We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too shabby” 3 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Banff Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Winnipeg, Canada
Level Contributor
348 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“Not too shabby”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

Stayed here with some buddies when we did a ski trip at sunshine. My first time ever staying in a hostel. It was a decent experience. Id rather stay at a nice hotel obviously but for the price and hanging out with people your own age, it's not too bad! check it out if you are a hostel person.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    69
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
13
30
56
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seymour, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2014

The front desk was helpful with area attractions. There were many other young people to visit with during the day. The communal kitchen had everything you need to make a meal and it was never too busy to use. The beds and bedding were comfortable and clean. The staff kept the staff clean and well supplied. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014 via mobile

Very basic, nice atmosphere, free pancakes when you book via booking.com. Very friendly staff. Place is ideal for young people or backpackers. Not very close to city centre when you don't have a car.
Nice and large self catering kitchen and a nice bar.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

I had never stayed in a hostel before and I must say I was plesently surprised!
Everything was clean, the bed was super confortable, the staff was always helpful and didn't mind answering my two hundred questions. The kitchen has everything you need. I stayed in the Mary Belle Barclay building and I liked it much more then the one where the reception is because the building is newer. Nicer rooms, lobby, kitchen.
I would recommend this anyone. I loved my stay!

Room Tip: Rooms in the Mary Belle Barclay building are newer and the lockers in each room are bigger
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2013

this place is amazing. the staff are super friendly and helpful the food was great and the rooms were clean and tidy.. the one thing i hate about hostels is the communal washrooms but HI banffs was as clean as an expensive hotel room was great. we had a room with an amazing view and the main part of town is only a short bus ride away which you get there with a bus pass they lend you for a $5 deposit was great! highly reccomend =]

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for a few nights during our trip to Canada over summer and loved it! The staff were helpful and friendly, we got free bus rides thanks to the hostel, met some great people, nice enough rooms and were kept clean. Amazing view from our room too!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei, Taiwan
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a little far from Banff downtown,
but very clean,
Nice kitchen!
Nice reception!
The activities they held were great!!
Except the wifi was better only in the lobby.
it was a nice trip in banff!!
雖然離班夫鎮上有段距離,
但是是一個乾淨的地方.
廚房很大,接待處的人也很好,
不定時會舉辦一些小活動,
效果也不錯!
只是房間的wifi收訊比較差,
只有大廳收訊比較好,
這樣也好,
大家就會聚在大廳,
有機會交流一下^^
讓我在班夫的旅遊非常舒適!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and HostelBookers so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Banff Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.