We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely Hotel & Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Telford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel & Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Just returned from a 10 day ski trip staying at the Fox Hotel, this is our 2nd stay at this hotel and we enjoyed it as much as the first time. This time we stayed in a suite as we did find the hotel rooms a little on the small side for a 10 day break, we upgraded on arrival for $30 per night, it was well worth the upgrade as we had so much more room and it was very handy to have a fridge in the room and also a fireplace. The hotel is slightly more expensive than others in the town but you have to look at the complete package, the ski bus stop is on the opposite corner (outside the Banff Inn Hotel) to take you to Lake Louise, Sunshine or Norquay, therefore no long walk in your uncomfy ski boots, the Roam bus (which you get complimentary tickets for at the Fox) is directly outside the hotel, the complimentary breakfast (continental) has a good selection and is constantly topped up, the hotel restaurant (Chili's) offers good value food in a warm and friendly atmosphere, the hot pool (cave) is a nice feature and relaxing after a day on the slopes, so overall I think it is worth paying the little extra. We have also stayed in the Mount Royal and although that was a great location (centre of town) the Fox is a more warm and friendly hotel and the rooms are more cosy and comfortable. As some people have previously said, the bathrooms are on the small side but we managed fine for the 10 days we were there.
The hotel is just under a 10 minute walk into the town but you can use the Roam bus if preferred. There are plenty of lovely restaurants in the town, all of varied prices, we liked Earls and the Keg, which are a bit more pricey than some of the others but for value you can't beat the Spagetti Factory and worth a visit for a cheaper meal out, however it can get a little chilly in there as the air con seems to be doing overtime! If you like deserts then the Elk and Oarsman bar/restaurant do a lovely white chocolate and blueberry cheesecake!
On our non ski day we visited Sulphur Mountain, we caught the Roam bus right to the entrance of the Gondola station and it picks up for the return journey from the same point. I would recommend a visit to Sulphur Mountain, the views are spectacular and it costs around $35 per person, there is also a restaurant, coffee shop (starbucks) and gift shop on the mountain, some really good photo opportunities. We also visited the Banff Upper Hotsprings, this is a great place to relax in the hot water pool at $7 per person, again the Roam bus drops you off close by, you can hire towels and swim wear if you like, this is perfect after a days skiing and although the Fox Hotel has a hot pool, this is a natural hot spring and you are outside, so a nice change from the indoor hot pool on the odd ocassion.
The staff in the Fox Hotel are exceptionaly friendly and will do anything they can to assist you and make you stay as enjoyable as possible, Julia on front desk and Ryan at breakfast were particularly friendly and helpful during our stay.
During our stay we also had a walk around the Bow Falls area, this is near the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel, again you can catch the Roam bus to near this area and then follow the signs to view point area. At present the falls are frozen but they are very pretty and makes a lovely photo opportunity.
The Rose & Crown bar is great if you like live music,they have bands on a few nights a week although they don't always start until 10.30pm so if you've had a hard days skiing you may be starting to get tired!
Overall we had a thoroughly enjoyable time and we feel that the Fox hotel is a great base and if we were to return to Banff (for a 4th time) then we would still stay at the Fox.

Room Tip: If you can afford to upgrade then go for a suite rather than a hotel room, however if you are only s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
It was great to have you back again, and to have you for a long stay! Thanks for sharing your feedback with the TA community. We look forward to your 4th trip to Banff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    533
    148
    74
    28
See reviews for
462
763
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Stayed 2 nights in a Premium King Loft...room was okay..it was clean but nothing special...bathroom was tight..pull out couch not the worst I've ever slept on but not really comfortable.. Noise control is poor (we heard the couple next to us a few times in the night) but we were tired from skiing so it didn't bother us. The hot pool is nice but kind of fake..no view like at Hidden ridge and it was really hot (my kids preferred Hidden Ridge because there is a pool below the hot tub that is cool for swimming) We liked thecomplimentary breakfast and dined at Chili's one night...it was good for a tired ski family. I'm not sure this hotel is worth the money...you won't have a bad experience but you might feel you spent alot for what you got!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, AB
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Excellent property. I tend to hold more expensive hotels to a higher standard (you get what you pay for) - and even still, Fox Hotel exceeded my expectations. We were lucky enough to visit on the friends and family rate, which made the King loft suite reasonable. (Regular price, it would have to be a VERY special occasion for us starving university students :).

