We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hosts, comfortable bed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Worcester, Massachusetts
1 review
“Great hosts, comfortable bed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

Stayed here for one night during a trip to Banff and could not have asked for anything else. It was exactly what we hoped for and enjoyed talking with Robyn after we checked out. The beds were comfortable, it was within close walking distance to Banff Ave, but not right on it so it was quiet. Good breakfast, great hospitality and great value! I will be back for sure.

Room Tip: If a private bathroom is important to you, make sure you book a room that has one--they all don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    32
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
42
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed at four different B&B during our one-week Rockies trip. This one could not be compared to other B&B because I don't think this one was up to the minimum standard. We stayed in Room 8. The room was very small, had some kind of smell, everything was old and surely needed an update. The so-called private washroom was outside the room. The washroom was very run down with many dirty spots. It just provided us a covered shelter to stay for one night. The breakfast was good but not enough to wash away our bad experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 84 cities Reviews in 84 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

Owner's were friendly. It was only a few blocks to the main shopping area of Banff. Price was hard to beat. Breakfast was good with bacon, muffin, strawberries and potatoes, but I wish they served a little earlier. Owner recommended Nester's Market which my husband greatly enjoyed. Only reservation was the parking which was quite limited. We had to squeeze in behind the building. I loved their bathroom faucet, and the basement #9 worked out very well. One guest was noisy coming in around midnight but the noise was very short. We missed enjoying a hot tub and pool, but one does not expect that at a B&B. We picked this place because of price, and it is hard to beat their price for the Banff area.
Last time in Banff we got a fantastic deal on the Fairmont "Castle" which is not a fair comparison to make. This place is hard to beat for the price and location.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having read the other reviews I feel as though we stayed somewhere different. The room we had was very run down and the furniture needed some TLC, and there was dust under the bed. Luckily we were only booked in for 1 night, when we want down to breakfast there was not enough room and we had to stand and wait for someone to leave. Self service drinks, cereal and toast. The hot breakfast consisted of a small portion of scrambled egg and cheese in a tortilla wrap with 1 slice of Canadian bacon and a small portion of chopped onion and tomato, very disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Comfortable and very clean. 5 minute walk to downtown but far enough away to avoid traffic and noise. Breakfasts sensational. Off street parking. Our hosts, Robyn and Rob both friendly and informative. Dinner provided on request (best value in Banff). Robyn is a qualified massage therapist, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very good b&b very rustic accommodation and the hosts Robyn & Rob do a fantastic breakfast . The location is only a 5minute walk to Banffs main street. Everything you very clean and was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed on the top floor, which is an apartment with kitchen and plenty of beds for our family of two parents and two adult daughters. Breakfast (a hot meal) was yummy, as were the blueberry muffins left out for snacking. Chef Rob also offers dinner on request, which we found delicious.The apartment has some quirks, including an awkward bathroom layout and an incredibly noisy exhaust fan. But it was a great value and spacious. Robin is a very friendly host, offering advice about hikes and restaurants. Laundry facility available for a small fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.