We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“welcoming and friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 33 hotels in Banff
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“welcoming and friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The Fox Hotel and Suites is conveniently located about 3 blocks from the main shopping area of Banff and while it is an easy walk the hotel provides guests with complimentary local bus passes. My single room was spacious enough for one person however the lighting is a bit dim and better overhead lighting would improve the situation. The walkways while covered are open and it meant that I got cold going between my room and the lift however the outlook from the walkways is nice as it overlooks the courtyard and hot spring pool viewing area.
The complimentary continental breakfast was a pleasant surprise and was served in the restaurant Chilis which had good service and good value meals.
The overwhelming positive for me was the reception staff but in particular Julia Thomas who was like a ray of sunshine whenever I returned from a day out. Her genuine interest and desire to help made this lone traveller feel like she was welcome and at home.
All in all my stay in at this hotel was very good.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,325 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    716
    425
    110
    54
    20
See reviews for
390
614
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (217)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saskatchewan, Canada
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

We've stayed twice in Banff, the first at the Delta, the second at the Fox. We preferred the "rustic" type look of the Fox and the restaurant. The price was typical for Banff, the Restaurant (Chilis) was good and the drinks there were great.

It's about a 15-20 minute walk downtown so if your not the walking type you can drive and park downtown but the underground hotel parking is busy on the weekends so we found our spot and walked to and from for the rest of the weekend.
Room:
We had booked on Expedia for a Queen room and got a standard two double beds but one bed was big enough for two medium sized adults. The room was cozy with a "rustic/Banff" type decore. Friends had paid for a king suite and was very nice and a lot more space for those of you who spend a lot of time in the room.
We had no issues with our room except that the cleaning staff was so thorough they threw out the nice soaps after the first use and continued to replace with one bar less each day afterwards so I had to hide it to ensure we had some from one day to the next.

Our room faced the couryard which was beautiful to look at and was our original choice BUT with more than one xmas party going on that weekend, there were several people making a lot of noise outside during the night and the sound carries and echoes in the small space allowing EVERYONE in those rooms to hear the conversations going on outside. Normally not an issue for us until we were planning to get up early and drive the 6.5 hrs home the following day!

The "pool" is meant to look like the Cave & Basin and is a large hottub not really a pool. It was quite nice after a cold day outside walking and very relaxing.

Worth checking out in Banff - Gondola ride to the top of Sulphur Mountain, the Hot Springs, Tunnel Mountain Hoodoos and our favorite the Banff Brewery downtown.

Even though we didn't get the room we requested, the loud courtyard, lack of soap, and one very rude and ornary guest yelling at the hotel staff (which they handled very well) in the lobby, she clearly should not have spent the entire day in the lounge, the hotel staff was very good. The restaraunt staff even better and we really enjoyed our stay! I would recommend this to those of you who enjoy a walk in the fresh mountain air and the decore to match.

Though I would say, next time we will probably spend a little less $ and stay a little closer to the downtown area because that's the part of town we tend to enjoy the most.

Room Tip: If there is just one or two of you ensure you get a Queen, same price as a Standard most of the time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff National Park, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is really relaxing,clean,and should really be in a top ten hotel,only if you don't have a rude front desk supervisor!!!I do worked in a hotel industry for more than ten yrs,but it's my first time to encountered a front desk supervisor which is not really professional in her field!!!what a shame!The reason why i got pissed off of this staff was just because of slamming our door after she talked to my friend!And that's not really a good attitude especially when your in the front liner of the hotel!Your job is to make sure that your guest is really comportable in staying in your hotel as well as comportable talking to you guys in the front desk!She called us in the phone saying that we we're complained of being noisy around 8:30pm!Take note of the time which is too early for the complain.After that the 2nd one was when she knocked too hard to get our attention.Was that necessary dude???You can knock gently right?And that's the time she talked to my friend and slamming the door afterwards!Hellooooo!!!!!You don't have to slam the door!The fact that we apologize for that after you talked to my friend!!!!It was supposed to be a good night stay fo me and my family but we rather checked out at 10:45pm just because of 1 rude staff of yours!!!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

For us, the main attraction of the hotel was the hot pool – modeled after the Cave & Basin. We were looking forward to the experience, and it didn’t disappoint. Thanks to this very special setting, this has become a new favorite place in Banff. The cave is nicely built, realistic (but cozy, not cold), dimly lit even in the middle of the day in spite of having the top open to the surface. We enjoyed the quiet ambience and the hot water. The hotel has a lodge-look, fitting for this area. Staff friendly and nice, both in reception and in the restaurant. Breakfast is as good as a continental breakfast can be - with waffles, good orange juice, fruit salad, yogurt, cereal, toast etc. I have the feeling the hotel is committed to make your stay memorable, so much so that they give out tripadvisor cards at the end of your stay to encourage customers share their experience on the travel website. I was going to do it anyway, but this little detail was a plus. Had a good time, and will surely return one day.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sherwood Park, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the first time we have stayed at this resort. Dec. 17-19/2012. VERY HAPPY!!!! Staff are very polite and helpful. (Tas front desk manager was incredible) stayed in the loft suite, lots of room, very cozy. The grotto hot tub is absolutely AMAZING!!! We can honestly say that this is one of the cleanest hotels. Perfect location, just down the street from all the shops and restaurants in downtown Banff. Will definitely be coming back and recommending this place to our family and friends.

Room Tip: Stayed on the top floor, very quiet and got a view of the beautiful mountains:)
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We just stayed in this hotel, Dec 14-16, 2012 and it exceeded our expectations in every way. The hotel was excellent, from room cleanliness to amenities, to location, everything was perfect. The grotto style hot tub is incredible. We would recommend this hotel over the Rimrock and Banff Springs (where we usually stay)!! We walked everywhere, the hotel offers wines by the bottle for $17 and you can ask the lobby staff for selection. Was a great stay, room 241 was given to us and we would request the same room again (front facing onto Banff Ave, 2 story, mini kitchen, and 2 flat screens)! Loved it!! The staff are also amazing. No negative things to say, well done!!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the suites for $30/night. Totally worth the extra $$.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
Exceeding our guests expectations is our ultimate goal! It is gratifying to hear we've succeeded with you! I appreciate you recommending us over the other properties. We are pretty proud of the Fox, and the services we provide. Thanks for the kind words about the staff. I hope we will see you (and your friends) here again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel 10+ times now and have never had a single complaint. The rooms are very nice and clean at a very good price, with extremely comfortable beds. The hotel is in a good location, and the cave-like hot tub makes this our top choice everytime.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 18, 2012
It is great to see our loyal guests post reviews! Thank you so much for making the Fox Hotel & Suites your choice of accomdations when visiting Banff. We truly appreciate your business, and look forward to welcoming you back again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff
Fox Hotel Suites
Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Banff
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.