We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice, Quiet Cabin ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Banff Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice, Quiet Cabin ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Great spot, away from the Banff Ave shops, but a short 5 minute drive away. We stayed in cabin #1 with our toddler and it was perfect! Quiet and clean with an a/c unit, TV, couch, two beds, private bathroom with shower, coffee and hot water maker. The fridges in the kitchen were great for storing food for our son and sandwich makings and coffee creamer for ourselves. Because we were traveling with a kid, we didnt spend much time in the main lobby or internet spaces. We dos enjoy a hike behind the hostel and even saw two deer.

An amazing hostel, especially since it was our first with a kid!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    68
    28
    13
    8
See reviews for
13
29
56
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Camborne, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Lovely room with toilets and showers close by. Fan provided as it was super hot. Loads to do on site including a bar and restaurant or a short(ish) walk into town or you can catch a bus from the main road.

All staff really nice and helpful. Would definitely stay again!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canadian Rockies, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Stayed in the cabins for one night on one of our mountain trips out snowboarding. Was a bit expensive, but most likely due to it being the weekend. The cabin was clean and the beds were comfy. Staff we dealt with we're nice. Can't comment on the kitchen as we didn't use it. Would stay again, maybe not the cabins (the dorms are probably cheaper).

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2014

Although a little out of town. Let this not deter you. Complimentary return bus pass available. bus is very frequent. Super friendly staff. AC is non existent in common areas but they provide fans in room but the place is clean an safe and very pretty with lovely Bistro. The town f Banff is so cute. Lots of shops, eateries and pubs. Pay a visit to the information centre they are simply fantastic. Would recommend this hostel. No problem.

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort McMurray, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

I have many memories here as I have stayed a few times at this hostel. In fact I once spent nearly two months here while I was working in Banff, many years ago, and was having trouble finding an affordable apartment.

This time I spent a couple of days there during a mini vacation of Banff and Calgary. To be honest the hostel has changed very little in the last 12 years. I stayed in a dorm and they look and smell roughly the same as before. My dorm was a four person and was as good as you could expect from a dorm. A bit warm but mostly clean and the bed was decent.

The staff have always been super nice as this hostel and this visit was the same. I love the views from the lobby looking towards the mountains and I spent a bunch of the time just staring at the scenery from the deck. I love the fact that is away from the craziness of Banff Avenue but still close enough to even walk if you are energetic.

The worst thing at this hostel is the kitchen. It really needs to be redone and soon. I don't cook much at home and never on vacation so I only used it to drink water but it did not look great.

One day I will plan far enough ahead and book a private room.

Room Tip: Book early. This is very popular on weekends for people from Calgary. The earlier you book the bet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Myself and my boyfriend stayed at the hotel for one night. Due to peak period, prices here too high for the quality the place offers. 2 persons in a 4-people mixed room, $90. I've slept in may hotels in different countries and the main purpose was saving money; which was not the case here.
Besides, facilities are quite clean, which I really appreciated upon sharing washrooms and showers. There is a bar downstairs that is pretty useful if you want to have a drink late at night as it avoids you the drive to Banff.
Rooms are ok, although ours was quite small and missing space for storage and move around in the morning while you need to choose clothes and get ready for the day.
Scenery is definitely THE extra of the Hostel, specially when you come out in the morning and mountains are the first encounter in your day.
I would recommend to stay just for one or two nights maximum, specially if you go during high season and you are willing to pay almost the same price as in a regular hotel. Also, be ready to be bothered with noise of roomies coming in by midnight when you are sleeping at a shared room,
The decoration and materials inside the hostel are quite rural, lot of wood which makes it more authentic according to the location.
To conclude, just to mention that one of the waitress at the main-floor restaurant/kitchen was quite rude to us, she did not even greet us nor she offered politely to have a seat while she brought the food menu. Her only words were "I first need to clean this up". This made us run away and look for some other place where to have breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

We were only there from late afternoon, overnight, then left in the morning, but I wasn't particularly impressed with this place - despite the bautiful scenery.The room was ok (private room, shared bathroom), neat and clean. There's a massive walk in fridge in the kitchen which was pretty neat, but the kitchen itself was utter chaos - way too small for the number of people, and poorly laid out and poorly equipped. I struggled to even make a sandwich. Don't eat at the little bar though, shocking food that was way overpriced. All in all it wasn't a bad place to spend the night, but it does have quite a few drawbacks. I'd suggest staying in a place closer to town.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Odigeo, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Banff Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.