We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food - huge portions” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bumpers The Beef House

Bumpers The Beef House
537 Banff Avenue, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta T1L 1A6, Canada
+1 403-762-2262
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #81 of 128 Restaurants in Banff
Price range: $12 - $32
Cuisines: Steakhouse, International, Family Fare, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Bumper’s has been serving quality Alberta AAA beef to Banff visitors since 1975. Bumper’s The Beef House has become the Rundlestone Lodge’s in-house restaurant as of mid-February 2013.The addition of Bumper’s Breakfast menu will allow guests to have the option to dine at the lodge in the morning as well as the evening. Evening service will continue to provide the same great salad bar and of course Bumper’s signature Prime Rib!
Kootenay National Park, Canada
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
185 helpful votes 185 helpful votes
“Great food - huge portions”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2014

Fresh, tasty and filling. They certainly know their beef here. My order of ribs was the small one and covered my entire plate! The meet just fell off the bones. Yummy.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    44
    26
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Canmore, Canada
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Waiter never bothered to come back.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

My girlfriend and I decided to stop in for dinner. It took 10 minutes for anyone to bother asking us for drinks, which to their credit were delivered promptly. But that was the last time we saw our waiter. After waiting for the staff for 30 minutes we left (I enjoyed the old iteration of the place so i gave them the benefit of the doubt). I couldnt wait all night so we payed and left. I will not be recommending Bumpers to the guests at my hotels.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
14michaelr, Manager at Bumpers The Beef House, responded to this review, March 21, 2014
I would like to thank you for bringing to my attention the poor service you received while visiting Bumpers in early March. Whether it is busy or not we pride ourselves on our service and the food we serve. I sincerely apologize for your bad experience.

Regards,

Food & Beverage manager
Bumpers Beef House
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evesham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
“Good food, needs some atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

On our fourth trip to Banff we decided to give Bumpers at the Rundlestone lodge a go. We were staying at the Caribou so it was only a short walk away.
The restaurant was very quiet and we didn't need the reservation we had made. We sat in one of the booths which was great for a family meal. It has a nice modern feel and the servers were very attentive.
The salad bar looked a little sad but actually was very enjoyable as a starter to the main event. Not very easy for kids as the sneeze screen means things are at quite an arms stretch away! We managed it and the kids loved it.
The New York Strip was very well cooked and the ribs were not a disappointment. All in all a carnivores dream. We didn't make it to the original bumpers so can't make any comparisons but I would say this was an enjoyable tasty meal.
The atmosphere is limited as it was very quiet with the exception of rather irritating elevator music in the background! The only thing it was missing really was people. With more customers the atmosphere would be better and given how enjoyable our food was I hope the restaurant develops with time. For an intimate evening it would be lovely at the moment and I would certainly return next time we are in Banff.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brandon, Canada
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Tough steak”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The restaurant is update from the old location. We were disappointed with the both the quality of the steaks and the limited salad bar choices.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
“The best beef”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

Food was the best, service was a little substandard, but still within acceptable range. Prime rib cut is the best beef I've ever had. Too bad the salad bar seems to keep getting smaller though, very limited selection. Would have liked to see chopped boiled egg and fresh mushrooms for example. The hot fudge sundae seemed to be a bit different too. Ice cream quality not the best with just a drizzle of (not hot) chocolate sauce. Also, not the same ambience and view as when Bumper's was in its own building. The food, particularly the beef, still can't be beat though.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bumpers The Beef House also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Bumpers The Beef House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bumpers The Beef House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.