We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value place to stay in Banff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great value place to stay in Banff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We really enjoyed our three night stay here whilst we were in Banff. It is a very comfortable B&B with a lovely rooms and a really great host, Robyn, who was always really happy and smiley. The breakfasts were really tasty and filling. The room rate was really reasonable for the area and the location is great with Banff mainstreet about two blocks away. The only small issue is that there can be some noise with the shared bathrooms being adjacent to the bedrooms but it is not too much of a problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

We showed up late on Thursday night, after 10. We checked in to room 7. I am 6'5" and had to walk around the room with my head at an angle because this room is down in the basement. However, that should not deter you at all from staying here. Robyn was very friendly and always willing to help. We enjoyed some great pancakes for breakfast. They are strict with the breakfast hours, however you it seems as though you can enjoy the continental breakfast at any time. Downtown Bamff was only a short walk away. Would definitely stay here again. Just remember, you are pretty much staying in a house.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Canada
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

We arrived for a 4 night stay on May 2 having just heard challenging news from the East. Robyn, our hostess, quickly responded as we reflected on the beautiful deck overlooking a fabulous mountain view. Tea for Audrey...and a very kind heart. Thanks Robyn so very much. Robyn, a professional masseuse and her partner Rob, former sous-chef at a high end Banff restaurant took over this Banff bed and breakfast just over a year ago, and their personalities and skills blend together to provide the best of traveller experiences. There are a variety of rooms/suites in this 'inn'....some shared washrooms, some ensuite. The place is kept spotless, the bed in Room 1 most comfortable, and the location on Otter Street, just 2 blocks from downtown Banff, perfect. The breakfasts vary each morning, prepared by Rob with Robyn's assistance, and are a perfect start to the day. There is a small fridge for wine-keeping. Robyn quickly related positively to visitors from around the world who were there on our occasion. Robyn provides masseuse support for skiers or hikers needing an extra stretch. While we didn't take advantage of this we did take advantage of the dining opportunity that Rob provides at dinner. The weather was warm enough for us to eat on the deck, and the dinner (3 courses) as nice a dinner as you can have.
Delicious Rob-made soup and salad, a wonderful main course, and Rob's home made ice cream to close it off. One morning waiting in a breakfast alcove overlooking the street I watched two white tailed deer stroll by the bed and breakfast......not unusual according to Robyn, In closing we would only stay at the Rocky Mountain B and B when returning to Banff. It exceeded everything we wanted and needed!!! And I haven't even mentioned the very reasonable cost for an overnight stay!!! You'll want to stay longer for certain!!! Free parking on site.

Room Tip: Looked at the suite at the top of the building.....very nice. Checked out the rooms on our floor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

I stayed here for eight nights and it was perfect for what I wanted. Lovely hosts, great breakfast (loved the cooked breakfast); clean room, comfy bed. Only a few minutes walk onto the famous Banff Avenue. Will definitely stay there again.

Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 10 nights and were extremely happy. The room was comfortable and very clean with plenty of room for all our ski gear. We didn't have a car but the distance to the ski shuttle pick-up is just a 5 minute walk so not a problem. Robyn and Rob are wonderful hosts - very welcoming and warm. The breakfasts were sublime, and I would highly recommend staying in for dinner too. Rob is an excellent chef. Really fantastic value and I would definitely stay here in preference to hotels in Banff from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and we were very happy. The hosts Rob and Robyn were very welcoming and hospitable. The room was clean and had adequate space for both of us, 4 bags and ski gear. We had an ensuite which was large and clean. I highly recommend having dinner at the B&B at least one night of your stay, Rob cooks an excellent meal and it was good value. The hot breakfast was also very nice. If you want a bit of extra indulgence, have a massage, it was very relaxing. Great value accommodation, overall it was no more expensive than a private room at one of the hostels in Banff but much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B! An excellent breakfast gets you started in the morning (besides cereals and toast, a different, warm breakfast menu is prepared fresh every day). Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Take advantage of staying in for a delicious dinner prepared by the owner (we had Bison and it was excellent).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.