We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Public sleigh ride Banff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Trail Riders - Day Rides

Banff Trail Riders - Day Rides
132 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T0L 0C0, Canada (Formerly Holiday on Horseback)
+1 403-762-4551
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 29 Outdoor Activities in Banff
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Discover a side of Banff you can only see on horseback. Banff Trail Riders (previously Holiday on Horseback take you to places most travellers never experience. We offer hourly rides, backcountry lodge and tent pack trips, sleigh rides and more. Get an authentic old west adventure, even if you have never been on a horse before. We'll match you with a horse, guide and trip that just right for your level of riding experience.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Public sleigh ride Banff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2013

Do not spend money on this ride. We expected to be pulled through woodlands and along the river. However the ride was a few turns around a field. What a waste of money. It should not be allowed. When talking to other visitors their views matched ours. DO NOT DO THIS RIDE!!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holidayonhorseback, Front Office Manager at Banff Trail Riders - Day Rides, responded to this review, February 11, 2013
Hello Catherine,

Thank you for your review. Please let us know which company you booked your reservation through. Our sleigh rides are advertised as journeying through the meadow and woodland; we will speak with the company that is providing incorrect descriptions so that this confusion does not happen again.

Amanda
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    52
    12
    14
    20
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“A unique ride”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I had never ridden in such a profound landscape. Climbing up the mountains, crossing rushing creeks so that I had to sit with my legs crossed in front of me, through the forest where the horse tried to scrape me off against a tree trunk. The most adventurous ride I have ever taken. Fortunately, the horse knew what he was about.

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Sleigh ride Xmas 2012”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

The sleigh ride was good as expected.The negatives are the condition of the 2porta loos was absolutely filthy as well as the blankets they provided to keep us warm. The driver of our sleigh was also smoking a cigar with the smoke going all over his passengers (not good). If the owners would remove these negatives it would have been a much better experience.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Winter wonderland”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2013

I really enjoyed wandering around the meadows and marsh boards with a friend this winter. The sleigh ride available from the stables in fun, but make sure you wrap up REALLY warm!!

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Christmas Eve romantic sleighride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Excellent slieghride. It was a very cold evening but there was a full moon and they covered you with buffalo blankets.Perfect way to spend Christmas Eve.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Trail Riders - Day Rides also viewed

 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Trail Riders - Day Rides? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Trail Riders - Day Rides, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.