We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Something a little out of the ordinary” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rocky Mountain B&B

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Rocky Mountain B&B to your Saves list
Rocky Mountain B&B
2.5 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Price
15% off room rate
Ranked #9 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
“Something a little out of the ordinary”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

This B&B is run by a very nice young couple Rob & Robyn. Rob is the chef and we had dinner at the B&B and both of us can highly recommend the Bison steak. Robyn looks after everything else and is a great conversationalist. The B&B is in a hundred year old building, originally used by railway workers. The rooms are small and plain but comfy. We had to share a bathroom but it did not turn out to be a problem.
The breakfast was gormet.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

114 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    42
    8
    6
    1
See reviews for
19
60
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

Location is practically perfect – quiet and at the same time easy walking distance from downtown. Clean rooms, comfortable bad, decently sized bathroom, good hot breakfast, sufficient parking space and extremely nice and welcoming host Robyn – what else you can ask for? The only minus I can think about is the pure sound proofing of our room - we could hear people in the hallway in the morning. Considering reasonable price, personal touch, cleanness and friendliness of this B&B I would definitely recommend is a place to stay in Banff.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Happy to recommend this place as a good value stop over in Banff. We stayed in the top floor apartment in late August 2012. Robyn the host was very nice & gave us some great recommendations for dinner. 2 blocks from town makes it an easy walk to town.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2012

The rooms were quaint and homey. The hosts were amazing helpful and generous. The breakfasts were amazing and very tasty. The common area was spacious and the B&B was close to nearby town centre. Everything was within walking distance and there was ample free parking.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Our family stayed here for 5 days and we had the upper level suite with the kitchen. Perfect setup for the wife & I and our three kids. The beds were comfortable, and the house very charming - old, but in very nice shape, and in a great location. Breakfast was awesome, and Rob & Robyn were so accomodating to alter the meal for the kids finicky taste buds - "no vegies on my omelet!". Given that we had the kitchenette, Rob was very open to providing us with a few extra spices, utensiles, etc... whatever was needed to help complete the meal, and avoid us having to buy little items from the grocery. They even offered to let us take their bear spray on our hikes as opposed to having to buy a $40 can locally. Fotunatly, the bear spray wasn't needed on the hike, and we returned the can at the end of the day. The point here - they were so helpful and accomodating in every aspect and we never once felt like we were asking too many questions or being a nuisance.

Would definetly stay there again!

PS - Robyn, the kids are still loving your breakfast buritio recipie, but keep telling me that your's were better :-)

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2012

Stayed here for 2 nights on our honeymoon, Rob and Robyn are really really nice and the B&B is pretty decent too.

The rooms are nice and clean with free wifi which is always a bonus, but it can get noisy as you can hear the people in the other rooms when they get up in the morning if you are a light sleeper. The breakfast is really nice and served with a big smile and sets you up well for the rest of the day

Location wise it is perfect bang in the middle of Banff, and Robyn gives a really good massage at competitive prices!

We really enjoyed our 2 nights here and would stay again

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banff, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

I stayed here for 5 nights in a downstairs room with a kitchenette. The room was clean and comfortable and just what I needed for my stay. The breakfast was great and really tasty and I had an evening meal cooked by Rob which was delicious! The location is handy, only 3 blocks to the main street and the people staying here were very friendly. What made this B&B really stand out for me were the owners,Robyn and Rob. They were so helpful, enthusiastic and kind as I have significant food allergies that they catered for it really made my stay so enjoyable. They are both very knowledgable about the area and were very helpful with walks etc. I would highly recommend staying here.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rocky Mountain B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rocky Mountain B&B

Address: 223 Otter St., Box 2528, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Rocky Mountain B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are an intimate high-country inn situated three blocks east of Banff Avenue on Otter Street in a quiet residential neighbourhood. The building dates from 1918 and has 10 guest rooms and a gorgeous main lounge and dining room. We are the only B and B Inn in Banff to still serve a hot breakfast! We use excellent ingredients, serve locally roasted organic coffee and vary our menu daily. This historic mountain home is warm and spacious. It was used extensively in the '30s by CPR work crews as a boarding house. For the following forty years it was known as Douglas House and served as tourist accommodation. The Inn was fully restored in the late '80s and has had recent renovations to maintain its original character and substantial mountain charm. We have four suites, which suit small families, as well as simple and elegant double rooms. Our dining room and lounge are open to guest use during the day and there is a television in the lounge. We have private off-street parking to accommodate guests with vehicles. However, once you are in Banff many activities and walks are accessible by foot from the B&B. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Odigeo and Booking.com so you can book your Rocky Mountain B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rocky Mountain Bed And Breakfast
Rocky Mountain Hotel Banff

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rocky Mountain B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.