We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fox Hotel is tops” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #13 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fox Hotel is tops”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

Pleasantly surprised by the Fox. The hotel is clean, the room was quiet, friendly staff, and is a short walk to the main Banff shops. We liked the outdoor walkways to get to the rooms.
The attached Chili’s restaurant served a great morning buffet.
I would strongly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrydj M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

We stay at the Fox at least once a year, and it is our favorite hotel in Banff. It's clean and nicely decorated, and feels high end without being stuck up. I love the rustic charm with the fireplace and log cabin decor. Rooms are nice but the best part is the Fox Hole hot tub in the grotto. And you get free waffles in the morning!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CTB403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton
Level Contributor
30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

-We stayed here recently for two nights with our little 9month old baby.
-The staff was helpful and brought a playpen to our room upon arrival.
-We found a decent last-minute deal on Expedia, and the hotel matched it without having to book online.
-They also helped us get an early-check-in room which meant a lot with us.
-Front desk gave us maps, bus passes, free breakfast voucers and took the time to explain bike routes. Very nice.
-The hotel is GORGEOUS on the outside as well as the inside. Rooms a bit on the small side BUT are beautiful and also have a pull out couch and sitting area along with the bed.
- Easy access to whatever side of the street you're parked on. Elevators are SO slow however, so best to use the stairs.
- The pool is beautiful, deffinetly a must-see even if you're not planning on swimming.
- Only issue which has nothing to do with the hotel but the restaurant IN the hotel, Chilis...HORRIABLE service..Noone attended to us during lunch or evening snack...We wasted our time sitting there only to go to the Keg a few doors down. The free breakfast was not good, not much to choose from except waffles and fruit.
- Overal we cant wait to go back again, we just won't be stopping in Chilies.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LanaLanaLana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Quiet hotel with log cabin style build. Cozy rooms w/great beds, couch, & room for ski gear in closet. Hot tub is in the style of the traditional cave & basin... large, made to look like a cave w/small waterfalls. Room service with no extra charge from hotel's Chilli's restaurant. You do not need a Banff National Parks pass if you are staying in the hotel and using their underground parking.

Our favourite 2 night getaway for a ski vacay in Banff.

Room Tip: Chose a room on the backside on busy nights to avoid main street traffic & party noise
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MacMalcolm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

The hotel exceeded my expectations! The decor, ambiance, and staff were all outstanding. Growing up in Calgary, I've stayed at numerous hotels in Banff, however, now, I have a favorite place to stay! I will gladly recommend this hotel to all my friends and family.

Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank BornInCalgary273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments of your recent stay with us. It brings us all great satisfaction to hear we've won you over as a loyal guest. We look forward to welcoming you back, again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lethbridge, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

What a great hotel! Fantastic hot tub area that made the hotel what it is! Beds were super comfy and the lobby was beautiful as well. A bit noisy at night but I put in ear plugs and that did the trick! Will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank travelr4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
I am very pleased to read your review, and look forward to welcoming you back again next ski season! Let's hope we get great snow then, we certainly are this year!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

We found this hotel on Expedia. We were offered a room upgrade when we arrived which was cheaper than the upgraded room Expedia offered. We enjoyed the amenities alot as well as the atmosphere. It has a younger more modern rustic boutique vibe with enough luxury to be satisfied! We will be coming back in the ski season.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Allie702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.8 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.0 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
0.1 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 882 reviews
0.3 mi away
Banff Aspen Lodge
Banff Aspen Lodge
#10 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,074 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Juniper Hotel
The Juniper Hotel
#6 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 587 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#8 Business Hotel in Banff
#10 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Otel, Travelocity, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing