We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Homely b & b” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Homely b & b”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

This is a very good b&b very rustic accommodation and the hosts Robyn & Rob do a fantastic breakfast . The location is only a 5minute walk to Banffs main street. Everything you very clean and was excellent value.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    34
    7
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
44
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Trenton, NJ
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We stayed on the top floor, which is an apartment with kitchen and plenty of beds for our family of two parents and two adult daughters. Breakfast (a hot meal) was yummy, as were the blueberry muffins left out for snacking. Chef Rob also offers dinner on request, which we found delicious.The apartment has some quirks, including an awkward bathroom layout and an incredibly noisy exhaust fan. But it was a great value and spacious. Robin is a very friendly host, offering advice about hikes and restaurants. Laundry facility available for a small fee.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

We stayed at Rocky Mountain for a family wedding in the New Year 2013. People had traveled from England, Australia and all over Canada. We booked the whole place for 10 nights and it's difficult to describe the incredible service we received. Nothing is too much trouble for Robyn and Rob, our wonderful hosts, and their team is equally friendly and helpful. The warmth and hospitality soon blended us all into one family, including everyone who makes this B&B run smoothly. Banff looked like fairyland in the snow and Rocky Mountain was a Christmas card, with decorations, table settings, complimentary cookies etc. Fantastic breakfasts from Rob the chef, and an offer of a meal in the evenings at a great price. There is beer and wine on offer. The food was wonderful and we were given a complimentary meal and a drink and there was a lot of us! The lounge and tea and coffee all day and is very comfortable. There are so many lovely touches all around the house, for example, a reading nook. These are two of the most thoughtful and nice people you will ever find. One person hurt themselves on the ice and they took us to the hospital and brought us back, offered food and much more- lovely, kind people. Every one of the guests had great things to say and they all felt that Rocky Mountain is truly a home away from home. The house is beautifully restored and very close to the main street and all amenities. What more could anyone want?

Room Tip: Some rooms have bathrooms as en suite, but there are enough bathrooms for sharing also and everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canmore, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Recently on our road trip through the Canadian Rockies my partner and I stayed at the Rocky Mountain B&B to celebrate our 3 year anniversary. We love to stay at B&B's and this one was a delight. The location is excellent situated walking distance to Banff downtown. The breakfast was great - thank you to Chef Rob - and Robyn made sure we were looked after from the moment we walked through the door. Our room was small but cosy and the building was beautifully restored. A handmade book inside of the room gave us a great history of the B&B and also an insight into the lives of Rob and Robyn. We will definitely recommend this place to friends and family, and look forward to returning soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upminster, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Had booked for 1 night in June but ended up having to stay for 3 due to the floods in Alberta. Robyn and Rob were the most fantastic, thoughtful hosts that you could wish to meet. They went out of their way to ensure that stranded guests were made comfortable, they offered their phones and computer for people to use plus a complimentary lunch!!! The B&B is located close to the centre of Banff has free parking and a welcoming lounge, dining area for guests. Breakfasts are serve yourself to 'continental' or home cooked from 8 - 9.......... Worth getting up for. Rob is a chef and you can choose to have a 3 course meal in the evening, delicious food and a fraction of the local restaurant prices. They also have a license to sell wine and beer so it's a winner all round. We will return to continue our trip to Jasper which we had to postpone due to the roads being closed, if you're in Banff this is a great place to stay.

Room Tip: We had room 7 which is in the basement. It's a twin with kitchen area and ensuite, fairly spacio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Coast England
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

We stayed here for a few more nights than first planned due to flood problems in Banff. The owners Robyn and Rob could not have been more helpful, accomodating and offering their hospitality above and beyond what is expected. Breakfasts and optional Dinner are both excellent. The location is perfect. The property has character. By the time we left we felt like leaving family.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandakan, Malaysia
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stayed here for 4 nights at the end of May and early June. Check in time is 4 - 8 pm, and when I arrived at 3.50 pm, Rob just happened to arrive also, and in no time we were shown our room, Room No. 9 in the walk-out basement.

Considering the price we paid, the room was way above expectations. There were 2 queen-sized beds, and a mini kitchen (minus cookers/oven) that came with a microwave, mini fridge, kettle and some utensils/cutlery. Even without the cooker, this would enable us to save money on meals. There's no TV in the room, but you didn't come to such an awesome place like Banff for that, did you?

I'd read elsewhere that there was no wash basin in Room 9's bathroom. Well, it looks like there had been some renovation carried out here, for there is one now, albeit a small one (see pics attached).

For those with cars, there are 2 places to park them - in front of the B&B on Otter St. (enough space for 2 cars, parallel parking) and a rear parking lot (for 5 cars) accessible by entering the back street that runs between Otter and Muskrat Streets.

Cleaning service is provided daily, with towels replaced and beds made. I remember seeing Robyn doing this herself at one of the other rooms one morning at 10 a.m. while I happened to be around. So, how's that for downright hands-on? They are attentive to detail: I remember both Rob and Robyn saying let them know if you have any food allergy or don't eat any particular item, and they'll try to adjust their cooking accordingly.

The cooked breakfast service is provided between 8 and 9 a.m. This includes both the cooked portion (varying from day to day - we had omelette, pancakes, scrambled eggs/bacon and breakfast burrito on 4 different days) and the continental portion (juice, coffee/tea/others, cereal, toast, muffins). Guests who have breakfast before 8 a.m. or after 9 a.m. can still have the continental portion.

Overall, I'd say my expectations were exceeded!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.