We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, although a bit overpriced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
Pre-Christmas Special
Ranked #2 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Great B&B, although a bit overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

Lovely beautiful house with welcoming hosts and great breakfast. We felt though that the price tag was a bit too high compared to other places we stayed at. Other than that a great place to stay while in Banff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
103
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Sarasota, Florida
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed here one night at the beginning of our Canadian Rockies vacation. The B&B is just beautiful. Walking distance to town and convenient to all of the shops and restaurants. We booked the Rabbitt Street room and it was beautiful. Extremely clean, cozy and comfortable with a beautiful view and private entrance to the outdoor patio. Theresa and James are lovely people. The only thing that prevented me from giving this review 5 stars was the breakfast. Theresa and James like to make a different breakfast everyday for their guests and there was a couple who had been there for 6 nights. So, Theresa explained that they were going to have a different breakfast the next morning that included lunch meats, cheeses and homemade granola. I forget what type of breakfast she called this. Anyway, she did ask if there was anything we didn't eat for breakfast and, of course, the answer was no. However, lunch meat and cheese just didn't suit us in the end. The homemade granola with yogurt and fruit, on the other hand, was wonderful!! There was also different breads to go along with it. I just wish we would have been there on a morning that had Theresa making her fabulous blueberry pancakes that another reviewer raved about! :)

On another note, as my husband and I were eating breakfast that morning, I realized I had forgotten our hiking book. James didn't hesitate to loan us one of his for the week. It was a very nice gesture and greatly appreciated! So, all in all, we had a wonderful time and would not hesitate to stay here again if we ever find ourselves in that part of the world! I highly recommend this B&B. You will not be disappointed with the way you are treated, the location and the lovely hosts. Thank you, James and Theresa!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson Bay
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

The only problem with staying at this B&B is that you WON'T want to leave. This is a real luxury 5 star accommodation. Our hosts, Theresa & James were so friendly and made delicious breakfasts with all pure and natural ingredients. They go to great lengths to make sure you enjoy your stay, including an array of complimentary drinks served in a beautiful lounge environment. Our room was beautifully decorated, impeccably clean, luxurious sheets. We felt as though we were leaving good friends and would highly recommend this B&B.

Room Tip: All the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kilkeel, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights here during our Rocky Mountain trip. From the minute we walked though the door we felt welcome in this beautiful home. James and Theresa have designed this house with very fine attention to detail and it is a wonderful place to stay. They had lots of time to chat to us and shared experiences with us. Even their recent grizzly bear experience! James and Theresa share a love of cooking and we enjoyed some delicious breakfasts, all made from locally produced ingredients. Theresa's fluffy blueberry pancakes were unforgettable. WOW! We were sorry to have to leave Buffaloberry, it certainly contributed very highly to a wonderful stay in Banff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What we liked:

Our hosts, James and Theresa, made our stay infinitely more enjoyable than it would have been on our own. We acted on their recommendations for dining (a great steak dinner), and for driving routes (and saw great wildlife, i.e. black bear, elk, etc.). They were very warm and hospitable, and made us feel like we were staying with good friends (and not imposing).

The Inn (house) itself, is wonderful with the most modern, up-to-date amenities and features. Our room was well appointed, and the bathroom was ultra-modern. Some may have found these rooms a little tight, but we were completely happy, and the king-size bed was the most comfortable bed (other than my own) that I've slept in in a very long time.

With B&B's it's hard to find that perfect balance between making someone feel welcome and engaging in just the right amount of conversation versus doting too much or being overbearing. James and Theresa got it just right, although James, you didn't need to brush up on hockey just for us :). The breakfasts were wonderful, although don't expect to scrimp on calories while you stay (James doesn't do "just toast" :)) And, each day we came "home" to a nice baked treat. James's home-made granola bars were my favourite. It was really nice to take an hour or so after a long day of hiking to sit by the fire with a (complimentary) drink to read the paper and relax.

All in all - an excellent couple of days

What we didn’t like?

Nothing negative really to say. The only thing we may have preferred was to have been able to have breakfast a little later on Saturday and Sunday (7-8:30 is a touch restrictive). But, James and Theresa made it up to us by accommodating us for our early departure Monday morning, insisting on serving us breakfast at 6:30, even though we didn't feel it was necessary.

All in all a wonderful couple of days, and very highly recommended for those who enjoy the B&B experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We were absolutely delighted with this bed and breakfast. The owners are knowlegeable and personable, the Olds Room was extremely comfortable.
Will happily recommend to friends! Excellent place!
Theresa and James know the area, hiking trails, etc and were extremely helpful. We enjoyed the warm personal touches a larger hotel can never match.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We think Buffaloberry is the best B & B we've have stayed at because it rates an A+ in every category: cleanliness, comfort, convenience, food, hospitality. Every inch is spotless. The pillowtop mattresses with silky high thread-count cotton sheets (800+) are heavenly. The radiant heat throughout meant floors were toasty warm and there were no drafts blowing on me at night. (We were there in March.) They provided options for bed coverings, so if the thick duvet is too warm, which it was for us, they had lighter coverings available. The real wood fire in the fireplace meant that the Great Room was always comfortably warm. We could see the snowcapped mountains from our front window. It was very quiet, both inside and out.
The location in a residential area, although only one block from the main street, Banff Avenue, was very peaceful and pleasant. It was only about a 7-minute walk to the downtown area. We were an easy 5-minute walk to the ski bus and the local bus stop. We chose not to rent a car and we were able to go anywhere we needed or wanted to over the course of a week by using the buses or walking.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfasts are delectable. We had something different each of our six mornings, varying from the lightest pancakes ever to featherweight egg and cheese souffles with caramelized onions. If there is something you don't care for, even if you're not actually allergic to it (such as certain cheeses or blueberries), let them know. Otherwise it may appear in a breakfast dish that you would otherwise love. The breakfasts were very satisfying and kept us going all morning, sometimes well into the afternoon, even though we were skiing. James and Theresa will even prepare a bagged To Go breakfast if you have to leave before breakfast time.
James and Theresa are the best host and hostess. They have lived in the area for several decades and are very active, so they know all the details about the area and its activities. If you need some information they don't have, they go straight to the computer and/or telephone and find out for you. They are very interesting to converse with. They don't just put food in front of you and disappear for the rest of the day. They are interested in hearing about your experiences, how your day went, etc. It's just like staying with friends or agreeable family members!

If we ever get back to Banff during the summer or fall seasons, we would try to work our visit around availability at this wonderful bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Only one room has a king bed. We would have liked it but it was not available. The queen was neverth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Venere, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.