We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best value accommodation in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Big Horn Bed & Breakfast

Big Horn Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Big Horn Bed & Breakfast
329, Big Horn Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #15 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Dunham, Quebec
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Best value accommodation in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

My wife and I just spent a month of great skiing at Lake Louise and Sunshine and were very happily accommodated at the Big Horn B&B in Banff. We frequently have had extended stays in Banff for spring skiing, and to us, this is the best value available. Ann and Lawrence, our hosts, were welcoming, charming and most helpful. The accommodations were spacious for a B&B, immaculately clean, well furnished and perfectly maintained. Although the Big Horn is centrally located, within walking distance of shopping and almost all the tourist attractions in Banff, it is located away from traffic where it is quiet and the trains did not disturb us any more than any other Banff accommodation that we have used. The two available suites are located in the basement but they are only slightly below ground level and while inside you are not aware that you are below ground level. All rooms are well illuminated with large windows.

We look forward to our next stay at the Big Horn and the warm and friendly reception of Ann and Lawrence.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    15
    7
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
17
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banff
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

We stayed here for a month in January-February 2012. We wanted to be close to the centre of Banff and also find an affordable place to stay so we could ski as much as possible. Big Horn B&B was perfect. We had our own suite with separate bedroom, bathroom, lounge and kitchen. We really made this place 'home' for the month. It was better, really, as someone else was cleaning for us so often! I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast to anyone staying in Banff. The family who own the place are great and really know how to look after you. We will be back when we return to Banff.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012 via mobile

The perfect place to stay while vacationing in Banff. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The rooms are very big and have everything you need. Will be staying again !

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012 via mobile

I can thoroughy recommend the Big Horn B & B. We stayed in the Honeymoon suite which is spacious, light and well equipped. The situation is ideal, being a short walk from the town centre and an even shorter walk to a supermarket. It is perfect for self catering, having everything you need to heat a meal or make salads. Breakfast is provided with a good selection of breads, jams and fruit. The owners, who live upstairs, are friendly and helpful. We would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helensvale, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2011

We stayed 4 nights and were very comfortable. Nice big windows for a basement apartment, light and spacious. Great bed and bath. Lovely breakfast each morning. Great location, easy walk to Safeway. Highly recommend.

Room Tip: Great value, kitchenette
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Friendly service, clean & spacious, good breakfast with juice, coffee, pastries, muffins etc.
Ideal location (5 minutes walk into Banff), easy parking. Even saw an Elk walk past the house one morning!

Room Tip: We booked the 'honeymoon suite' which had a lounge, kitchen, bedroom and bathroom.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2011

Stayed here for 4 nights in June in the 'Family Room'. It was spacious, clean and very comfortable. The kitchen was also spacious with a good sized dining table.
Ann and Lawrence were excellent hosts and could not have been more helpful. Ann provided a good selection of breads, pastries, muffins, jams, cereals, juice, milk, tea and coffee etc for breakfast. We had taken a 'microwave egg poacher' with us on our travels - very handy!
Big Horne is well located being only about 200m from Banff Ave, where there is an excellent Safeway foodstore.
Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Big Horn Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Big Horn Bed & Breakfast

Address: 329, Big Horn Street, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A4, Canada
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Big Horn Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Big Horn Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list