We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It really is that good” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“It really is that good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2010

We stayed at the Buffaloberry at the end of a 3 week holiday in the Rockies and Vancouver Island. Having found this great B+B on trip advisor, I can confirm that it is a wonderful place to be a guest. James and Theresa are great hosts. I needed to find a store for ice hockey equipment and James rang his friends and located exactly what I needed. We also stayed at the Fairmont Chateau in Whistler and at the Fairmont Chateau on Lake Louise, and at the Wickanninish Inn, in Tofino. These were all highlights of our trip, and the Buffaloberry is right up there with them.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

126 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    120
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
101
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Columbus, Ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2010

We stayed at the Buffaloberry for 3 nights in July as part of a 20th anniversary trip. James and Theresa were very cordial and had great suggestions for places to visit, hike and eat. The food was excellent with a lot of variety and wonderful snacks in the afternoon. Our room was clean, tastefully decorated and had all needed amenities. Enjoy at quiet street that is only a few minutes walk away from the main town hubbub.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, PA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2010

My wife and I spent 7 nights at Buffaloberry in early July. While we were blessed with great weather during our entire trip, the highlight of our time was our stay with James and Theresa. Their hospitality was outstanding and their helpfulness always on target. They even made sure that we didn't have the same breakfast twice! If you are looking for the best B & B in Banff, look no further.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyler , TX
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2010

Theresa and James are incredible hosts.
The B&B is immaculate, the breakfasts are wonderful and they really make an effort to ensure everything is great for your stay. We got daily suggestions on hikes and activities and they were spot on for everything. Most evenings we discussed our day and got ideas for the next day.

I can't say enough good things about the wonderful couple who run this B&B! They really became like old friends in such a short time. We felt so wonderfully at home and really enjoyed being there. This is the only place we would consider coming back if staying in Banff.

Thanks for everything James and Theresa!

Shawn and Nicole

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2010

I planned to write a long report on how great the Buffaloberry B&B was. Then I saw some of the recent reports that talked about how perfect this place is. I suggest you read them. You will not be disappointed in this B&B--the accomodations are truly wonderful. There is nothing but outstanding service, food, and travel advice--and a wonderful facility that is meticulously maintained. Thank you again, Theresa and James, for a wonderful 5 days. Bill and Nancy

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2010

Our stay was two days, July 7 & 8. Theresa and James are stellar hosts. Their exquisitely designed B & B is without reservation the best we have stayed in(Europe, USA, Canada). Breakfast was a daily treat we eagerly looked forward to. We hope to return for a longer stay next year. If your travels include Banff, strongly consider the Buffaloberry. It will be a highlight of your stay in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynnewood, Pennsylvania
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2010

The Buffaloberry Inn is without a doubt the finest bed and breakfast experience possible. The innkeepers, Theresa and James, are lovely people who are extremely gracious and accommodating. They are also extraordinarily knowledgeable about the entire Canadian Rockies park experience, and are a tremendous resource for the traveler. The inn is also their home, and it is modern, spacious, beautifully decorated, and extraordinarily clean and sparkling. It is not possible to maintain a "travelers" property any better than they do. The rooms are beautifully decorated, with fine appointments, comfortable beds, and luxurious linens. The bathroom soaps and shampoos are gourmet. They provide terry robes and comfy slippers to enhance your stay. The breakfasts were extraordinary - Theresa and James are gourmet chefs and each day we had a different breakfast that was so good that it's difficult to put into words. Every breakfast was different, and required a tremendous amount of preparation on their part. We rarely had to have lunch, and we would often take some home made, freshly baked muffins for a snack in the afternoon. There was a wet bar with plates and utensils adjacent to the great room, if one was inclined to have a snack later in the day. The wet bar was also well stocked with spirits and liqueurs for a nightcap, and there was plenty of cold soda and bottled water for hikes (all gratis). The outside of the inn was as beautiful as the inside, and we parked in their 4 car indoor garage. The inn is a pleasant 5 minute walk from town on a residential street, and it was very quiet in the evening (away from the bustle of Banff Avenue). Banff National Park is one of the most beautiful places anywhere, but when we reminisce about our trip, we will remember the wonderful experience at the Buffaloberry Inn as much as the mountain and lake scenery. This is a quite an accomplishment on the part of Theresa and James. I wish that all my travel accommodations could be so special.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Tingo, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.