Room was immaculate. As mentioned in previous posts, bathroom setup is a bit different / cramped, but that's definitely not the focus of the room. Our room was in the corner and had somewhat limited views of the mountains (F&F rate - not a complaint!), but still gorgeous ambiance.

The hot pool was very nice; a great replacement for the Banff Hot Springs if you've already tried it. We went on a Sunday, so definitely low time. Chili's closed pretty early so we had to venture out for food. The bartender who was tidying up though had great suggestions for where to go for dinner though, so all was good.

I'm terrible with names, but every single staff person was very friendly, would engage us in conversation, and seemed genuinely interested in how our day was going (front desk staff, our waiter in the morning, everyone!). No complaints about parking. Breakfast was a simple affair, but included in the stay, so value wise, we couldn't complain at all.

I would highly recommend, and would not hesitate to visit again (especially if we got another sweet deal - which unfortunately isn't possible now that high season is gearing up).

Room Tip: Our loft was located in the front by the stairs. Limited views of the mountains, but still fantastic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I had to teach at a conference in Banff and so was travelling alone and needed a quiet room. The more expensive hotels in Banff could guarantee quiet but the Fox had an advantage...free Wi-Fi and free parking and complimentary breakfast....wow, that seems like a great deal...and a great deal it was. My room was small with one queen bed and a tiny sofa made for two...perfect for me or for a romantic nite...I think it could have been part of another room that wrapped behind as there was an interleading door....The family in the other room were not noisy, thankfully, so I got the quiet I needed but I could hear them talking to their kids and I am sure they heard me talking on the phone too! That wall or interleading door is not quiet...nor private in terms of conversation!
However, I had a great sleep and was not woken by any noise. The bed was super comfortable too.
The complimentary breakfast clearly says it is continental so I thought it was quite well supplied ....it had a waffle station, fresh fruit, fruit salad, yoghurt, granola, cereal, cottage cheese, hard boiled eggs, a variety of baked muffins and danishes, white and brown breads and jams . ...fresh orange juice, apple juice, coffee and tea....
The hot tub is in the basement but made into a cave-like structure and is open to the sky....it is small but really awesome.
The staff are helpful and friendly at all times.
Wow, I think I have found my new place to stay in Banff!

Room Tip: ask the booking agent for a quiet room and they really do try...but if the hotel is full, it may be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 23, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your detailed review! I LOVE your last line, and do hope to welcome you back again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Having stayed several times over the past few years, my wife and I have received nothing but exemplary service from all employees encountered. A billing discrepancy during our past stay was handled promptly and professionally by Tassilo. I would not hesitate to recommend the Fox to family/friends.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

Great place. Clean, comfortable, and everything went smoothly! We stayed in the one bedroom suite. It's possibly the set up of the rooms where there is stairs or maybe part of another room wraps behind but we could hear other people at times just walking around and it was surprisingly loud. Fortunately the noise wasn't loud enough to wake us up but just something we noticed. The heating system in the upstairs needs to be looked at.. very loud when it's running. Both things were tolerable and not a huge deal. Would still recommend it and stay there again!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

From the minute the transfer coach stopped outside the hotel, you could just tell that The Fox was a classy establishment.
Inside, we were greeted by an extremely professional and helpful check in assistant who talked us through the ski bus pick up points and other bits of useful information.
We originally booked a standard hotel room with one queen bed. Whilst checking in, we were offered an upgrade to a one bedroom suite for $30 a night extra. At this time, we decided against and went up to our standard room.
As soon as we opened the door, it became apparent just how small the standard rooms are. There is no storage space for ski bags and other luggage and it would have been hard for us to last 11 nights in a room this size.
We immediately upgraded to a one bedroom suite which was the best decision we could have made and I would recommend it to anyone staying with a large amount of luggage for longer than a couple of nights. The room was much larger with a good sized king bed. The en suite was small however the shower was of a good quality. The fireplace and living area were all well presented.
Breakfast was good and the staff were always friendly, plenty of waffles were eaten!
The Chilis restaurant was good and staff were always on hand to assist with advice on cocktails etc..
The Ski bus departs from next door at the Banff Inn, so no worries in getting a seat.
Walk in to town is around 10 minutes on a flat pavement.
On the whole, had a very pleasent stay at the Fox, the only downside for us was that at weekends, the hotel can become very loud at night, we were woken on both the Friday and Saturday night, first time was people returning home from a night out and the second by some idiot of a man who thought he would sit in the step outside our bedroom wanting a ******* cigarette! I didn't bother with ringing reception but I'm sure they would have acted if required.

Would definitely return

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.