We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Welcome Home” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Essex
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Welcome Home”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Buffaloberry at the end of September. This was the second time we have stayed here (2010 was our first visit) and it was just great to come back. It was really nice to have this to look forward to at the end of a 3 week tour of the rockies. We even requested our favourite breakfast from our first stay; the delicious blueberry pancakes.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Colorado
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

My husband and I stayed there for our belated 25th Anniversary trip in mid September for 5 nights. Throughly enjoyed ourselves with the scrumptious breakfasts and the yummy afternoon snacks! We throughly enjoyed the fact that we could get to know the other visitors staying at the B&B, not like staying at a hotel and never meeting anyone. It was nice to be able to come back from the day's adventure and hear what other people did.

There is a reason why Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast is considered #1 B&B in Banff, Alberta, Canada. The Inkeepers, James and Theresa are simply the best when it comes to hospitality, friendliness, accomodations and knowledge of the area. If you had questions about any hikes, attractions, restuarants, or just to see wildlife they had maps and info of where to to go.

The Buffaloberry is located in a good location of downtown Banff, so you can walk to restuarants and shopping. The B&B is spotless and everything was in good working order in our room.

This will be a keeper to tell our friends and family to go to if they get up that way. If we ever make it up that way again Buffaloberry will be the place that we will stay in.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

James and Theresa are fabulous hosts, nothing is too much trouble. Breakfasts are superb and accommodation luxurious. Loads of advice on where to eat or spend your day including good hikes. If you want to know what to do if you encounter a bear just ask James!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Normal, Illinois
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Buffaloberry three nights in early September for our honeymoon and wished we would have booked a longer stay! It was such a better experience than the Fairmont Chateau at Lake Louise and the Post Hotel at Lake Louise where we had stayed during the first half of our trip to the Canadian Rockies. The hospitality and accommodations were top notch and the owners were as friendly as could be and they offered many informative suggestions (hiking, animal spotting, restaurants) and friendly conversations. The breakfasts were excellent and very filling. We also enjoyed siting out on the back porch in the evenings enjoying a bottle of wine and friendly conversation with other guests. The B&B is very close to downtown Banff, definitely within close walking distance. The house is also spotless and well kept. There is true pride in the Buffaloberry and we will definitely be recommending it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

We enjoyed our three night stay here - an absolute luxurious place to stay with all the amenities we could have asked for. Two excellent hosts, full of local knowledge along with fabulous breakfasts and snacks made it a very happy stay for both of us.
A real bonus is the off street parking and the rear deck for sitting out on when it's warm.
Wonderful and we can highly recommend the place.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It's been over 2 years since we visited this wonderful place and it is without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed. Every hotel is compared against this and we hope that one day we will be able to return. Theresa and James were so welcoming and helpful and gave us great ideas for some hikes. The breakfast was out of this world and it really is an experience to stay here - wow! Sorry it's taken so long for me to write this review but thank you for a great stay and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Buffaloberry for two nights in early August and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Theresa and Jim are marvelous hosts, warm and genuine. The inn has an interesting contemporary design and is tastefully appointed. Breakfasts were wonderful: yogurt and granola, fluffy whole wheat pancakes, fresh fruit salad, and a bottomless cup of good coffee. The B&B is on a quiet residential street only a few locks from downtown. This is a great place to stay if you pass through Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.