We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Cincinatti, OH
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

Good:
- Clean hotel
- Friendly staff
- Good selection for the breakfast, they bake pastries every other day, when fresh its delicious
- Free parking
- Good location to restaurants and attractions in Banff
- Nice sauna and hot pool
- Chilli's downstairs and the Keg at the Caribou hotel two blocks down
Not so good:
- Room was quite small
- No A/C inside rooms, night temperature goes down, so opening the window works ok, but there is noise from the bar until 1am or so.
- Keep in mind the hotel is inside Banff national park and you have to pay 20$ every day to stay in the park even if you just want to rest at the hotel and do nothing.

Stayed a week during summer season and it was good hotel overall for the price we paid (170/night). I do recommend the hotel to everyone and also recommend visiting The Keg resaurant next door for really good Thai chicken dish.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,704 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    850
    574
    167
    81
    32
See reviews for
490
813
32
52
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (323)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

Room good if a bit cramped, but good price, really friendly staff. Breakfast included which doesn't seem to be the case in a lot of hotels in Canada. Only winge is the cleaning staff who knocked on our door 3 times in one afternoon when we had just got back from skiing to find the room not done..each time finding one of us just out shower or not dressed, followed by a final visit from the supervisor asking if room had been done...arrgghhh.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Thank you for sharing your comments. I appreciate your kind words about our staff, and am happy you enjoyed the complimentary continental breakfast.

I am sorry you were disturbed by our Houskeeping Team. For future stays, please place the 'Do Not Disturb' door hanger that you will find in your room, on the outside of your door. We will respect your privacy, and not knock when we see this displayed.

I hope we can welcome you back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
77 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

On Wednesday we decided to head up to Banff for a short weekend. After looking at previous ratings on Trip Advisor, we decided to give the Fox a try. This place is in a great location and a fantastic value. The rooms were large and very comfortable. The only negatives were the fact that all rooms opened up to the outdoors and the continental breakfast wasn't very good. I would definitely stay here again, but I will probably opt for a better breakfast somewhere else.

Room Tip: We had a room on the ground floor facing the main lobby. Lot's of traffic and noise. I'd r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012 via mobile

The Fox Hotel and Suites is conveniently located about 3 blocks from the main shopping area of Banff and while it is an easy walk the hotel provides guests with complimentary local bus passes. My single room was spacious enough for one person however the lighting is a bit dim and better overhead lighting would improve the situation. The walkways while covered are open and it meant that I got cold going between my room and the lift however the outlook from the walkways is nice as it overlooks the courtyard and hot spring pool viewing area.
The complimentary continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise and was served in the restaurant Chilis which had good service and good value meals.
The overwhelming positive for me was the reception staff but in particular Julia Thomas who was like a ray of sunshine whenever I returned from a day out. Her genuine interest and desire to help made this lone traveller feel like she was welcome and at home.
All in all my stay in at this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
58 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've stayed twice in Banff, the first at the Delta, the second at the Fox. We preferred the "rustic" type look of the Fox and the restaurant. The price was typical for Banff, the Restaurant (Chilis) was good and the drinks there were great.

It's about a 15-20 minute walk downtown so if your not the walking type you can drive and park downtown but the underground hotel parking is busy on the weekends so we found our spot and walked to and from for the rest of the weekend.
Room:
We had booked on Expedia for a Queen room and got a standard two double beds but one bed was big enough for two medium sized adults. The room was cozy with a "rustic/Banff" type decore. Friends had paid for a king suite and was very nice and a lot more space for those of you who spend a lot of time in the room.
We had no issues with our room except that the cleaning staff was so thorough they threw out the nice soaps after the first use and continued to replace with one bar less each day afterwards so I had to hide it to ensure we had some from one day to the next.

Our room faced the couryard which was beautiful to look at and was our original choice BUT with more than one xmas party going on that weekend, there were several people making a lot of noise outside during the night and the sound carries and echoes in the small space allowing EVERYONE in those rooms to hear the conversations going on outside. Normally not an issue for us until we were planning to get up early and drive the 6.5 hrs home the following day!

The "pool" is meant to look like the Cave & Basin and is a large hottub not really a pool. It was quite nice after a cold day outside walking and very relaxing.

Worth checking out in Banff - Gondola ride to the top of Sulphur Mountain, the Hot Springs, Tunnel Mountain Hoodoos and our favorite the Banff Brewery downtown.

Even though we didn't get the room we requested, the loud courtyard, lack of soap, and one very rude and ornary guest yelling at the hotel staff (which they handled very well) in the lobby, she clearly should not have spent the entire day in the lounge, the hotel staff was very good. The restaraunt staff even better and we really enjoyed our stay! I would recommend this to those of you who enjoy a walk in the fresh mountain air and the decore to match.

Though I would say, next time we will probably spend a little less $ and stay a little closer to the downtown area because that's the part of town we tend to enjoy the most.

Room Tip: If there is just one or two of you ensure you get a Queen, same price as a Standard most of the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is really relaxing,clean,and should really be in a top ten hotel,only if you don't have a rude front desk supervisor!!!I do worked in a hotel industry for more than ten yrs,but it's my first time to encountered a front desk supervisor which is not really professional in her field!!!what a shame!The reason why i got pissed off of this staff was just because of slamming our door after she talked to my friend!And that's not really a good attitude especially when your in the front liner of the hotel!Your job is to make sure that your guest is really comportable in staying in your hotel as well as comportable talking to you guys in the front desk!She called us in the phone saying that we we're complained of being noisy around 8:30pm!Take note of the time which is too early for the complain.After that the 2nd one was when she knocked too hard to get our attention.Was that necessary dude???You can knock gently right?And that's the time she talked to my friend and slamming the door afterwards!Hellooooo!!!!!You don't have to slam the door!The fact that we apologize for that after you talked to my friend!!!!It was supposed to be a good night stay fo me and my family but we rather checked out at 10:45pm just because of 1 rude staff of yours!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

For us, the main attraction of the hotel was the hot pool – modeled after the Cave & Basin. We were looking forward to the experience, and it didn’t disappoint. Thanks to this very special setting, this has become a new favorite place in Banff. The cave is nicely built, realistic (but cozy, not cold), dimly lit even in the middle of the day in spite of having the top open to the surface. We enjoyed the quiet ambience and the hot water. The hotel has a lodge-look, fitting for this area. Staff friendly and nice, both in reception and in the restaurant. Breakfast is as good as a continental breakfast can be - with waffles, good orange juice, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, toast etc. I have the feeling the hotel is committed to make your stay memorable, so much so that they give out tripadvisor cards at the end of your stay to encourage customers share their experience on the travel website. I was going to do it anyway, but this little detail was a plus. Had a good time, and will surely return one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#8 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 968 reviews
2.2 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Banff
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.