We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Location, Hosts, and Breakfasts!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast
116 Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great Location, Hosts, and Breakfasts!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

My fiance and I had a fantastic time staying here earlier this month. The location is excellent - right by the river, 3min walk across the bridge to "downtown", 10min walk to the Banff Spring Hotel. We felt waited on and well taken care of.

Outstanding hosts. There were so many nice touches to the complimentary breakfasts and small thoughtful snacks, I don't know where to begin. I was expecting a hot breakfast, I wasn't expecting plating with visual touches. Bathroom was nice, very clean as was our bed and really everything in the house.

April is generous with her portions, which was extremely useful with the multi-hour hiking and sightseeing. We were thankful we didn't have to worry about getting hungry on top of a mountain.

If I got up past the time I told April I would be up for breakfast, I found a warm breakfast in the toaster over waiting for me. This is one of many thoughtful touches.

Highly recommended.

Room Tip: We stayed in the King Room, which was two twins pushed together. I was concerned it would not be co...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    45
    10
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
42
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

At wits end was a fabulous spot to stay in Banff. April was a great hostess - nothing was too much trouble. The location was super as it was within walking distance of town. The facilities were second to none. The breakfasts were superb - kept us full until dinner time! The snacks in the evening were greatly appreciated. I would definitely recommend this as a place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at wits end on 28th/29th December. The room was great, bed comfy, bathroom clean, I fact the whole place was clean. The breakfast was fantastic, April is a great cook and host, really friendly and full of information. You can leave your car and walk into Banff, a ten minute walk if that. Overall a great place to stay and the price is good too!,

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
59 helpful votes 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

And these are the reasons why:
1. The welcome - both April and Peter welcomed us to their home and spent time talking to us. Felt totally comfortable
2. The thoughtfulness - a bottle water and chocolates for each of us in our room (LOVED IT - i always get thirsty at night!)
3. The care - we came back to a little afternoon snack each day, left on the table in case we were peckish. Not only that, we were invited to help ourselves to the juice, water, bread, cereal and home made granol bars too.
4. The BREAKFASTS!! - Outstanding. Fresh fruit, granola, yogurt, and an egg dish. Different both days, but both days just unbelievably good.
5. The flexibility - breakfast when we wanted it, not at set times like a lot of B&Bs. Plus how we wanted it. My veggie needs were catered for.
6. The information - leaflets, maps, their own knowledge - Pete and April have a heap of info between them. Plus internet access and access to a phone for local calls
7. The location - only a 5 min walk from downtown.
8. The dogs - not strictly part of teh experience but we got to meet them. Very cute
9. The cleanliness - everything spic and span, but no intrusion into the bedroom unless you ask April to tidy.
10. The lovely communal area - fire, books, comfy sofa. What more can you need.

There - 10 reasons why this place is better than a 5!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Ontario
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

My husband and I have stayed in several B&B's and this was one of our favourites! We stayed in the Queen Room, which has a super comfy bed, we had a great night's sleep! It was super clean, and the breakfast the next morning was AMAZING!!! April was a lovely hostess. If we have a chance to stay in Banff again, we will definitely stay here. We highly recommend At Wit's End!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, UK
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

I stayed here in March with a friend and loved it. April and family are around enough to be friendly and welcoming without imposing on your rest time. The rooms are nice and modern and the shared guest kitchen is spacious. If you're boarding, it's a short walk into town for the ski bus but April very kindly dropped us off every morning. She also made us incredible breakfasts of egg burritos, granola, fruit and yoghurt and rustled us some sandwiches for our day on the slopes. We were truly spoilt! There's a fridge to keep some bits in and they've got wifi too.

Stayed March 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

If you are planning a trip to Banff, you do not mind paying slightly more for a really 5 star service (without blowing your pocket living in the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel), go email April right now. :D

I was traveling beginning of September 2012 with a friend and we didn't book way in advance (we contacted April about 2 weeks before we arrive). As a result, we did not manage to get accommodation here for the 4 nights that we eventually planned to stay in Banff and only managed to get a room for 2 nights (honestly wished we did, but well was pretty much our own fault for not booking ahead).

Anyway, location wise, it is a 5 minute walk from downtown, a walking distance (hmmm, maybe half an hour walk depending on your pace) to the Surprise Corner. That said, we did get somewhat lost while trying to find our way without a GPS nor a map. Hahahahaha! Yup, so I think if you have either of those, you'd be fine.

When we got there (2 hours later than our agreed time), we were let in by Peter and loved our spacious room with its equally spacious ensuite bathroom. There were little touches like the chocolate on the mineral water provided that just made me smile and happy. April soon joined us and was really helpful in helping us get to where we had to be and really patient in answering our questions. Also fixed us a little snack before we headed out for the evening.

Breakfast the next day was amazing. (Refer to pictures)

Also, as mentioned above, because we did not manage to get a room for our next 2 nights in Banff in this B and B, we had booked another. When it came time for us to go from one B and B to another, firstly April was so flexible with our checkout allowing us to leave our bags in a different room for the day till the evening; secondly she offered to give us a lift to our other B and B. Pretty sure we would not have gotten anything close even if we stayed at the Fairmont.

In summary, I will most definitely stay again if I visit Banff. This time I would email April immediately. (:

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast

Address: 116 Mountain Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AT WITS END B&B is a clean, updated and affordable property with a great location! Situated across from the Parks Administion Building and Gardens.....just a few minutes walk to downtown and the Fairmont Banff Springs Hotel. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added At Wit's End Bed and Breakfast to your Saves list