We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hostel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Save Saved
You added HI-Banff Alpine Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Amazing hostel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This place is simply awesome. We paid roughly $35 per night and got a much better stay then what we had for $40 a night at another Banff hostel. The kitchens are fantastic, large, open and with all the facilities needed to prepare decent meals. The rooms are a little small, but there is a large common area with a fireplace and chairs. The beds are really comfortable and each has its own lamp and powerpoint. You get a large locker (roughly 2m high) and can fit a lot of stuff in there. The room ensuite has a basin and toilet, the showers are down the hall. There are laundry facilities and also a great restaurant which sells reasonably priced meals. The bar downstairs has nightly events (including a weekly pubcrawl) and has really good prices ($3 for a shot), it is also a sweet place to hang out in because it has pool, darts and a foosball table. As the other reviews mention, the internet is not the best in your room but I generally got a good connection in the common area however it did seem a little unreliable, but I wasn't too fussed. There is a bus stop 2 minutes from reception which takes you to town and you get a free bus pass for the duration of your stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

119 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    39
    46
    17
    10
    7
See reviews for
9
23
37
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Swindon
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

Terrible Internet, that’s the only problem with this hostel.

Indeed, in the two weeks that I was here – the internet only worked for one week, and even when it did work during peak periods one was dealing with speeds slower than dial up. Given the amount of occupants of this hostel, I personally feel like it’s a poor show not to have multiple aggregated connections.

Location wise, this hostel is located on a main bus route into downtown Banff and to the Sunshine Village Gondola. The distance is walkable, however, a bus pass is provided for free so you might as well make use of it.

It’s recommended that you elect to reside in the new block, it’s much nicer – and has a beautiful fireplace in the centre of the lobby. That said, it does have a curfew at 11pm, so it’s a little annoying, but also fantastic if you wish to sleep. It’s a double edged sword. Annoyingly the kitchen area is closed after 11pm so no late night snacking.

It’s a little bit of a party hostel, not a Miami style party Hostel but there is definitely a social atmosphere here – that’s a good thing, however, don’t be surprised if you end up having to deal with people having sex in your room. It happens.

That said, there are older - +60 and younger (>18 people) whom do also seem to use this place as a base, it’s an interesting mix.

Would I recommend it – yes, unless you need the internet on a regular basis. It feels expensive without the internet as you’ll end up at Coffee shops.

The hostel is kept very warm!!!

Room Tip: Select the new block.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been staying here for 6 weeks and there is hardly enough internet to support the amount of people staying at the hotel.

all the staff are nice and the rooms are ok but for me having to travel to town just to check my emails is a bit of a pain...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langley City, Canada
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in several of the Rocky Mountain HI hostels and like the others, this also itself proud.

A few days before our arrival we received a reminder that we were expected and when we did arrive it took very little time to receive our keys and get settled.

The reception desk was very friendly, and equally important, helpful.

We had our own room, with a bathroom just outside our door. Everything was clean and there was easy access to a place to eat, as well as a cozy place to sit and play a game or read a book. Even access to WiFi was provided.

While you think of hostels as places where young people go (and they did), we (seniors) did not feel out of place. It was comfortable every where and felt inclusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent two nights here. The majority of the people staying in the hostel are currently looking for work in the local area, so not many backpackers at the moment. Still, it has a good vibe to it and the staff are helpful with arranging onward travel or suggesting activities.

The hostel is located slightly out of town up the road to Tunnel Mountain. If you don't fancy the hike, a perk of staying is that you get a 'roam' bus pass for the local service. This stops almost outside the hostel and runs into town. The pass can be used on the two local bus routes, with the other taking you to Sulpher Mountain.

Food in the restaurant is cheerful and is priced in line with other Banff food outlets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent three nights here and enjoyed the experience. Although well above the town it is on a free bus route and is a short scenic walk down to the town. The counter staff were very friendly and helpful with lots of useful tips and advice and booked our trip on the "Rocky Mountaineer", to Vancouver. Our private room was clean with comfortable beds and we had no problems with our bedding! A small sink would have been useful but this was our first Canadian hostel and our private room at Jericho Beach, Vancouver, also had no sink. We fully intended to eat downtown for our meals but the breakfast of pancakes and coffee with the option to pay for "extras" was more than adequate, and, after sampling the evening dishes in "Cougar Petes' Cafe washed down by the excellent "Traditional Ale^ we never felt the need to eat out. We
are both volunteer wardens for the English YHA, and. the Scottish Hostel movement and this hostel is comparable with the best!.

Room Tip: Try for a private room if you can as there are only a limited number available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for a month or so when I first moved to Banff for the ski season.

Because of that it would have been a bit different than travelling there. It was ok, located out of town but got a free bus pass which did the job.
Clean, bar downstairs with mostly good activities (wouldn't kill the bar tender to smile occasionally though..), good kitchen, good pub crawl.

Staff were friendly when I was there.

Not many options for budget accom in Banff but I have no complaints. Didn't love it.. but yeah.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel
Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 20 Specialty lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, HostelBookers, HostelWorld, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage HI-Banff Alpine Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.