We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My sister and I stayed here for 10 nights and were extremely happy. The room was comfortable and very clean with plenty of room for all our ski gear. We didn't have a car but the distance to the ski shuttle pick-up is just a 5 minute walk so not a problem. Robyn and Rob are wonderful hosts - very welcoming and warm. The breakfasts were sublime, and I would highly recommend staying in for dinner too. Rob is an excellent chef. Really fantastic value and I would definitely stay here in preference to hotels in Banff from now on.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    42
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
61
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

My partner and I stayed here for 2 nights and we were very happy. The hosts Rob and Robyn were very welcoming and hospitable. The room was clean and had adequate space for both of us, 4 bags and ski gear. We had an ensuite which was large and clean. I highly recommend having dinner at the B&B at least one night of your stay, Rob cooks an excellent meal and it was good value. The hot breakfast was also very nice. If you want a bit of extra indulgence, have a massage, it was very relaxing. Great value accommodation, overall it was no more expensive than a private room at one of the hostels in Banff but much nicer.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

We very much enjoyed our stay at this charming B&B! An excellent breakfast gets you started in the morning (besides cereals and toast, a different, warm breakfast menu is prepared fresh every day). Owners and staff are very friendly and helpful. Take advantage of staying in for a delicious dinner prepared by the owner (we had Bison and it was excellent).

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I are in our 20's and were looking for a place to stay over New Years. We chose Rocky Mountain B&B mainly because of the central location and that one of the managers is a chef! The food was really great, service was excellent, and the house had a charming character feel to it. This B&B has maybe 10 guest rooms, light snacks available 24/7, message therapy, supper reservations, ect.. The couple that runs it does a great job, and really goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The only 'faults' I'd list was there was only shared bathrooms on the floor we were on, and it's not hard to hear others talking in other rooms when it's quiet. Other than that it's a great place to stay and very affordable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rocky Mountain B&B is situated near the centre of Banff but on a nice quiet street. We were in a downstairs bedroom with out bathroom a little down the hall. The room was clean, and it was handy to have a fridge to store picnic fixings.
Both owners were very friendly and helpful. The best thing about Rocky Mountain was the delicious hot breakfast- something different every morning! They were also very good to cater for me as a coeliac.
A good spot to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my first stay at a B&B, so I wasn't really sure what to expect. I stayed in one of the Queens with shared bathroom. There are two bathrooms, one of which has a bathtub which was great for a soak after a day of skiing. Both bathrooms were very clean and modern. The bedroom has a small sink and older furnature. The bed was comfortable, but nothing special.
The hosts are certainly the highlight of the property. He was an excellent cook, and very friendly. She was a wonderful hostess. There is a very comfortable couch in the dining area. The building is older and sound really carries. I wouldn't recommend it for light sleepers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

When I found the Rocky Mountain B&B I was greeted like an old friend and welcomed into the house. Great staff, good location, free parking and wi-fi, and a delicious breakfast. The only thing better was the peaceful night's sleep I had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.