We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Upscale and perfect!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Save Saved
You added Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast
3.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Calgary, AB
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Upscale and perfect!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

We stayed at the Buffaloberry B&B in January as part of our 5-year wedding anniversary celebration. When we saw it was #1 on TripAdvisor we had to book and see for ourselves! We spent the day skiing and then checked in around 4 p.m. The owners and hosts are as wonderful in real life as all the reviews claim. We had arranged for a small charcuterie plate upon our arrival and brought our own bottle of wine for a little après ski by the fire place. The rooms are gorgeous and everything is brand new. Breakfast the next morning was gourmet and delicious! The private underground parking was very nice as well.

We did find the rate a little pricey, for low season. But then again it was REALLY nice. We'll definitely be back and recommend to others.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    117
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
5
98
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Camberley, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2011

Lovely welcome, very friendly and helpful owners. Room lovely although not over large. Only real quibble other than price is the lack of a cooked breakfast. Beautiful spread of cold meats, etc, but for the price were expecting a hot breakfast. But everything seems to be expensive in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, responded to this review, October 19, 2011
Thank you to the reviewer for their review and for outlining some details about our B&B. A note to readers about the breakfasts, this patron stayed one night, and the following morning our version of a European country buffet was served. This breakfast consists of 6 different types of cured meats (proscuitto included) as well as 6 artisan cheeses, condiments, two types of breads, along with a home baked croissant, along with the usual fresh fruit salad accompanied with homemade granola and balkan style yogurt. As other mutli-night partrons have noted in TripAdviser reviews, we try very hard not to repeat breakfasts for the same patrons. Another note to readers, this is by far our most expensive breakfast from a food cost basis!
Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2011

We can see how Buffaloberry gets No. 1 in Banff- expensive but sooo worth spending the extra! We just had 2 nights at Buffaloberry during our 3 week road trip through the Canadian Rockies. Our room was beautiful- absolutely spotless and so homely. We were just disapointed we couldn't spend more time in the room!!
Buffaloberry is in an excellent location- just 5 minute walk to Banff main street yet in a lovely quiet safe neighbourhood.
Theresa and James are excellent hosts- Theresa gave us an excellent dinner recommendation of 'Coyotes' which was great. The breakfasts were delicious, particularly Theresa's buckwheat blueberry pancakes!
We were sad to leave Buffaloberry and hope one day we will be back- we wouldn't even consider staying anywhere else in Banff!
ThanksTheresa and James for a perfect stay!

Room Tip: All rooms fantastic here I'm sure!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2011

Great location, hosts, food and accommodation! All the other reviews say it all.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adel, Iowa
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Ditto to all the other reviews! My husband and I had a wonderful time in Banff, Alberts, Canada and the owners of the Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, were one of the best parts! Theresa and James were not only very personable and helpful with answering all sorts of questions about Banff and the area, they are also great cooks! We had 5 very filling, yummy breakfasts and always a sweet treat when you would arrive back to their place at the end of the day. We stayed in the Oatmeal Room, which had a king sized bed and the room was just the perfect size for us. Teresa plays lovely classical music in the morning that you can listen to in your room if you want, or you can turn down the speaker. At night there was great jazz to listen to. It was a bit stuffy in our room as we had to keep the windows closed at night because of the local train going through a few times at night, but we asked for a fan which they provided right away and we slept liked babies after that. The location of their place was perfect as we could walk every where we wanted to go in Banff and it when we took day trips in our car. LOVED this place and would highly recommend it to anyone!!!

Room Tip: The rooms are the first floor were cooler and the room on the south side must be a lot quieter as th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chapel Hill, North Carolina
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

James and Teresa are marvelous hosts----they are not only great cooks but also know everything about Banff and all the surrounding trails and local sights. Our room was beautiful with a lovely bathroom. We also loved sitting out on the charming patio eating our treats and drinking tea.
If you are thinking of traveling to Banff--do yourself a favor and book a room at the Buffaloberry. If you are lucky, Teresa will make potato pancakes from her grandmother's recipe, which are to die for1

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2011

We very much enjoyed our 8-night stay at the Buffaloberry. The best thing about the Buffaloberry is the great service and hospitality by the hosts, James and Theresa. They are eager to share their deep local knowledge and have lots of good advice. We appreciated their tips and reviews of the many hiking trails and area sights. They gave us maps and even lent us their hiking poles and bear spray! We didn't do a whole lot of advance planning before our trip because we knew the hosts would be able to give us the best advice, having read other Tripadvisor reviews. In fact, the very strong reviews of the Buffaloberry even helped with the decision to make Banff our summer vacation destination this year. We wanted to experience this B&B that others were raving so much about! We were not disappointed. The property itself has all of the modern amenities of a newly-built home and it is very well taken care of and kept spotlessly clean. The hosts were builders before they were B&B owners so they designed and built the Buffaloberry and are truly responsible for every detail of the total experience. After a long day's hike, we looked forward to the welcoming comfort of the Buffaloberry and the daily treats left out for us--sometimes chocolate chip cookies, sometimes chocolate-covered strawberries. They even had a bar so you could make yourself a nightcap. There was also a refrigerator stocked with water and soft drinks. We enjoyed a different breakfast every morning we were there, ending with the signature blueberry buckwheat buttermilk pancakes. Many thanks to Theresa and James for a wonderful stay, and to other reviewers for pointing us to Buffaloberry and Banff!

Room Tip: Rabbit St.: best light, biggest windows. Oatmeal and Chaff: king bed. Unadv.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast

Address: 417 Marten Street | Box 5443, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1G5, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Buffaloberry is a unique and wonderful private accommodation located in the heart of Banff National Park. Bow Valley residents with 30 years experience in the service industry, Theresa and James will provide you with comfort and style brought to you with an informative local edge. If health and relaxation is what you are seeking, look no further, "the experience is as magnificent as the scenery." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buffaloberry Hotel Banff
Buffaloberry b&b

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Buffaloberry Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.