We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love the Setup” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fox Hotel & Suites

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Fox Hotel & Suites to your Saves list
Fox Hotel & Suites
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 31 Hotels in Banff
Mb
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Love the Setup”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2007

Perfect location; on the main street but far enough away from the congestion; close enough to walk everywhere. Comfy beds. The basic room was a little tight for a family of 4( 2 teens)-no room for a cot.
The suite was much better-spent 6 days so needed the space.
Continental brkft buffet was the best! Variety of food++ No pool but the hot tub area was nice to soak the sore muscles after hiking. Staff
friendly and helpful. Would definitely stay there again!

Stayed August 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    787
    492
    138
    70
    25
See reviews for
440
723
27
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (271)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
atlanta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2007

Wow. That pretty much sums up our experience at the Fox Hotel & Suites. We arrived on Saturday, November 10th, and fell instantly in love with the "lodge" feel that the lobby displayed. The check-in process was very smooth and the staff we met was very helpful and polite.

We actually had a very special check-in experience when the front desk manager, Peter, approached us to wish my husband and I a happy 1-year wedding anniversary. I was a little confused, as I wasn't sure how he would know this information, but quickly learned that some family members had called him to request that food be brought to our room. Peter was so kind in sharing the "sequence of events" that had taken place over the past couple of days with our families calling and even threw in a bottle of champagne AND upgraded our room from a 1br suite with 2 double beds to a 1br suite with a king bed.

Our suite was fantastic...room 313...located on the back side of the hotel. The rooms are decorated so cozy and immediately we felt right at home (which was great since we were staying there for 5 nights).

Our only "complaint" about our room was that the bathroom light above the bathtub was very bright...we joked that we felt like we were on the witness stand when standing in the shower. Other than that, the room was perfect. The bed was extremely comfortable...had a feather bed and a down comforter. There were flat screen TV's in both the bedroom and living room.

There is a Chili's in the lobby of the hotel, which was very convenient. We had breakfast included in our package, so every morning we would go down to the Chili's where they had a breakfast buffet set up. Food included bagels, bread to make toast with, pastries, muffins, 3 types of cereal, an abundance of fresh fruit and juice. We really enjoyed fueling up every morning before heading out for a day full of adventures.

We ordered in food 2 nights from Chili's (chili and soup) and both experiences were good. They will even send the food up to your room if you prefer.

The hot pool downstairs is incredible. The pictures on their website do not do it justice...I believe the temperature is approximately 104 Fahrenheit and was so nice to hang out in after a long day. There were not many people in there the times we went, but my impression is that if the hotel is fully booked, it can get crowded. It's definitely something to check out while you are there. There is a locker room so that you can change down by the hot pool, store your clothes, and then change again before heading back to your room. Towels are provided or you can bring one from your room.

There is also a small workout room that includes a treadmill, eliptical machine, a stationary bike and free weights. It looked very clean.

One of our favorite aspects of the hotel is the underground heated parking! Instead of having to bundle up to head out in 20 degree (F) weather and get into a cold car, we could just walk into the warm garage and drive out. It was a huge plus in our book!

Again the staff was always very helpful. I had some questions about the Icefield's Parkway one morning and the hotel staff member was very kind and informative. He even provided me with a map of places to check out.

If you are debating between The Fox and another hotel, you will NOT go wrong with the Fox. It's brand new, clean, great staff, perfect location (10 min walk from downtown Banff), and just downright cozy.

  • Liked — How cozy the room felt to us; great customer service
  • Disliked — Bright light above bathtub
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2007

Stayed, for two nights, in a two-bedroom courtyard suite at the Fox Hotel in Banff with my wife and 12 year old daughter. It is a very good hotel and we were blown away by the welcome, the quality of the facilities and the general 'feel' of the place. It's about 10 minutes from the centre of Banff (on foot) and is a perfect place to relax after a day out in the mountains. We have no hesitation in recommending it to others.

  • Liked — The rooms
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

From the hot pool to the beautiful rooms this place is a catch. I enjoyed the service straight from the start! Beautiful hot pool like nothing you have seen before! Everything you could ask for in a hotel! Food was not so great at the chillis attached but there is alot of retaurants in banff to chose from! I would highly reccomend this hotel to everyone from family's to friend's on a weekend getaway. A+

  • Liked — Hot Pool
  • Disliked — The food at Chillis
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobseymaple
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2007

My friends and I had a weekend at The Fox, the hot pool was amazing, the rooms are well decorated, clean and pleasing to the eye. The Staff are very friendly and the service was incredible. I would definatly recommend this hotel to anyone looking for a weekend getaway in the banff area.

  • Liked — The design of the hotel, the hotpool
  • Stayed November 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tacoma, WA
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2007

The Fox Hotel is beautiful!! The staff is helpful and friendly, and the rooms are suites and large & comfortable. We actually enjoyed spending time in the room and relaxing by the fireplace in the lobby. The hot pools are fantastic and we liked it better than the Sulfur Hot Springs in Banff! The breakfast buffet was good. Overall, we had a great experience and are planning a return trip!

Stayed October 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Ridge, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2007

We were warmly welcomed for our one night stay at the Fox Hotel and when checking in, they took note of some comments we had requested when we reserved online - such as quiet location, away from elevator and noise etc. We were offered an upgrade to a loft suite - which we took. It was worth it!!!!
Our room smelled a little of fumes from something - which was probably due to the newness of the suite - could have been glue or the first time the heaters have actually been used likely.
The view was great, and we loved the jacuzzi grotto - definitely a real treat and so unique.

Continental breakfast was fine, nothing special there though.

Overall, it was very enjoyable!

  • Stayed November 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fox Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fox Hotel & Suites

Address: 461 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1H8, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Banff
#5 Family Hotel in Banff
#5 Romantic Hotel in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Fox Hotel & Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 116
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Banff's newest Hotel! Waterfalls and mountain springs are brought to life in the Fox's design. Capturing the historic and natural elements of Banff National Park, the hotel's centerpiece is the hot pool inspired by the original Cave and Basin Site. The new Fox offers a unique accommodation style in Banff, with one and two bedroom suites and hotel rooms. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fox Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fox Hotel And Suites
Fox Hotel Suites Banff
Fox Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fox Hotel & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.