We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Save Saved
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #10 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

My boyfriend and I are in our 20's and were looking for a place to stay over New Years. We chose Rocky Mountain B&B mainly because of the central location and that one of the managers is a chef! The food was really great, service was excellent, and the house had a charming character feel to it. This B&B has maybe 10 guest rooms, light snacks available 24/7, message therapy, supper reservations, ect.. The couple that runs it does a great job, and really goes out of their way to make you comfortable. The only 'faults' I'd list was there was only shared bathrooms on the floor we were on, and it's not hard to hear others talking in other rooms when it's quiet. Other than that it's a great place to stay and very affordable!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    42
    30
    6
    6
    1
See reviews for
16
40
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2012

Rocky Mountain B&B is situated near the centre of Banff but on a nice quiet street. We were in a downstairs bedroom with out bathroom a little down the hall. The room was clean, and it was handy to have a fridge to store picnic fixings.
Both owners were very friendly and helpful. The best thing about Rocky Mountain was the delicious hot breakfast- something different every morning! They were also very good to cater for me as a coeliac.
A good spot to stay.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

This was my first stay at a B&B, so I wasn't really sure what to expect. I stayed in one of the Queens with shared bathroom. There are two bathrooms, one of which has a bathtub which was great for a soak after a day of skiing. Both bathrooms were very clean and modern. The bedroom has a small sink and older furnature. The bed was comfortable, but nothing special.
The hosts are certainly the highlight of the property. He was an excellent cook, and very friendly. She was a wonderful hostess. There is a very comfortable couch in the dining area. The building is older and sound really carries. I wouldn't recommend it for light sleepers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

When I found the Rocky Mountain B&B I was greeted like an old friend and welcomed into the house. Great staff, good location, free parking and wi-fi, and a delicious breakfast. The only thing better was the peaceful night's sleep I had. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2012

The Rocky Mountain B&B has a great location - within walking distance of downtown, but far enough away to avoid the hustle and bustle. It is an old building with old fashioned furniture that has been well-maintained and has a lovely, warm atmosphere. The rooms are very cosy and the whole place was very clean. The hostess was very welcoming, and the breakfast was top notch and always interesting. All in all, an enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, NM
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

We thoroughly enjoyed the two nights at this B&B. Robyn was very gracious and hospitable throughout our visit. The hosts were very accommodating regarding our friend's gluten-free diet and made sure she had an equally delicious hot breakfast. The location is superb, on a quiet residential street, and only a couple of blocks from the heart of Banff shopping, bars, and restaurants. I highly recommend to anyone looking for lodging in Banff! Hope we can return again soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This B&B is run by a very nice young couple Rob & Robyn. Rob is the chef and we had dinner at the B&B and both of us can highly recommend the Bison steak. Robyn looks after everything else and is a great conversationalist. The B&B is in a hundred year old building, originally used by railway workers. The rooms are small and plain but comfy. We had to share a bathroom but it did not turn out to be a problem.
The breakfast was gormet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.