We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, great hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
Dusseldorf, Germany
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location, great hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

We stayed there for a trip with the kids (2x) and got a 2-floor room with kitchen / living room on the top floor and bed- / bathroom on the lower floor. This was great and gave everyone a lot of freedom to move around and do what they wanted to do. The location is about 5-10 walking mins from Banff City Centre, which is easy and probably better then being right in the middle. We only tested the on-site restaurant for breakfast, which was good, but with so many other options for eating in Banff we did not eat in the hotel at lunchtime or in the evening.

We would go back there anytime. Even if the pool is just to freshen up, but not to swim, it is a beautiful set-up. One day I want to go back there in winter, which must be even more fantastic.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    831
    538
    151
    74
    28
See reviews for
464
774
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (303)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
sacramento
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

Room smaller than expected; not space to have two open suit cases except on bed. Need more hangers for towels. Great bed's and nice pillows. Nice to have china for breakfast dishes. Staff responded promptly to problem with window and maid failure to leave coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 25, 2012
Thank you for your comments. You can find the square footage and layout of our rooms on our website, as well as take a vitual tour, and find out about any upcoming specials. If space is a concern for you, we suggest booking a suite. There is ample room in our suites to spread out your belongings and relax. I am very pleased to hear you found our beds and pillows comfortable, as well as appreciated our dishes and prompt response from our staff. We hope you will visit us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2012

We were upgraded to a suite, kitchen, lounge and twin queen beds on a separate level, parking outside or free underground, we chose street parking for easy access to our room. Breakfast and wifi free!! Tas and Julie sorted out the problem I had connecting my iPhone to wifi. Oh yes, and given free tickets for Roam, local shuttle bus.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

Stayed in Banff for a conference. The venue for the conference was sold out, so we decided to give the Fox a try. Very nice hotel with great front desk staff! The room was spacious, clean and well appointed. Usually stay at Hyatt properties, so this was a change, but frankly an extremely well run hotel that met your every need with prompt, helpful service. We also had the pleasure of dealing with Tas who went out of his way to make certain we were happy and content. The stay included a bus pass which allowed you to travel to many of the local venues easily using public transportation. I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Banff.

Room Tip: The only drawback was no pool when the daily temperature was 74F.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

We stayed here from 9/13/2012 - 09/17/2012 and had a great time. The room was just enough if all you need is a nice place to sleep and take a shower. We had a standard queen room. These rooms might be smaller than a standard US hotel room, but if you are in Banff and spending time in your room, you aren't experiencing Banff. The young blonde at the front desk (from New Zealand) had great suggestions for lunch and dinners. She told us to go to the Bear Street Tavern for pizza and we ended up going there 2 times on our short stay. The breakfast was sufficient. It was suggested that we try the Keg (there are 2 locations) restaurant and we went to the one not in the downtown area (in a sister hotel) and had a very good meal. If you go to The Keg (in a neighboring hotel), you have to ask for Keith. Keith was AWESOME and might be the best server my wife and I have ever had. Pick his brain for ideas.

The only issue with Fox Hotel that I could see being an issue is that the standard rooms do not have air conditioning. For us Americans, this is something that I just expect in my room. It was not an issue for us because it was cool at night and our room had a portable fan.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012 via mobile

Stayed for one night & took advantage of a package deal to get a duplex suite for not much more than a standard room. The suite was amazing, probably one of the best rooms I have ever stayed in. Downstairs there was a lounge area with kitchenette & good size balcony. Upstairs had a smallish bathroom & huge, comfy (firm) bed. Everything was top quality, stylish & spotlessly clean. Windows had views across to the mountain tops. Worth noting that each window has 2 blinds: a privacy screen & a total blackout (which I didn't realise until the sun shone in the next morning). Duh!
Underground parking garage was very useful. Also, small guest laundry was invaluable after a week travelling - reasonably priced but very hot! Hotel is in good location for shops & restaurants but we loved the room so much we decided to get take out & stay in.
Staff were very welcoming & helpful. We enquired about a later check out & were offered one immediately.
Personally, I feel the on-site Chilis let the hotel down for breakfast. The food was ok, if a bit limited (I couldn't find any egg dishes) but the service was slapdash - tables weren't wiped down & there was food on the floor.
If I could get a similar deal in future I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laurel Springs, New Jersey
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
160 helpful votes 160 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Upon arrival at the Fox Hotel in Banff, we were so warmly greeted by TAS at the front desk,
Who made us feel welcome and explained everything to us and was so friendly and cordial
that I remembered this first impression of The Fox Hotel as one of our best. TAS gave us the option to upgrade to a higher category room at a big discount which we did and we were very
glad we did because there is air conditioning in the Suites, but not in the standard rooms. The
A/C is in the living room, but not in the bedroom (curious), but we ran it on high and it kept the
Bedroom cool also. The room was wonderful with all kinds of clever FOX themed touches throughout, and there were plenty of amenities which were all lovely. The Cave and Basin
Hot Pools in the lower level make staying here worth it all by themselves for it is a fabulous
and relaxing experience which I highly recommend. We waited and went down when we had the
entire Hot Pool area to ourselves and it was just magical. There is a very congenial Chilis restaurant next to the lobby which was very convenient and pleasant for we were jet lagged from our flight and didn't have to venture out the first night for dinner and the Hot Pools capped off the
evening perfectly. The lobby is also very themed with rocks and waterfalls reminiscent of the Banff
area. There is a free breakfast in the Chilis in the AM which was nice. The best part about The
Fox Hotel is its very friendly and helpful staff from the front desk to housekeeping to the restaurant,
they just couldn't have been kinder. Thank You Fox, we WILL be back ! We also had a nice mountain view from our window of our King Suite. All the rooms face a center courtyard with a
Viewing window down into the Cave and Basin Hot Pools on the ground level. This is very cool
looking. The only down side is that any drunken revelers returning to their rooms or wandering
about at 4 AM will wake up all the guests, but security is dispatched quickly to keep the peace.
Again, TAS was awesome and gave us a little toy furry Fox which we cherish as our best memento
of our whole vacation.

Room Tip: Ask for a good mountain view on higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#7 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo, Booking.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.