We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We would go back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Atlanta, Georgia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“We would go back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you find a better small bed and breakfast let us know. Our room, indeed the entire house, is comfortably and attractively furnished, impeccably cleaned and quiet. All the expected amenities are provided and a few surprises. Breakfasts were varied and delicious. The hosts, Theresa and James, are a delight to meet and well-equipped to facilitate the guests enjoyment of their stay in the Banff area. We would love to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    121
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
102
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Near Princeton, NJ
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Buffaloberry is the BEST B&B we have stayed at. Both Theresa and James are very welcoming and friendly. The property is kept in immaculate condition. The room, bathroom and the living/dining area are PERFECTLY clean. The breakfast was varied and delicious. I HIGHLY recommend staying in this B&B. You will not regret it!!!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

There are a few things that we look for in a good B&B: location, comfort, accommodation, hospitality, friendliness, and, of course, the breakfast. The Buffaloberry B&B excels on all accounts.

We stayed there four nights at the start of our Canadian Rockies vacation. We're not too excited about tourist spots, but that's what you have with Banff. However, saying that, there is lots of nature to enjoy in and around Banff, and we thrived there. Plenty of hiking, scenery to enjoy, and pictures to take. All we needed in the middle of this town was an inviting place to stay.

Driving up to the Buffaloberry we could tell we were on a residential street set back off the main shopping corridor in Banff. The Buffaloberry is set apart from all other properties in the area by a very welcoming landscape of flowers and trees, providing warmth and color to the rest of the neighborhood. We felt that this location was safe, and had no problems ever finding space to park the car on the street out front (although the Buffaloberry also provides free garage parking as well). The Buffaloberry is within easy walking distance to downtown shopping and a local Safeway market.

The warmth of the landscape outside was matched by the reception we experienced as we knocked on the front door and was greeted by Theresa. She welcomed us in, explained how the B&B functioned, and showed us to our room. She also wanted to know what time we would want breakfast, as she would prepare ours according to our desired schedule.

The Buffaloberry house was constructed less than 10 years ago, and was constructed specifically as a B&B. So everything worked well. Each room has its own bathroom specifically designed for it (rather than being a retrofit to an older house). There is a guest living room with a fire place that also doubles as a dining area for breakfast. There is a guest alcohol bar for a complimentary nightcap, and a common small frig for guests to use.

The room featured a queen bed, TV, plenty of electrical outlets, and wireless Internet. The bathroom held a toilet, sink and shower, but no bathtub. (The bathtub would have been nice after long days of hiking.) We found the bed very comfortable, although we would have preferred a king.

Each afternoon there was a homemade snack of some sort (breads or cookies).

One of the highlights of the Buffaloberry was the gourmet breakfast in the mornings. Standard starters included fresh fruit, homemade granola, and yogurt. Then came a masterpiece from Theresa's kitchen. One morning, for example, we had some sort of egg/spinach souffle cooked in a Canadian bacon cup. Every breakfast was unique, every one was delicious, and every one was home prepared by James and Theresa. And, of course, every one was enjoyed in communion with other guests and James and Theresa, sharing ideas on what to do, hearing stories about what folks experienced, and just enjoying each other.

As to hospitality, Theresa and James are both veterans of the hospitality industry and know what excellence in hospitality means. They were warm, friendly, knowledgeable, interesting, and accommodating. Both provided good clues on what to experience in and around town, where to eat, and how we might best be able to spot some of the wildlife (which we did). By the time we left, we felt like we were leaving friends behind.

Overall, we found the Buffaloberry B&B to be an excellent place to stay. We would have no hesitation to repeat our stay there, and would highly recommend it to others.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

I could not have asked for a better place to stay - the room was fantastic - well appointed, and so comfortable! James & Theresa, who are lovely hosts, put out a top notch breakfast spread - doing a fantastic job of meeting my gluten-free needs. They could not have made me feel more comfortable - I would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

We stayed one night during a busy weekend at the beginning of our biking trip of the Canadian Rockies. Theresa and James were wonderful hosts. Beautiful large room with excellent bathroom. Great location. Cozy welcoming lounge. Great breakfast. Would recommend without hesitation.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Beach, Florida, USA
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Theresa & James couldn't have been nicer! We stayed 2 nights and had amazing breakfasts both mornings. Our bed was too hard for our liking and the pillows also too hard, but had we asked, I'm sure they would have produced softer pillows. With their attention to guest satisfaction, they probably would have gone out to buy pillows just for us! The TV in our room was a 12" wall-mounted that really deserves to be upgraded to a larger flat screen. We didn't spend any time in the room so it wasn't a problem. The guest living room/outdoor patio & breakfast area were all lovely. A nice touch was to set out complimentary after dinner liquours, not to mention the arrival cookies. We asked if we could use their laundry and in order to keep the machines open for their use, early morning was best. Theresa offered to put it in for us as she got up first. Expecting to dry & fold my things at breakfast, I was pleasantly surprised to find it all done & folded for us!!! Theresa went above and beyond and we were most appreciative! Would definitely give them the highest rating imaginable.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oakville,ontario
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2012

It would be easy to skip this review because it would sound like an echo of all the ones before it.
But Theresa and James work too hard for that ..and deserve another standing ovation. We stayed four nights..off season -and would go back in a flash. Theresa is so lovely, a natural host and cook: James is like the local tourist board. He's been everywhere and his advice was something no hotel employee could match. Our room was quiet, the bed was comfortable and the bathroom spotless. The breakfasts were varied and among the best the whole trip. The late afternoon baked goods were divine...and didn't spoil our dinners out. The hosts are social people:easy to be around and interesting.They definitely have perfected their ' calling' in life.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Venere, Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.