We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still Great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 33 hotels in Banff
Mississauga, Canada
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Still Great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

Stayed with friends for one night at the end of September. I've stayed here before back in 2010 so we wanted to stay again since we had such a good stay the last time. Everything was as expected, nice rooms, good location, and awesome grotto. Will look to stay here again the next time I'm in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,444 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    765
    466
    128
    61
    24
See reviews for
430
683
27
41
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (254)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

We had a great stay at the fox hotel, it has lots of character and is very comfortable. Friendly staff, easy check in and good location in banff. We particularly liked the cave hot tub ! I would recommend and would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Canada
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Big and beautiful room with great proximity to downtown. Highlight was the cave like hot pool below ground with the open skylight. Made us feel like we were in a cave looking out.

Few people in this season meant we had it to ourselves for the most part.

The complimentary continental breakfast was somewhat lacking, with the fresh self-made waffles the only highlight.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Decided to stay at the Fox in a last minute decision as we were driving through Banff and stayed a night. Did some hiking and spent lots of time downtown which isn't too far. Loved the underground parking, very convenient. The hot tub is the best I have ever been in. I can imagine how awesome the hot tub would be in the winter. Spectacular!
We ended up staying two nights in the hotel as it was so awesome.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

We stayed at the Fox for the weekend of Winterstart. The hotel, the room, the staff.. everything was exceptional! You walk in, and immediately get the sense of a cozy mountain retreat with the wood fire burning. The room was immaculate and charming. Every staff member we interacted with was very friendly and accomodating. There's free wifi, which can essentially be used all over the town I found... huge bonus! We found it was very easy to walk into the centre of town from the hotel, and did not need our vehicle during our stay. I forgot my bathing suit and was very disappointed I couldn't use the hot tub, but friends who also stayed said it was fantastic... must remember to pack it next time!

Only annoying factor was there was no underground parking available to us, and we ended up having to park our vehicle on a side road about two blocks away, most likely because it was a busy weekend and the race start was a block away. However, I ended up thinking about my car all night long. Chili's was what it was - Chili's. We tried to grab a late dinner, and ended up waiting a half an hour for a table, despite the restaurant being dead. Will make sure to make a reservation elsewhere so we would have another option next time!

Room Tip: We stayed in a standard suite with two beds. Beds are doubles, just something to keep in mind. It...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Probably one of my all time favourite hotels. Stayed towards the end of September for 4 nights and had a great time. The hotel is clean and staff very helpful. Chilli's is a great place to eat and the location of the hotel was excellent.
The free bus pass was well used during our stay but the 10-15 minute walk into town was also nice.
We stayed in the superior loft suite and could not fault it.
When we revisit Banff in the future the Fox will be on top of my list for places to stay.
If I had to be picky I'd say the only bad point was the broken tikes on the lift/elevator floor need repairing as they could pose a danger to children.
Overall lived my stay at the Fox so much we did not want to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

We stayed here for two nights and had a great stay !! The room was ready when we arrived and it was impeccably clean. The room was perfect for our little family. The service was second to none and we were thoroughly impressed with the hotel. The hot tub area was great - we agreed that it was probably the nicest hot tub area we have been to and we have stayed at plenty of 5 star resorts throughout north america and Europe. The pool and floor were very clean and the design idea is really interesting.

Thank you to the staff for an excellent retreat !!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#4 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Tingo, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Otel and Venere so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.