We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely place to stay in central Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Avenue B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Avenue B&B
Save
You added Banff Avenue B&B to your Saves list
430 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
CAD99 (CAD)
Ranked #3 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“A lovely place to stay in central Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 10 nights with friends for our annual snowboard trip to the Canadian Rockies. Connie and Jamie could not have been more welcoming hosts keen to make our stay perfect. The rooms were decent sized, clean and comfortable they even let us use the garage to securely store our boards when not in use (not that security is an issue) and a separate store room for all our board bags.

The breakfasts were huge and tasty and even when going out for a full day snowboarding we barely needed any lunch at all. One day we needed to leave very early to get to Lake Louise by 8am so Connie laid on a buffet breakfast which was great allowing us to get the early start we needed.

It is hard to pick any fault with the B&B the location is excellent, parking is not a problem and the rooms are great, if I was being picky I don't remember hearing the train as much elsewhere in Banff but given they are not particularly close to the lines I suspect that is poor memory rather than a genuine issue.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    147
    22
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
7
134
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
106 reviews 106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
122 helpful votes 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We stayed there for a couple of nights.

The place is located right on Banff Avenue (alas the name), which in case you don't know is right in downtown Banff. So location is great.

The place is beautiful and Connie and her husband made us feel at home.

We got a great spacious basement room. View was practically null and no tv, but we were too tired to watch tv anyways.

Being vegan, Connie made sure I would have a proper breakfast each morning, which I highly appreciated.

Also, she would talk to us and genuinely asks us about our day and gave us tips on what to do and where to visit.

Do choose them for your trip to Banff, you won't regret it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

A 5 star Bed and Breakfast! We arrived to a very warm and friendly welcome, The room was imaculate and bed was so comfortable. The breakfasts are AMAZING and Connie and Jamie So friendly and helpful in everyway. If you are looking for first class homely accomodation whilst visiting Banff do not hesitate you wont find better. We have found our Banff home from home thank you so much Connie and Jamie for everything

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

I recently visited Banff and had the pleasure of staying at the Banff Avenue B&B. The hosts Connie and Jamie are lovely people and were very helpful with any information I needed while traveling within the area. The rooms were beautifully decorated, clean, warm ambience and surrounded by the beauty of the Canadian Rockies. The breakfasts are delicious, abundant and really prepared me for my long day hikes and sightseeing. Connie and Jamie are very generous and helpful people who make it their priority to make sure each guest is well taken care of in every way. There is a lovely deck in the back surrounded by a beautiful garden with a view of the mountain, where I enjoyed sitting, reading and taking my tea. For me, it was a home away from home, the perfect place to stay and experience the beauty of the Canadian Rockies. I would definitely return to this beautiful place and would highly recommend it to my family and friends. Thank you Connie and Jamie for making my stay so enjoyable!

Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saffron Walden, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

Connie and Jamie are perfect hosts...I had a very relaxing stay at their lovely home, surrounded by stunning scenery from their spotlessly clean Bed and Breakfast. Connie and Jamie are a wealth of information for this beautiful area of Banff. Keen to share some of their many walks that they hike regularly. Nothing was too much trouble, and as a solo traveller, I was made very welcome...breakfast was a good selection, and set me up for the morning...The Bed & Breakfast is very conveniently placed, and is a short walk into town, and the ROAM bus service frequently passes by,so ideal if you are planning to go further afield. My room had some lovely pictures of Connie and Jamies travels, which all added to the perfect ambience of the place. I highly recommend this special place to stay in Banff, and I cant wait to return again very soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, MA
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012 via mobile

I exclusively use trip advisor reviews when selecting my vacation
accommodations.  Usually they are right on target but I did not enjoy this
property as much as other reviewers. Pros:  I also agree that Connie and
Jamie were lovely hosts and very helpful with maps and information.  The B&B
was very clean and conveniently located.  Cons: when we arrived we wandered
around for a couple of minutes looking for someone to greet us.  It would be
nice if they left a note to let people know where to find them upon entering
the door.  I found our room to be very small.  We had the room on Banff
Avenue side.  The queen size bed takes up most of the room. There is an
alcove where there are some racks and shelving to place/hang clothing but
there isn't a good place to put your suitcase, other than placing the
luggage rack on the floor of this area, which then makes it difficult to
utilize the space.  The bathroom is also very small but adequate. Other than
this, there are a few feet to walk around the bed. I suspect the other two
rooms are larger but I am not sure.  The first day we arrived it was 80
degrees and the next day it was 40!  Our room got quite cool during the
second night and there is no ability to increase the temperature in the
room. My biggest complaint was the lack of WiFi which I specifically
inquired about before reserving the room.  They apparently had WiFi at the
time that I made the reservation but had gotten rid of it by the time of our
stay.  The reason given was that people would spend all there time at the
B&B on their laptops and not talk to anyone so they got rid of it.  I didn't
think this would be a problem initially because I could buy a data plan for
my IPhone since they have 3G in Banff.  Since we wanted to download GPS maps
of the trails we soon found out that the plan would not begin to cover the
data we were using and we could not use our phones after the first evening.
The second day I had to go down the street to the Starbucks to use my
IPhone. On checking out my husband did get the room rate reduced which
Connie agreed to.  In this day and age WiFi is a must!  



Since we don't eat meat we were made oatmeal for breakfast which we
appreciated.  The breakfasts of the other guests were large but nothing
special.    We took Jamie up on his recommendation to do the Rawson Lake
hike which is in Kananaskis.  We only had one day in the Banff area and
rather than doing the hike that day we saved it for the end of our trip when
we would be driving in that direction anyway to go to the airport.  It is a
long drive! At least an hour and a half.  He noted the hike was
'spectacular".  I completely disagree.  The Lake where the hike starts is
beautiful but it is quite strenuous for half of the hike, with very little
pay off at the end.  The hike is also incredibly crowded which also
detracted from our enjoyment.  Of course we hiked this after doing some of
the most beautiful hikes in the Canadian Rockies.  The bottom line is, I
found the accommodations to be adequate but not great.  Certainly not the
level that I was expecting from the rave reviews.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burleigh Heads, Australia
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2012

My wife and i stayed here for 2 nights after driving through the Rockies from Jasper. The B&B is in a top location, an easy walk into the heart of Banff. The host's Connie & Jamie are lovely and full of great ideas & info without being "in your face". The rooms with their own ensuites are adequate in size and super clean. There is a nice TV room if you feel the urge and a lovely deck out the back for sitting and admiring the well maintained garden and surrounding mountains (weather permitting of course). The breakfast's were nice and ample in size. We always felt good coming 'home' after doing our rounds throughout the day. Would definitely stay here again if in Banff without hesitation. Thanks Connie & Jamie!! (Especially for the tip on "K" Country - we will never forget that!!)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Banff Avenue B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Avenue B&B

Address: 430 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A7, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
GREAT LOCATION !Banff Avenue B&B is a 5 minute walk to the downtown shops and directly across the street from the ski shuttles. Easy access to summer and winter activities. Clean affordable rooms in homey atmosphere. Hearty breakfast included. We work hard to ensure your time spent in Banff is enjoyable. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Avenue B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.