a 'motel' style, with windows and doors opening out onto central open corridors. That is fine -- it just doesn't give the greatest sense of privacy. Finally, the mattress we had for the first night was horrible - the springs were shot and it was crunched down in a permanent accordion shape (although to the hotel's credit, we mentioned it and the staff did change out the mattress while we were out on the slopes). Finally, I think the hotel would be well-served to purchase some new towels - while clean, many were well-worn and grey in color from multiple washings.

Overall, we got a great deal on the room so cannot complain about much. However, if price is not a big issue, we feel that we would opt to stay at another hotel where we spent our honeymoon - bigger rooms, more privacy, finer accoutrements.

Room Tip: If you have a lot of luggage or outdoor equipment, etc. opt to upgrade to a suite.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 7, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback. I am sorry your were inconvenienced by a poor mattress. I am happy however, to hear it was rectified promptly upon your notifying us.

I have been in contact with our outside laundry company, as we've had our towels come back looking rather old, and grey. I am happy to report that the issue seems to have been rectified.

I hope after researching Banff's other options, you will find that the Fox is great value, and you will return to us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

My husband and our 2 - 9 year old daughters just spent a week at the Fox and enjoyed EVERYTHING about the property. From the reception we received at the front desk, to the wonderful cave like hot tub, the delicious daily breakfast, and the spacious suite... We cannot wait to return to the Fox. It was a little further to walk to the downtown, but the close proximity to the ski shuttles and the Roam transit stop made the walk insignificant as we only walked when we wanted too which was more often than not. One night when walking back to hotel from dinner, an elk leisurely walked through town and crossed Banff Ave. Right in front of us. It was amazing for our kids to see. We would definitely recommend this hotel. The wood burning fireplaces were great and truly gave the feel like a wilderness cabin. LOVED IT!

Room Tip: Go for the suite! The extra space and the fireplaces were worth every cent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for sharing your feedback! I am delighted to hear you enjoyed 'EVERYTHING' about our property,and that you cannot wait to return. We look forward to welcoming you back!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day ski trip staying at the Fox Hotel, this is our 2nd stay at this hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. This time we stayed in a suite as we did find the hotel rooms a little on the small side for a 10 day break, we upgraded on arrival for $30 per night, it was well worth the upgrade as we had so much more room and it was very handy to have a fridge in the room and also a fireplace. The hotel is slightly more expensive than others in the town but you have to look at the complete package, the ski bus stop is on the opposite corner (outside the Banff Inn Hotel) to take you to Lake Louise, Sunshine or Norquay, therefore no long walk in your uncomfy ski boots, the Roam bus (which you get complimentary tickets for at the Fox) is directly outside the hotel, the complimentary breakfast (continental) has a good selection and is constantly topped up, the hotel restaurant (Chili's) offers good value food in a warm and friendly atmosphere, the hot pool (cave) is a nice feature and relaxing after a day on the slopes, so overall I think it is worth paying the little extra. We have also stayed in the Mount Royal and although that was a great location (centre of town) the Fox is a more warm and friendly hotel and the rooms are more cosy and comfortable. As some people have previously said, the bathrooms are on the small side but we managed fine for the 10 days we were there.
The hotel is just under a 10 minute walk into the town but you can use the Roam bus if preferred. There are plenty of lovely restaurants in the town, all of varied prices, we liked Earls and the Keg, which are a bit more pricey than some of the others but for value you can't beat the Spagetti Factory and worth a visit for a cheaper meal out, however it can get a little chilly in there as the air con seems to be doing overtime! If you like deserts then the Elk and Oarsman bar/restaurant do a lovely white chocolate and blueberry cheesecake!
On our non ski day we visited Sulphur Mountain, we caught the Roam bus right to the entrance of the Gondola station and it picks up for the return journey from the same point. I would recommend a visit to Sulphur Mountain, the views are spectacular and it costs around $35 per person, there is also a restaurant, coffee shop (starbucks) and gift shop on the mountain, some really good photo opportunities. We also visited the Banff Upper Hotsprings, this is a great place to relax in the hot water pool at $7 per person, again the Roam bus drops you off close by, you can hire towels and swim wear if you like, this is perfect after a days skiing and although the Fox Hotel has a hot pool, this is a natural hot spring and you are outside, so a nice change from the indoor hot pool on the odd ocassion.
The staff in the Fox Hotel are exceptionaly friendly and will do anything they can to assist you and make you stay as enjoyable as possible, Julia on front desk and Ryan at breakfast were particularly friendly and helpful during our stay.
During our stay we also had a walk around the Bow Falls area, this is near the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, again you can catch the Roam bus to near this area and then follow the signs to view point area. At present the falls are frozen but they are very pretty and makes a lovely photo opportunity.
The Rose & Crown bar is great if you like live music,they have bands on a few nights a week although they don't always start until 10.30pm so if you've had a hard days skiing you may be starting to get tired!
Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and we feel that the Fox hotel is a great base and if we were to return to Banff (for a 4th time) then we would still stay at the Fox.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade then go for a suite rather than a hotel room, however if you are only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It was great to have you back again, and to have you for a long stay! Thanks for sharing your feedback with the TA community. We look forward to your 4th trip to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a Premium King Loft...room was okay..it was clean but nothing special...bathroom was tight..pull out couch not the worst I've ever slept on but not really comfortable.. Noise control is poor (we heard the couple next to us a few times in the night) but we were tired from skiing so it didn't bother us. The hot pool is nice but kind of fake..no view like at Hidden ridge and it was really hot (my kids preferred Hidden Ridge because there is a pool below the hot tub that is cool for swimming) We liked thecomplimentary breakfast and dined at Chili's one night...it was good for a tired ski family. I'm not sure this hotel is worth the money...you won't have a bad experience but you might feel you spent alot for what you got!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent property. I tend to hold more expensive hotels to a higher standard (you get what you pay for) - and even still, Fox Hotel exceeded my expectations. We were lucky enough to visit on the friends and family rate, which made the King loft suite reasonable. (Regular price, it would have to be a VERY special occasion for us starving university students :).

Room was immaculate. As mentioned in previous posts, bathroom setup is a bit different / cramped, but that's definitely not the focus of the room. Our room was in the corner and had somewhat limited views of the mountains (F&F rate - not a complaint!), but still gorgeous ambiance.

The hot pool was very nice; a great replacement for the Banff Hot Springs if you've already tried it. We went on a Sunday, so definitely low time. Chili's closed pretty early so we had to venture out for food. The bartender who was tidying up though had great suggestions for where to go for dinner though, so all was good.

I'm terrible with names, but every single staff person was very friendly, would engage us in conversation, and seemed genuinely interested in how our day was going (front desk staff, our waiter in the morning, everyone!). No complaints about parking. Breakfast was a simple affair, but included in the stay, so value wise, we couldn't complain at all.

I would highly recommend, and would not hesitate to visit again (especially if we got another sweet deal - which unfortunately isn't possible now that high season is gearing up).

Room Tip: Our loft was located in the front by the stairs. Limited views of the mountains, but still fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.