We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Canadian Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fabulous Canadian Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013

Our family of four was warmly welcomed at the Fox in the New year. We so enjoyed the relaxed , friendly atmosphere, the comfortable apartment, the wonderful hot spa, and the Mexican stlye restaurant and bar in the lobby. The service is excellent and the ski bus pick up and ski rental drop -offs & pick ups is a bonus. Thank you!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    533
    148
    74
    28
See reviews for
462
763
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Metamora, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

The hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Short walk into town but for those days when you are tired the city bus picks up just steps away (we even got a free bus pass with our stay). Our room was rustic (in a very good way!) and quiet. Our suite had a fireplace and a private balcony.

If we travel back to Banff we will definitely stay here again.

Breakfast was included but it was just mediocre. Short of that I have nothing but praises for this hotel.

We traveled during off season. Missed some of the wild life but it was an awesome time to go.

Room Tip: May want to ask for a room facing the back. Stairwell access to back street and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

I stayed with wife and two teenage kids for 8 nights in a 2 bedroom suite. It was luxury to spread out after a tiny New York apartment. The rooms were well appointed, great big comfortable beds and spacious bathrooms with instant hot water. The hotel is attractive and very comfortable and the service at the front desk is impeccable. My only gripe is breakfast is very 'light on' (bacon and eggs would be great). I will stay at the Fox whenever in Banff.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

We stayed for nine nights over the new year period for our honeymoon. From the moment we arrived staff could not have been more helpful. They had lots of helpful advice on ski passes and rentals. The lobby is so warm and inviting and we loved the atmosphere in the hotel.Our suite was perfect with a king size bed and fireplace, and a bottle of champagne as a gift. The room was cleaned from top to bottom daily. The hot pool was amazing and again changing facilities were spotless. We ate at Chillis restaurant three times during our stay, staff here were also very friendly and helpful and the food was great. The breakfast was just what we needed every morning and we didn't become tired of it! The roam bus which is included in the stay is also a great feature for getting to the Banff gondola and buses to the ski resorts are convenient. We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Amazing hotel, Friendly staff, good value and great location. The Fox Hotel & Suites is a short 5 minute walk into town. For skiers and boarders the bus picks you up right next door and will take you to any of the big 3 mountains. Besides the beautiful, cozy rooms, The Fox has a great hot tub that mimics a Hot Spring. Also, guests get a complimentry breakfast for every day stayed at the Chili's downstairs.

This is my 2nd time staying at The Fox, and if/when I go back to Banff I'll definetly be staying here again. 5/5 stars.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

Its a nice enough hotel, well maintained, nicely decorated, warm rooms etc etc etc.

But when you consider this is in the top 3 rated hotels on TA, you will be astonished as to why?

There is nothing at this hotel that would merit a top 3 rating. Yes, there's the grotto style hot tub, but does that really make it a top 3 hotel?

I'm not so sure.

We had a double room on the second floor which opened out onto a walkway to reach the bar/restaurant/lobby/hot tub. The room was very crammed with 2 double beds. But I have to say, the room was always warm in -10 degree conditions outside. There are feathered mattress toppers in every room. With an allergy to feathers, I requested it to be removed, which it was but traces of the feathers remained in the covers, the mattress, the pillows etc. As a frequent traveler I encounter a similar issue on most trips, but usually the hotel will fully replace all items. The Fox didn't.

The lobby, bar and restaurant staff are very efficient.

The continental breakfast is not good, well, its OK for the first 2 or 3 days but I soon bored of cold boiled eggs, yogurt and waffles.

I've noticed other comments on House Keeping. We didn't ski every day whilst in Banff and lounged in our room some days. Because the room opened out onto a walkway, leaving the curtains/blinds opened meant people could easily see into our room so we kept the curtains/blinds closed and left the Do Not Disturb sign on the door. Which of course meant house keeping couldn't get into our room and till early afternoon when we went to lunch. On our return at 5.30pm, the room still hadn't been cleaned. This happened on a further occasion.

Also, on one occasion, in the morning at 10am, with the Do No Disturb sign hanging on the door, house keeping banged on the door and when I opened it, a girl claimed I'd called reception for assistance, when I hadn't, and looked blankly at me until I made it clear she should go and leave us undisturbed.

Next time I will probably stay at the (cheaper, and better located) Mount Royal or spend a little bit more and head to the Banff Springs.

Room Tip: Get a high floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel two years in a row and will definitely stay again. The front desk service was fantastic! Tim especially was extremely helpful. The hotel location is right on Banff Ave which is close to all the shops and restaurants. We stayed for 6 nights in November 2012. We were able to purchase our ski lift passes right at the front desk and charge them to the room which was very convenient. The hotel offered free underground heated parking. The breakfast which was included was very good although it wasn't a hot breakfast. The best part of this hotel is 100% the hot pool and sauna. It is perfect for relaxing after a long day of skiing. The hotel rooms were very clean and cozy. The hotel has a cozy Canadian cabin feeling with a nice fire in the lobby. If you plan to visit Banff you must stay at the Fox Hotel and Suites!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, January 8, 2013
Thank you for your review of the Fox Hotel & Suites. We aim to please, and it is very satisfying to read we've succeeded with you! I will commend Tim on his efforts; we certainly are very grateful to have him as part of the team. I hope we can welcome you back again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.