We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Little B&B, awesome hosts” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
15% off room rate
Ranked #11 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great Little B&B, awesome hosts”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2013

I stayed here at the end of May/beginning of June 2012 (I had to pick December 2012 in order to submit this review), it was perfect. Very close to the main street of Banff, but still quiet. The hot breakfast was a great start to the day, and Robyn was fantastic about offering ideas of what to do for the day. She suggested Tunnel Mountain hike to me on the day I was checking out...what a great hike. Amazing view, decent workout and pretty quick for someone who is reasonably fit. I stayed in suite 7, which was fine for a solo or two friends traveling. I would definitely recommend this B&B to anyone traveling on a budget. Rob & Robyn are fantastic hosts and I'm looking forward to my next trip to Banff!!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    39
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
18
53
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Rob & Robyn were such lovely hosts, the hot breakfasts were freshly made when you arrive for breakfast between 8am-9am and were delicious (there is also a good selection of cereal/toasts available). The location is just a 5 min walk from Banff Avenue. We stayed in Room 3 which was the smallest of the rooms but adequate for us. It can get a bit noisy at times as we were next to a bathroom (and there is a pipe from upstairs which goes through our the room) but it we didn't mind it too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the attic suite as it came with a kitchen but it was ill equipped, very few utensils. The room needed updating quite badly but on the other hand the staff were really helpful and the location is great. Breakfast was good each day and they were kind enough to make breakfast for us to take up to our daughters to eat upstairs. Overall a good place to stay but a bit tired. Very noisy bathroom fan though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungog, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have worked in hospitality for 20 years. Any good establishment starts with good management. Robyn is your gal when it comes to providing lovely warmth and hospitality. She wants you to not only enjoy your time at her b&b, but to enjoy your whole experience in banff and the Canadian Rockies. She has great knowledge and gave super tips for hiking and other local services. There are ten rooms, ranging in price and style. Stayed on the lower level with a private bathroom and kitchenette. Perfect for what I wanted. The house is quiet, has an awesome location (just 3 streets back from banff ave) and a yummy daly breakfast is thrown in also. Wifi was good and so was the price ($75 plus tax per night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights here as it was such a good base to visit many of the popular tourist sites in the Rockies.
The accommodation was first class as were the exquisite breakfasts and the freshly cooked muffins available to all the guests.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and both Robyn and Robin were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here, and we will without a doubt be back! Rob & Robyn are great hosts, the breakfasts are yummy and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It is in such a great location, within minutes walking distance to the main street and with ample parking for the car. I love the rustic feel of the building it has such a lot of character. It is such good value for money and service with a smile. See you for the ski season no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Now for our second stay at the Rocky Mountain Bed and Breakfast after previously staying in June, and it was a delight. On this trip my partner and I were travelling with my mother and we stayed in the very spacious and homely penthouse room. The room included a self contained kitchen with all of the essentials, two single beds, a double bed in a separate room, comfortable sitting area, family dinning table and a good bathroom. We were overly pleased with the room as it was big enough to ensure we had our own space and being at the top of house, had four beautiful views from the windows. Robyn remembered us like we were friends and we felt very welcome. Breakfast was lovely with a great eating environment, and it felt like you were in a family members dining room. We being young travellers, would highly recommend this B&B to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.