We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic stay at Loft Suite” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Romantic stay at Loft Suite”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2011

Selected the stay to break the long drive from Jasper to Calgary. Stayed at the Loft Suite which is rather unique but not one for those that loath stairs or have mobility problems as you need to climb a flight of stairs to get to your bed or the bathroom. If that is not a concern, it's ideal as a romantic stay with it's fireplace and the cabin feel. Loved the front desk service as they are a treasure trove of information about Banff.

it's quite a walk away from Main Street but you can find food everywhere and on site restaurant Chillis is an excellent choice.

Parking is free but if you come back late at night, you might not find an available lot.

Room Tip: Almost all rooms come with a balcony and the best view is the one facing the front of the property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    825
    533
    148
    74
    28
See reviews for
462
763
30
49
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (298)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Red Deer, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

We stayed for two nights at the Fox for our anniversary, was upgraded to a loft suite for an additional $65 per night and recieved an complimentary bottle of wine. The room was very nice and a large size, the fridge and microwave came in handy. The hot tub area is amazing and we spent quite a bit of time there. The continental breakfast was adequate. Dinner in Chillis restaurant was superb.

Room Tip: Take the upgrade if offered, the standard rooms are VERY small
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your anniversary with us!
I agree, the hot pool is amazing. The ultimate soak after a long day exploring Banff. I hope to welcome you back again soon! Perhaps your next anniversary? Hopefully sooner!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paignton
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

This is a really good hotel centrally located offering good standard of accommodation. Bedrooms are quite small. Good bathroom. The spa is excellent. Free parking! Good value for money

Room Tip: Bedrooms on ground floor bit noisy
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, November 9, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments. If you find our hotel rooms on the small side, I would suggest upgrading to a suite to enjoy ample space.

I am happy to hear you felt the Fox was 'good value for the money'. We don't like to pay for the 'extra' things when we travel either! That's why you don't pay a penny extra for things like heated underground parking, Wi-Fi, bus passes and our continenal breakfast. Even our long distance telephone charge is a reasonable ten cents a minute! You've got better things to spend your money on when coming to Banff, and we make it easy for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2011

I spent one night at the Fox Hotel & Suites this summer when visiting Banff and I was not disappointed.

The Room: Comfortable, cozy, and warm. The room had everything I needed as a solo travel, nice comfortable bed, ironing board etc. My only complaint is that the rooms seem to be a little too close together, but I still had a great stay.

Parking: I liked the free onsite parking heated garage, nice touch.

Location: Situated in beautiful downtown Banff. I could walk to restaurants, shops, the location was great!

Service: The staff were friendly, helpful, and very accommodating. While in Banff my travel plans change and I had to shorten my stay at the hotel by one night and the desk clerk accommodated my request without any problems.

I enjoyed my stay and I would definitely stay at the Fox Hotel & Suites again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Newfoundland
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
85 helpful votes 85 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

Our son treated us for our retirement and we were upgraded to a $700 room! Wow! We had a sitting room with table and chairs, chesterfield, microwave, coffee maker(extra coffee too), and high end bed/tons of pillows, two flat screen tvs...and on and on. The cave simulated hot tub was awesome and we frequented it twice during our visit. The sauna was great as well. We had it all to ourselves-the four of us! There is an opening at the top for snow or rain to drop in, but nice touch. Lots of towels in the adjoining washrooms, convenient shower beside the hot tub to wash off before and after the visit. The breakfast in the morning was awesome. You could even make your own waffles! The only thing I didn't like was the late check in time at 3 p.m. and check out at 11 a.m. I'm used to checking in at noon or earlier and then you have a full day in a place. But other than that the desk clerks were very friendly and there were no revellers keeping us awake! Nice to be able to walk downtown from the hotel as well, if you wanted to have a few drinks!

Room Tip: Ask the clerk when you make reservations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2011

My husband and I stayed here to celebrate our 1 year anniversary and it has also been over 10 years since either of us had visited Banff. The staff was friendly, rooms were clean and comfy, the hot pool was nice and relaxing. Nicely located within walking distance to downtown. Will surely stay here again!!!

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Top Contributor
159 reviews 159 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 79 cities Reviews in 79 cities
100 helpful votes 100 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2011

We had just a great room – top floor, balcony with a mountain view, nice small kitchen area with sitting area and a nice sized loft bedroom. Breakfast was standard but what we expected. Location was perfect as we could walk downtown or grab a shuttle bus. Furniture and décor were absolutely appropriate for the area. The only negative comment I have is that we left early in the morning and returned to our room mid/late afternoon and our room had not been serviced and they were still cleaning rooms at 5 pm.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beautifulbanff, General Manager at Fox Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 25, 2011
Thank you for your review. I am happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. In response to our Housekeeping Team not cleaning your room unitl mid/late afternoon: We aim to have all rooms serviced quickly and efficiently, but if we have guests that request late check outs, or if we have stay over guests that wish to sleep in, and have their do-not-disturb signs on their doors, it is difficult for us to finish on time. There are occassions where we get a bit behind, and end up finishing a bit late, but this is not our standard, and we certainly aim to be finished as early as possible.

I would like to suggest letting our Front Desk know if you require an early service on your room. We will do our best to accomodate your requests.

We hope to see you back at the Fox Hotel & Suits soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
#6 Family Hotel in Banff
#6 Business Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.