We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“很棒的青年旅館” 4 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Banff Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Taipei, Taiwan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“很棒的青年旅館”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

It's a little far from Banff downtown,
but very clean,
Nice kitchen!
Nice reception!
The activities they held were great!!
Except the wifi was better only in the lobby.
it was a nice trip in banff!!
雖然離班夫鎮上有段距離,
但是是一個乾淨的地方.
廚房很大,接待處的人也很好,
不定時會舉辦一些小活動,
效果也不錯!
只是房間的wifi收訊比較差,
只有大廳收訊比較好,
這樣也好,
大家就會聚在大廳,
有機會交流一下^^
讓我在班夫的旅遊非常舒適!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    61
    27
    12
    7
See reviews for
13
26
53
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Provides what you can expect from a hostel - a clean bed and shower. Kitchen facilities are OK - there is enough room for a few people or a group to cook at a time. While it is out of town in the Tunnel Mountain area, this area has a better view of the mountains and is quieter than downtown. Also downtown is only a 20 minute walk away, and the hostel also provides a free bus ticket. The staff are friendly and helpful. Not cheap but Banff is pretty expensive for accommodation. Social activities are organised but it is not a party hostel, so you should be able to sleep. Wi-Fi is a bit weak in some of the rooms, but I've come to expect this in most hostels, it was still usable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

they claim to have 'the best WiFi' but we have had nothing but trouble with it. the staff are mainly backpackers working for their keep so they are useless sources of information whenever we have asked for help or advice and don't seem to give a toss about customer service. I see the toilets getting cleaned every morning but not once has the cleaner renewed the hand soap which looks like its been empty for a number of months!!!! this morning it took me 45 minutes to heat up a frying pan to fry some eggs the kitchen facilities are TERRIBLE! pots and pans are about 10 inches thick and the ancient hobs take easily 30 to get to a reasonable temperature, and if you are still daring enough to to actually stay here after reading this, bring your own tin opener or you will be stabbing time open with a knife! I have stayed in a lot of hostels so I never have high expectations but this experience has just gone above and beyond ! if your an 18 year old traveller who's just here to party and doesn't care about hygeine , skyping friends and family, or cooking nutritious meals then this might be the place for you but note to HI - not all backpackers want that experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BanffHostelManager, Manager at HI-Banff Alpine Centre, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Hello, thanks for taking the time to write a review of our property.

I'm really sorry you had such a bad experience with us. We've tried to address the issues you've raised; our wifi system was experiencing (and occasionally is still experiencing) some issues with hardware, but I think we've got it sorted now; we have put $2500 in repairs to our stove/oven systems in our guest kitchens to resolve the issues you'd mentioned and the 'work-for-stay' program we run (the staff you had mentioned) has been reviewed and additional training put in place to try to ensure that guests get the same helpfulness from these workers as from the rest of our paid staff. I haven't gotten to the cookware yet, but I'll try to address that this week. Again, I'm sorry for the issues you encountered during your stay and I appreciate you bringing it to my attention - we pride ourselves in providing a great backpacking experience and will do our best to ensure all problems that are brought to our attention are addressed.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

Staff were friendly and helpful and the view was great! Location wise it is a bit out of town but we were told that before we arrived and the bus does goes by regularly so that wasn't too bad. The food (dinner) was good if a little expensive for a hostel so stop by the supermarket, luckily breakfast was included in our room rate. The rooms could have been cleaner

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

Whilst the HI Banff is good, it's clean and enjoyable with a nice bar and good meals, it is more expensive then other places in town, and it's a lot further to walk to then any other hostel.
The dorms and private rooms are both pretty good and the bathrooms are well kept.
Wi-Fi is good enough only to give off a signal, for the most part you can't connect in the rooms.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

I stayed here for 5 nights and it was excellent. I stayed in a female dorm room, which had 6 beds and plenty of space for everyone to have luggage spread out.

The bathrooms were good, they had 2 private stalls with enough space to get changed comfortably, and lots of sinks and mirror space.

The kitchen was large, plenty of stovetops and space. Well equipped with spices, cooking oil, etc. The fridge is a huge walk in industrial fridge so yes, lots of space to cook. Television in the dining room.

They also have a bar downstairs with a pool table and cheap drinks. I was doing a lot of hiking and getting up early so I didn't stay up late and party there, but there was the option to. They also have a cafe so if you don't want to cook, someone else will do it for you!

Overall I had a good stay here, the only downside was the location. It's a fair way out of town if you're walking and it's halfway up tunnel mountain so it's uphill coming in from town. There is a bus that goes into town, it was running every 30mins when I stayed but I believe this is seasonal service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

Me and my friend needed to book accommodation in Banff last minute and it seemed that HI-Banff Alpine Centre was the last place left. Boy was I glad we booked here. Compared to most of the hostels I have stayed at this place was fantastic! The service was top notch they help you book any activities you want to do in the area. The location is 5 minutes up the road from Banff and very close to a lot of the hiking and bike tracks.
On top of all that the place is kept very clean and comfortable more so then any other hostel I have stayed at in the past. They also hold social events at the bar downstairs each night. Would definitely recommend this place to people looking for cheap clean accommodation.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Venere, Priceline, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Banff Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.