We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Banff Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Seattle
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for one night, but wished we had stayed for more. We are 46 & 47 and have never stayed in a hostel in Canada. We were a little nervous about staying here given that they have a bar, but took the chance and really, really enjoyed our stay. When I booked the room online, I received a personal greeting from Rachel welcoming us and offering her assistance with any questions. We stayed in 5 hotels during our stay in Canada (including the Fairmont) and this was the first personal greeting we received. When we arrived, we found a clean and modern facility with everything you could need for your stay. We chose a family room which consisted of a bed with all linen, towels, shampoos and soaps, a mirror and two reading lamps...what more could you need. The large bathroom was just down the hall with two showers and several stalls. It was, by far, the cleanest bathroom I have ever seen and I can say the same for the kitchen. When the music started downstairs, the kids who tried to come up with alcohol were sent right back down and the staff kept them under control but allowed them to have a good time. We sat and read in the great room and appreciated the free wi-fi. Overall, it was our favorite place to stay and we look forward to returning again in the future. While we seemed to be the oldest and least cool people there, we felt comfortable and enjoyed the laid back atmosphere. Excellent customer service!

Room Tip: Chose a family room if you do not want to share. It is a little more but well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    71
    28
    13
    9
See reviews for
13
33
56
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I arrived at the HI-Banff hostel on Thursday 29 August. We were unsure of what sightseeing and activities we could do on the Friday. Since we had limited time, we asked Will who was working the reception desk if he could advise us on sights to see. We asked Will could he please write up an itinerary of things to do because there was so much to see and do in the Banff area (so that we weren't back tracking and wasting time). Having a hire car was an advantage. On the Saturday, we were then heading to Jasper. Will also advised on the sights on what to see along the way. Thank you Will for going out of your way for us. Good Luck in wherever life takes you. Your friendly and helpful assistance is greatly appreciated. Keep up the good work. Stuart & Louise Goodwin

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

We loved it here. The private room was fine but it was the staff, atmosphere and facilities that made this place for me. Fun pub in the basement, great little restaurant, bottomless coffee... Stunning location, a brisk 15 minute walk from town but we didn't mind that. The only thing I would say is that they need more staff in the restaurant - one poor guy was doing the cooking, taking the orders and doing the till all by himself! I would really recommend this hostel though.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013

I loved staying at this hostel. It has more of a hotel feel about it, except with bunk beds. The room was spacious, had gigantic lockers, comfortable beds and included a private washroom, not including a shower but the showers are very private and clean. The staff were extremely helpful at the front desk and the wi-fi works great. For a $5 deposit, they provide you with a bus pass that gets you into and around town as much as you like and then refund the $5 when you return the pass. Bus arrives every 40 minutes and takes you directly into town within 5 minutes and it's about a $8-10 cab ride as well. My only criticisms with this hostel is the restaurant, Cougar Petes, located in the main building. The food is decent, but only if they have any. Each time I went to eat here they were out of what I wanted to order (burgers, chicken, bagels, coffee) and they're incredibly understaffed! With busy morning or afternoon rushes, there was only 1 guy in the entire place, taking orders, cooking and then fixing up bills, which gets a bit annoying, especially when theres so many people. Otherwise, great hostel! I'd definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We booked in advance to stay in one of the private cabins next to the hostel. For us it was the best of both worlds. We got the facilities of the hostel including a full kitchen however we had private accommodation with en-suite.
Our cabin had everything we needed without any unnecessary frills. The beds weren't the most comfortable but they weren't the worst. The bathroom was small but fully functional. The cabin also included a little sitting area and TV. The kitchen in the hostel was full equipped and really functional.
The big negative of the Banff Alpine Centre would be the location, which is a bit of a way out of central Banff. In many respects it was nice to be out of town, but it did necessitate driving.
For the price we were paying compared to other accommodation Banff we were really happy with the cabin.

Room Tip: The private cabins book out quickly in high season
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level Contributor
58 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I had a room meant for four just for me. Four in that room would have been a nightmare. Shared bath not too bad ... if yours is full you can go to another floor. Staff is amazingly friendly, and although the place is too far from town to walk, they do provide bus tickets to ride the city bus. All in all, a place mainly for twenty-somethings, but absolutely great as a "regrouping' one night stand on a trip from arrival at Calgary airport for eventual travel to Lake Louise and Jasper.

Room Tip: Get a private room (esp if you are over 30), otherwise you will experience a "hostal" envi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

As far as HI hostels it was fairly standard and that is high compared to other hostels.
We had our own room and they were nice enough. Good cooking facilities, good location - away from the madness of town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.5 mi away
Banff Caribou Lodge & Spa
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#9 of 31 in Banff
4.5 of 5 stars 1,678 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
SameSun Backpacker Lodge
1.5 mi away
The Fairmont Banff Springs
2.4 mi away
Rimrock Resort Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HostelWorld, Booking.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Agoda and HostelBookers so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Banff Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.