We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We'd stay again” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“We'd stay again”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We stayed two nights at the Fox and decided to upgrade to a two bedroom suite which worked very well for us, although the rooms are quite dark. We had a "mountain view room" and I have to say that it was not, certainly in terms of what should constitute such a view. I did query and was assured it was a mountain view room. I guess it was if you went out onto the balcony (in -22 degrees C) and looked at the hill across the road and then looked left and then right to see the mountains. You could not see mountains from inside the room, even lying down in the bed. Aside from that, we enjoyed our stay, loved the hot pool and the margaritas in the bar. Staff were very friendly and helpful. It is quite a walk into the town, especially in the cold, so using the Roam bus is highly recommended. The hotel provides cards for the bus which is a great service. We would stay at the Fox again.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    801
    507
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
735
30
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (280)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We had a group of two couples and rented a two bed suite. The room was fantastic with a little livingroom/kitchen
& two balconies.
Breakfast was ok, it was top notch for continental. Had amazing waffles.
Grotto cave hot tub was perfect after a long day of skiing. Late at night it was empty, peak times very busy - regardless after the mountain it was the perfect place to relax. It is the coolest hot pool I have been in besides totally natural caves!
In general this place is made to have fun, the rooms are pretty much soundproof, which was a blessing with the drunk husbands ha ha.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family of four was warmly welcomed at the Fox in the New year. We so enjoyed the relaxed , friendly atmosphere, the comfortable apartment, the wonderful hot spa, and the Mexican stlye restaurant and bar in the lobby. The service is excellent and the ski bus pick up and ski rental drop -offs & pick ups is a bonus. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Metamora, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Short walk into town but for those days when you are tired the city bus picks up just steps away (we even got a free bus pass with our stay). Our room was rustic (in a very good way!) and quiet. Our suite had a fireplace and a private balcony.

If we travel back to Banff we will definitely stay here again.

Breakfast was included but it was just mediocre. Short of that I have nothing but praises for this hotel.

We traveled during off season. Missed some of the wild life but it was an awesome time to go.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room facing the back. Stairwell access to back street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I stayed with wife and two teenage kids for 8 nights in a 2 bedroom suite. It was luxury to spread out after a tiny New York apartment. The rooms were well appointed, great big comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms with instant hot water. The hotel is attractive and very comfortable and the service at the front desk is impeccable. My only gripe is breakfast is very 'light on' (bacon and eggs would be great). I will stay at the Fox whenever in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for nine nights over the new year period for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived staff could not have been more helpful. They had lots of helpful advice on ski passes and rentals. The lobby is so warm and inviting and we loved the atmosphere in the hotel.Our suite was perfect with a king size bed and fireplace, and a bottle of champagne as a gift. The room was cleaned from top to bottom daily. The hot pool was amazing and again changing facilities were spotless. We ate at Chillis restaurant three times during our stay, staff here were also very friendly and helpful and the food was great. The breakfast was just what we needed every morning and we didn't become tired of it! The roam bus which is included in the stay is also a great feature for getting to the Banff gondola and buses to the ski resorts are convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amazing hotel, Friendly staff, good value and great location. The Fox Hotel & Suites is a short 5 minute walk into town. For skiers and boarders the bus picks you up right next door and will take you to any of the big 3 mountains. Besides the beautiful, cozy rooms, The Fox has a great hot tub that mimics a Hot Spring. Also, guests get a complimentry breakfast for every day stayed at the Chili's downstairs.

This is my 2nd time staying at The Fox, and if/when I go back to Banff I'll definetly be staying here again. 5/5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.