We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't be fooled - no internet” 2 of 5 stars
Review of HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added HI-Banff Alpine Centre to your Saves list
HI-Banff Alpine Centre
2.5 of 5 Hostel   |   801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Banff, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Don't be fooled - no internet”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I have been staying here for 6 weeks and there is hardly enough internet to support the amount of people staying at the hotel.

all the staff are nice and the rooms are ok but for me having to travel to town just to check my emails is a bit of a pain...

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pacmarn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Langley City, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2012

We stayed in several of the Rocky Mountain HI hostels and like the others, this also itself proud.

A few days before our arrival we received a reminder that we were expected and when we did arrive it took very little time to receive our keys and get settled.

The reception desk was very friendly, and equally important, helpful.

We had our own room, with a bathroom just outside our door. Everything was clean and there was easy access to a place to eat, as well as a cozy place to sit and play a game or read a book. Even access to WiFi was provided.

While you think of hostels as places where young people go (and they did), we (seniors) did not feel out of place. It was comfortable every where and felt inclusive.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank hcoesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2012

Spent two nights here. The majority of the people staying in the hostel are currently looking for work in the local area, so not many backpackers at the moment. Still, it has a good vibe to it and the staff are helpful with arranging onward travel or suggesting activities.

The hostel is located slightly out of town up the road to Tunnel Mountain. If you don't fancy the hike, a perk of staying is that you get a 'roam' bus pass for the local service. This stops almost outside the hostel and runs into town. The pass can be used on the two local bus routes, with the other taking you to Sulpher Mountain.

Food in the restaurant is cheerful and is priced in line with other Banff food outlets.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ImpulsiveHopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rossendale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

Spent three nights here and enjoyed the experience. Although well above the town it is on a free bus route and is a short scenic walk down to the town. The counter staff were very friendly and helpful with lots of useful tips and advice and booked our trip on the "Rocky Mountaineer", to Vancouver. Our private room was clean with comfortable beds and we had no problems with our bedding! A small sink would have been useful but this was our first Canadian hostel and our private room at Jericho Beach, Vancouver, also had no sink. We fully intended to eat downtown for our meals but the breakfast of pancakes and coffee with the option to pay for "extras" was more than adequate, and, after sampling the evening dishes in "Cougar Petes' Cafe washed down by the excellent "Traditional Ale^ we never felt the need to eat out. We
are both volunteer wardens for the English YHA, and. the Scottish Hostel movement and this hostel is comparable with the best!.

Room Tip: Try for a private room if you can as there are only a limited number available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank v_marcinkiewicz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

I stayed here for a month or so when I first moved to Banff for the ski season.

Because of that it would have been a bit different than travelling there. It was ok, located out of town but got a free bus pass which did the job.
Clean, bar downstairs with mostly good activities (wouldn't kill the bar tender to smile occasionally though..), good kitchen, good pub crawl.

Staff were friendly when I was there.

Not many options for budget accom in Banff but I have no complaints. Didn't love it.. but yeah.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hayley S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

My friend and I hated it. We don't keep great memories from Banff I believe in part due to the bad experience in this hostel.

We stayed in the HI Central Vancouver and got impressed with it. Well, this is the other side of the coin.

We had a private room for the two of us. They don't have proper private twins, they just give you a 4-bed for two people. 4-bed rooms had bunk beds and are cheaper than twins so them being less confortable is something to expect. So they were.

The room stank even leaving the window open the whole day. It smelled as if the homeless had been living there for months. As if the smell had got into the carpet. It started to fade after two days there.
Duvets were rags, well passed their intended serving life. We had to wrap up in sheets to avoid touching the stuff.

Air conditioning was at full blast in the corridors so transit from the shower to the bedroom was quite chilly and unpleasant.

Shared bathrooms were dirty and unkept. One washbasin and one WC were out of order when we arrived and were still at this state when we left. Tangles of hair stayed days in the showers.

The one thing that was OK was the kitchen. The reception area is pleasant enough too but once you cross the locked door to the dormitories, it feels that you have entered a hospital.

No choice for breakfast: If you booked on line you had pancakes. If you don't or you have diet restrictions, you pay extra for rather expensive options.

It was rather expensive considering the above, apart from painful. It was also very far away from downtown. True that that was plain. A bus pass was complimentary but buses don't run that often.

Stay away from that place... It's worth spending a bit more and get a decent accomodation...

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank xenale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milano
Level Contributor
266 reviews
90 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2012

This hostel is very similar to the one HI runs in Lake Louise, meaning that is more similar to a hotel in terms of rooms and quality of common areas. The location is very good, and from the main lobby you have a beautiful view on the valley. Rooms are big and clean, we had one with bathroom and had a great sleep. Kitchen is huge and offers everything needed for preparing meals. I recommend you to have a barbecue in the outside patio, we had a great time. Only thing is, 45$ per dorm bed is not cheap but.. alternatives are also expensive, and probably not as nice as this.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank miike78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Banff hotels
0.4 mi away
Rundlestone Lodge
Rundlestone Lodge
#7 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 881 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hidden Ridge Resort
0.7 mi away
Delta Banff Royal Canadian Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
Buffalo Mountain Lodge
#15 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 898 reviews
0.6 mi away
Fox Hotel & Suites
Fox Hotel & Suites
#12 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 1,795 reviews
1.3 mi away
Bow View Lodge
Bow View Lodge
#19 of 31 in Banff
4.0 of 5 stars 393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to HI-Banff Alpine Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about HI-Banff Alpine Centre

Address: 801 Hidden Ridge Way, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1B3, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:2.5 star — HI-Banff Alpine Centre 2.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for an place to stay in Banff? Seeking the Canadian Rocky Mountain experience? HI Banff Alpine Centre Hostel, has a more than just dorm beds, this Banff hostel also has many family and couples rooms available to book for your holiday in Banff. Looking to make a reservation? * Cougar Pete's on site restaurant * The Storm Cellar Pub and Gamehouse * Free guest use Wi-fi through out * Two spacious guest kitchens, * Two cozy lounges with fireplaces * Lookout deck with spectacular views of the mountains. * Internet kiosks to send a message to your friends at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your HI-Banff Alpine Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hi-Banff Alpine Centre Hotel Banff

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing