We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Did we stay somewhere different?” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
London
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Did we stay somewhere different?”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Having read the other reviews I feel as though we stayed somewhere different. The room we had was very run down and the furniture needed some TLC, and there was dust under the bed. Luckily we were only booked in for 1 night, when we want down to breakfast there was not enough room and we had to stand and wait for someone to leave. Self service drinks, cereal and toast. The hot breakfast consisted of a small portion of scrambled egg and cheese in a tortilla wrap with 1 slice of Canadian bacon and a small portion of chopped onion and tomato, very disappointing.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    56
    42
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2013

Comfortable and very clean. 5 minute walk to downtown but far enough away to avoid traffic and noise. Breakfasts sensational. Off street parking. Our hosts, Robyn and Rob both friendly and informative. Dinner provided on request (best value in Banff). Robyn is a qualified massage therapist, Highly recommend.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very good b&b very rustic accommodation and the hosts Robyn & Rob do a fantastic breakfast . The location is only a 5minute walk to Banffs main street. Everything you very clean and was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Trenton, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed on the top floor, which is an apartment with kitchen and plenty of beds for our family of two parents and two adult daughters. Breakfast (a hot meal) was yummy, as were the blueberry muffins left out for snacking. Chef Rob also offers dinner on request, which we found delicious.The apartment has some quirks, including an awkward bathroom layout and an incredibly noisy exhaust fan. But it was a great value and spacious. Robin is a very friendly host, offering advice about hikes and restaurants. Laundry facility available for a small fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Rocky Mountain for a family wedding in the New Year 2013. People had traveled from England, Australia and all over Canada. We booked the whole place for 10 nights and it's difficult to describe the incredible service we received. Nothing is too much trouble for Robyn and Rob, our wonderful hosts, and their team is equally friendly and helpful. The warmth and hospitality soon blended us all into one family, including everyone who makes this B&B run smoothly. Banff looked like fairyland in the snow and Rocky Mountain was a Christmas card, with decorations, table settings, complimentary cookies etc. Fantastic breakfasts from Rob the chef, and an offer of a meal in the evenings at a great price. There is beer and wine on offer. The food was wonderful and we were given a complimentary meal and a drink and there was a lot of us! The lounge and tea and coffee all day and is very comfortable. There are so many lovely touches all around the house, for example, a reading nook. These are two of the most thoughtful and nice people you will ever find. One person hurt themselves on the ice and they took us to the hospital and brought us back, offered food and much more- lovely, kind people. Every one of the guests had great things to say and they all felt that Rocky Mountain is truly a home away from home. The house is beautifully restored and very close to the main street and all amenities. What more could anyone want?

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms as en suite, but there are enough bathrooms for sharing also and everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Recently on our road trip through the Canadian Rockies my partner and I stayed at the Rocky Mountain B&B to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. We love to stay at B&B's and this one was a delight. The location is excellent situated walking distance to Banff downtown. The breakfast was great - thank you to Chef Rob - and Robyn made sure we were looked after from the moment we walked through the door. Our room was small but cosy and the building was beautifully restored. A handmade book inside of the room gave us a great history of the B&B and also an insight into the lives of Rob and Robyn. We will definitely recommend this place to friends and family, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had booked for 1 night in June but ended up having to stay for 3 due to the floods in Alberta. Robyn and Rob were the most fantastic, thoughtful hosts that you could wish to meet. They went out of their way to ensure that stranded guests were made comfortable, they offered their phones and computer for people to use plus a complimentary lunch!!! The B&B is located close to the centre of Banff has free parking and a welcoming lounge, dining area for guests. Breakfasts are serve yourself to 'continental' or home cooked from 8 - 9.......... Worth getting up for. Rob is a chef and you can choose to have a 3 course meal in the evening, delicious food and a fraction of the local restaurant prices. They also have a license to sell wine and beer so it's a winner all round. We will return to continue our trip to Jasper which we had to postpone due to the roads being closed, if you're in Banff this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which is in the basement. It's a twin with kitchen area and ensuite, fairly spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.