We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel & Apartments” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Bath, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Great Hotel & Apartments”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2008

Stayed at the Fox Suites Banff from 22nd Dec 2007 to 2nd Jan 2008 on a skiing holiday (Xmas and New Year), my wife and I with 15 and 18 year old sons. Can't fault the place.
The apartments were fantastic, we stayed in an apartment that had a log fire, Flat screen televisions in living room and bedroom, the bedroom was on a balcony overlooking the living room/kitchenette, looking out to mountains either side. My two sons stayed in a very similar apartment on two floors. The Spar opens to the air in the middle, it was hotter than a normal bath and very relaxing after skiing all day. Service was excellent, reception staff unbelievably helpful (Winnie Chinese receptionist the best) and couldn't do enough to help.

Canadian people so polite and friendly (if only all the countries we have visited were the same).
Banff as a town has everything you need.

The only down side as a skiing resort is that you need to bus to the three mountains, Norquay 15 minutes, Sunshine Mountain 30-35 minutes and Lake Louise 45-50 minutes, which we were not used to, having previously skied in Europe (hotels by the slopes). However, the skiing/snow was guaranteed and excellent on the Mountains with very small queues compared to Europe, the lift staff even help you on to the lifts and decide whose turn it is to go next rather than the normal mad scramble and pushing in.

Spent a day with my two sons on the Skidoos at Kicking Horse, 1 hour 40 minutes away, Bus included in the price of £125 per person, this seems a lot but to travel on these things (30mph+) plus stop on the mountain for a barbecue just has to be done or you will regret it. Ian and Curtis were the guides who were excellent. White N Wild is the company ([-]), you have got to try it.

All in all this was an excellent holiday.

Regards
Blanks

  • Liked — The room quality
  • Disliked — Sometimes noisy heating
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    505
    142
    70
    25
See reviews for
445
733
29
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (278)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2007

My fiance and I recently stayed at the Fox Hotel & Suites just before Christmas and we cannot rave about it enough. We think it is definitely the best place to stay in Banff.

Not only are the hotel rooms and facilities absolutely gorgeous but the staff are fantastic. Every staff member we dealt with was extremely friendly and helpful and a number of staff in particular went over and above the call of duty to ensure that we were well taken care of during our stay.

We cannot thank the staff enough for everything they did for us and we would recommend the Fox Hotel & Suites to absolutely everybody.

  • Liked — The fabulous staff and the gorgeous facilities.
  • Disliked — Nothing. Everything was fantastic.
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2007

This hotel is new in July 2007 and still has some minor construction ongoing. However, none of this affected our stay negatively. The property is nice and the materials used in construction are quality and this hotel is poised to make a splash as it matures. The hot pool is quite nice with a grotto setting. Dont expect a hot tub as that is not what it is, rather enjoy it for what it is, a relaxing hot pool in a great atmosphere. We had a standard room, which was smaller than the average hotel room, recommended for parties of 3 or less. Anymore and you want something bigger. This hotel would've recieved top marks from me except for you having to travel outside atleast somewhat to get to your room, the rooms not having curtains (courtyard lights are slightly visible at night), and the restaurant only serves continental breakfast. For a hot breakfast they recommend the Keg at Caribou Lodge which is not far and is another one of there properties. Facilities were clean and staff was very friendly. Included heated underground parking is a plus. Would return.

  • Liked — Hot Pool
  • Disliked — Small room
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2007

The Fox is the foxiest hotel in Banff. If your looking for an accommodation that looks great, priced right and super friendly service then the Fox is your choice.

I enjoyed the two large flat HD tv's which don't even exist in most of the bigger name hotels. The soap in the room is local, the coffee is local and the tv turns on to the local channel. This is what it's all about, enjoying all things local which is what I try to do on all my trips.

The Chili's restaurant has a fun atmosphere which is great for families and you have to try their margaritas.

Overall this is the place to stay right in the heart of Banff.

  • Liked — Accomodation
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, ON.
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2007

I just spent the weekend at the brand new Fox in Banff and it exceeded all expectation. Rooms are spacious, very clean, well decorated and cozy. The staff is top notch and every last detail is covered. The rooms have large wall mounted flat screen TV's and the Fox has a huge indoor/outdoor hot tub that shouldn't be missed.

  • Liked — Great rooms.........beautiful lobby.
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2007

What a wonderful time! We arrived on Nov 30 and departed (sadly) on Dec 2. Although it was rather chilly, our room was cozy and romantic. We were upgraded from a one bedroom courtyard suite to a premium one bedroom suite when we arrived. Every little detail has been addressed from the lighting outside to the fabulous decor inside.

We stayed in room 316 and just loved it. Two flat screen tv's, living room/dinning room area nicely appointed. Small kitchen made it easy for our Friday night re-heat of dinner for two which we picked up from Sun Terra Market in Calgary on our way out. Small fridge excellent for storing left overs from the scrumptious Saltlik Restauarant just behind the main drive downtown Banff. Absolutely the best beer in town at the James Irish Pub! Took in the great concert "Robert Michael's" at the Banff Centre on Saturday night as well. There is often things going on at the Centre - so if you're taking a trip to Banff - check it out and take in a concert/show.

Continental breakfasts at the hotel were just perfect to start the day off - but a hot meal would have been equally welcomed. Did not dine in Chilli's beyond that as we were looking for something a little more fancy with different surroundings. I've noticed in other reviews that people have written that they are confused/surpirsed as to why Best of Banff Hotels would choose Chillis for such a lovely hotel. I guess I can understand this however, with a majority of visitors being in a younger age set places like Chills, Carrumba and even The Keg appeal to this crowd - probably especially after a day at the Ski Hill. With the wide variety of restauants available in Banff there is something for every taste imaginable from cheap to over the top expensive.

No complaints from me though. I highly recommend this hotel if you're wanting a romantic getaway or a ski trip. The hot pools were so beautiful at night especially when it's cold. The amount of steam in the air around you makes it seem so intimate. Really nice to just relax and let the tired old muscles release.

All of the staff were more than willing to address any and all of our needs.

We'll be back for sure!

All around great weekend!

  • Liked — The amazing bed, the decor and the overall ambiance!
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
180 helpful votes 180 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2007

We just spent 3 days at The Fox hotel. we stayed in Junior loft suite, the bedroom being in the loft part..really nice bedroom with wall mounted tv,feather bed,The bathroom was the only dissapointment extremely small!
The living room area had a fireplace,another TV,fridge, coffee/tea maker,toaster .
The underground hot tub/cave area was fantastic, open until 11 at night which we liked.
The complimenetary breakfast as also above par for continenatal breakfast....fresh fruit,pastries, bagels, toast ,juices.
In future I would only stay at The Fox if I want to be near to downtown Banff.( a 3minute walk away )

  • Liked — Loft bedroom
  • Disliked — Small bathroom
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.