We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never forget this place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
“Never forget this place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

It's been over 2 years since we visited this wonderful place and it is without a doubt the best place we have ever stayed. Every hotel is compared against this and we hope that one day we will be able to return. Theresa and James were so welcoming and helpful and gave us great ideas for some hikes. The breakfast was out of this world and it really is an experience to stay here - wow! Sorry it's taken so long for me to write this review but thank you for a great stay and we hope to return one day.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dover, New Hampshire
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

We stayed at Buffaloberry for two nights in early August and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. Theresa and Jim are marvelous hosts, warm and genuine. The inn has an interesting contemporary design and is tastefully appointed. Breakfasts were wonderful: yogurt and granola, fluffy whole wheat pancakes, fresh fruit salad, and a bottomless cup of good coffee. The B&B is on a quiet residential street only a few locks from downtown. This is a great place to stay if you pass through Banff.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedarville, Ohio
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

From start to finish our stay at the Buffaloberry B & B was extra-ordinary. The design of the house is ingenious and beautiful. It is tastefully and functionally decorated. Parking is so convenient. It is located on a quiet street extremely close to the busy bustle of Banff centre. Touches like lavender soap, the morning newspaper, afternoon snacks, complimentary water and other assorted beverages, large towels, daily service, guides and maps, plenty of books and reading materials, make this establishment special. I do not like to refer to the Buffaloberry as a "place" since it is more of an experience. The key to that experience is the skilled and kind attention of our hosts Theresa and James. They are obviously well traveled and know what is excellence and what is not. That experience shows in the manner in which they run the Buffaloberry Inn. They have just the perfect blend of caring attention and respect for privacy. Most hosts gravitate to either "absent from duty" to smothering control. Not here... you will value each interaction you have with James and Theresa yet never feel imposed upon.
And then there is breakfast!!! Absolutely the best ingredients (many local when possible), prepared perfectly, and presented pleasingly. Even my 15 year old loved the food..and she can be particular. I cannot believe that they are not trained chefs.
What probably impressed me most was their commitment to quality. They could have cut corners to save some money here and there but they did not. Everything was done top flight even if that meant a little more at their expense.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely beautiful house with welcoming hosts and great breakfast. We felt though that the price tag was a bit too high compared to other places we stayed at. Other than that a great place to stay while in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night at the beginning of our Canadian Rockies vacation. The B&B is just beautiful. Walking distance to town and convenient to all of the shops and restaurants. We booked the Rabbitt Street room and it was beautiful. Extremely clean, cozy and comfortable with a beautiful view and private entrance to the outdoor patio. Theresa and James are lovely people. The only thing that prevented me from giving this review 5 stars was the breakfast. Theresa and James like to make a different breakfast everyday for their guests and there was a couple who had been there for 6 nights. So, Theresa explained that they were going to have a different breakfast the next morning that included lunch meats, cheeses and homemade granola. I forget what type of breakfast she called this. Anyway, she did ask if there was anything we didn't eat for breakfast and, of course, the answer was no. However, lunch meat and cheese just didn't suit us in the end. The homemade granola with yogurt and fruit, on the other hand, was wonderful!! There was also different breads to go along with it. I just wish we would have been there on a morning that had Theresa making her fabulous blueberry pancakes that another reviewer raved about! :)

On another note, as my husband and I were eating breakfast that morning, I realized I had forgotten our hiking book. James didn't hesitate to loan us one of his for the week. It was a very nice gesture and greatly appreciated! So, all in all, we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever find ourselves in that part of the world! I highly recommend this B&B. You will not be disappointed with the way you are treated, the location and the lovely hosts. Thank you, James and Theresa!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The only problem with staying at this B&B is that you WON'T want to leave. This is a real luxury 5 star accommodation. Our hosts, Theresa & James were so friendly and made delicious breakfasts with all pure and natural ingredients. They go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay, including an array of complimentary drinks served in a beautiful lounge environment. Our room was beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, luxurious sheets. We felt as though we were leaving good friends and would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here during our Rocky Mountain trip. From the minute we walked though the door we felt welcome in this beautiful home. James and Theresa have designed this house with very fine attention to detail and it is a wonderful place to stay. They had lots of time to chat to us and shared experiences with us. Even their recent grizzly bear experience! James and Theresa share a love of cooking and we enjoyed some delicious breakfasts, all made from locally produced ingredients. Theresa's fluffy blueberry pancakes were unforgettable. WOW! We were sorry to have to leave Buffaloberry, it certainly contributed very highly to a wonderful stay in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.