We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful B&B and Excellent Hosts” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful B&B and Excellent Hosts”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

What we liked:

Our hosts, James and Theresa, made our stay infinitely more enjoyable than it would have been on our own. We acted on their recommendations for dining (a great steak dinner), and for driving routes (and saw great wildlife, i.e. black bear, elk, etc.). They were very warm and hospitable, and made us feel like we were staying with good friends (and not imposing).

The Inn (house) itself, is wonderful with the most modern, up-to-date amenities and features. Our room was well appointed, and the bathroom was ultra-modern. Some may have found these rooms a little tight, but we were completely happy, and the king-size bed was the most comfortable bed (other than my own) that I've slept in in a very long time.

With B&B's it's hard to find that perfect balance between making someone feel welcome and engaging in just the right amount of conversation versus doting too much or being overbearing. James and Theresa got it just right, although James, you didn't need to brush up on hockey just for us :). The breakfasts were wonderful, although don't expect to scrimp on calories while you stay (James doesn't do "just toast" :)) And, each day we came "home" to a nice baked treat. James's home-made granola bars were my favourite. It was really nice to take an hour or so after a long day of hiking to sit by the fire with a (complimentary) drink to read the paper and relax.

All in all - an excellent couple of days

What we didn’t like?

Nothing negative really to say. The only thing we may have preferred was to have been able to have breakfast a little later on Saturday and Sunday (7-8:30 is a touch restrictive). But, James and Theresa made it up to us by accommodating us for our early departure Monday morning, insisting on serving us breakfast at 6:30, even though we didn't feel it was necessary.

All in all a wonderful couple of days, and very highly recommended for those who enjoy the B&B experience.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    111
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
95
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013 via mobile

We were absolutely delighted with this bed and breakfast. The owners are knowlegeable and personable, the Olds Room was extremely comfortable.
Will happily recommend to friends! Excellent place!
Theresa and James know the area, hiking trails, etc and were extremely helpful. We enjoyed the warm personal touches a larger hotel can never match.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maine
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

We think Buffaloberry is the best B & B we've have stayed at because it rates an A+ in every category: cleanliness, comfort, convenience, food, hospitality. Every inch is spotless. The pillowtop mattresses with silky high thread-count cotton sheets (800+) are heavenly. The radiant heat throughout meant floors were toasty warm and there were no drafts blowing on me at night. (We were there in March.) They provided options for bed coverings, so if the thick duvet is too warm, which it was for us, they had lighter coverings available. The real wood fire in the fireplace meant that the Great Room was always comfortably warm. We could see the snowcapped mountains from our front window. It was very quiet, both inside and out.
The location in a residential area, although only one block from the main street, Banff Avenue, was very peaceful and pleasant. It was only about a 7-minute walk to the downtown area. We were an easy 5-minute walk to the ski bus and the local bus stop. We chose not to rent a car and we were able to go anywhere we needed or wanted to over the course of a week by using the buses or walking.
As other reviewers have mentioned, the breakfasts are delectable. We had something different each of our six mornings, varying from the lightest pancakes ever to featherweight egg and cheese souffles with caramelized onions. If there is something you don't care for, even if you're not actually allergic to it (such as certain cheeses or blueberries), let them know. Otherwise it may appear in a breakfast dish that you would otherwise love. The breakfasts were very satisfying and kept us going all morning, sometimes well into the afternoon, even though we were skiing. James and Theresa will even prepare a bagged To Go breakfast if you have to leave before breakfast time.
James and Theresa are the best host and hostess. They have lived in the area for several decades and are very active, so they know all the details about the area and its activities. If you need some information they don't have, they go straight to the computer and/or telephone and find out for you. They are very interesting to converse with. They don't just put food in front of you and disappear for the rest of the day. They are interested in hearing about your experiences, how your day went, etc. It's just like staying with friends or agreeable family members!

If we ever get back to Banff during the summer or fall seasons, we would try to work our visit around availability at this wonderful bed and breakfast.

Room Tip: Only one room has a king bed. We would have liked it but it was not available. The queen was neverth...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, CA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012

My husband I traveled to Banff for our honeymoon in June and spent 5 nights at the Buffaloberry B&B. I could write for ages about how wonderful James and Theresa are, but please, just take my word for it and stay here if you go to Banff. The home is meticulously maintained, the beds an heaven, and breakfast is out of this world (croissant french toast... need I say more?) James and Theresa welcomed us warmly and always sent us out with good suggestions for hikes, restaurants, and rainy/snowy day activities (yes, it snowed in June). They always had a warm fire ready in the afternoons/evenings for us to sit by at relax. Perhaps the kindest thing they did was on our last day-- my husband and I had been hoping for a bear sighting. James and Theresa see them often, and on this last day, after seeing "Bear 65 and her cubs" in a nearby field, rushed home to let us know of their location so we could catch a glimpse of the grizzlies in the wild. Unfortunately, we didn't see a bear until we checked out of the Buffaloberry, but saw 13 over the rest of our trip in Lake Louise and Jasper (and saw Bear 65 on our way out of Banff). All and all, Buffaloberry is a wonderful, wonderful place. We hope to go back many, many times. It's a small inn (4 rooms)-- so book early!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marin County, California
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed at the Buffaloberry in mid September. The B&B itself is very clean and inviting and everything seems brand new. Our room was very nicely decorated and the whole place is immaculate. The location was ideal for us - close enough to "downtown" for easy walks into town while still in a quiet neighborhood. It was great being able to get around without using the car. The hosts, Theresa and James, were fantastic! A real treasure trove of knowledge about all things local, which helped us greatly being first time visitors to Banff, and very warm and caring. They were always interested in what we had been up to and had many great suggestions. The breakfasts were every bit as good as you will read about in these reviews. Theresa asked about our dietary needs and made special accommodation for us. I can't recommend the Buffaloberry highly enough.

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you find a better small bed and breakfast let us know. Our room, indeed the entire house, is comfortably and attractively furnished, impeccably cleaned and quiet. All the expected amenities are provided and a few surprises. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. The hosts, Theresa and James, are a delight to meet and well-equipped to facilitate the guests enjoyment of their stay in the Banff area. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Near Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Buffaloberry is the BEST B&B we have stayed at. Both Theresa and James are very welcoming and friendly. The property is kept in immaculate condition. The room, bathroom and the living/dining area are PERFECTLY clean. The breakfast was varied and delicious. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this B&B. You will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Tingo, Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.