We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lovely B&B in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“A lovely B&B in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2013

We spent 2 nights here and really enjoyed our stay. Rob & Robyn were such lovely hosts, the hot breakfasts were freshly made when you arrive for breakfast between 8am-9am and were delicious (there is also a good selection of cereal/toasts available). The location is just a 5 min walk from Banff Avenue. We stayed in Room 3 which was the smallest of the rooms but adequate for us. It can get a bit noisy at times as we were next to a bathroom (and there is a pipe from upstairs which goes through our the room) but it we didn't mind it too much.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    31
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
41
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Welwyn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We had the attic suite as it came with a kitchen but it was ill equipped, very few utensils. The room needed updating quite badly but on the other hand the staff were really helpful and the location is great. Breakfast was good each day and they were kind enough to make breakfast for us to take up to our daughters to eat upstairs. Overall a good place to stay but a bit tired. Very noisy bathroom fan though.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungog, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I have worked in hospitality for 20 years. Any good establishment starts with good management. Robyn is your gal when it comes to providing lovely warmth and hospitality. She wants you to not only enjoy your time at her b&b, but to enjoy your whole experience in banff and the Canadian Rockies. She has great knowledge and gave super tips for hiking and other local services. There are ten rooms, ranging in price and style. Stayed on the lower level with a private bathroom and kitchenette. Perfect for what I wanted. The house is quiet, has an awesome location (just 3 streets back from banff ave) and a yummy daly breakfast is thrown in also. Wifi was good and so was the price ($75 plus tax per night).

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We spent 4 nights here as it was such a good base to visit many of the popular tourist sites in the Rockies.
The accommodation was first class as were the exquisite breakfasts and the freshly cooked muffins available to all the guests.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and both Robyn and Robin were excellent hosts.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

This is the second time my husband and I have stayed here, and we will without a doubt be back! Rob & Robyn are great hosts, the breakfasts are yummy and the rooms are clean and comfortable. It is in such a great location, within minutes walking distance to the main street and with ample parking for the car. I love the rustic feel of the building it has such a lot of character. It is such good value for money and service with a smile. See you for the ski season no doubt!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

Now for our second stay at the Rocky Mountain Bed and Breakfast after previously staying in June, and it was a delight. On this trip my partner and I were travelling with my mother and we stayed in the very spacious and homely penthouse room. The room included a self contained kitchen with all of the essentials, two single beds, a double bed in a separate room, comfortable sitting area, family dinning table and a good bathroom. We were overly pleased with the room as it was big enough to ensure we had our own space and being at the top of house, had four beautiful views from the windows. Robyn remembered us like we were friends and we felt very welcome. Breakfast was lovely with a great eating environment, and it felt like you were in a family members dining room. We being young travellers, would highly recommend this B&B to all!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, Alabama
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

I really wanted to leave a stellar review because I loved Robin. But when we added it all up, her hospitality just wasn't enough to outweigh the negatives.

Pros: Rob and Robin are awesome hosts. The breakfast is delicious. They are very accommodating and helpful. There are cute, yummy muffins available any time at the check in area. The location is perfect. The price is very reasonable for that area. Dinner is available at the B&B. 3 courses for $18. We didn't try it but it's a great price.

Cons: Parking is less than ideal but manageable. We stayed in room 9 and every time we entered the basement are my husband and I injured our hand on the door because it sticks. The ceilings in the entry way have exposed pipes making clearance minimal for my 6ft 2 in husband. The bathroom in room 9 was the smallest I have ever seen. The A/C can not be adjusted in the room to suit individual temperature preferences. There is no tv in room 9.

Overall, just know what to expect when you book here. For us, the small space was more problematic because my husband is tall.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.