We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best log cabin in Banff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Log Cabin B&B

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Banff
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Banff Log Cabin B&B
222 Glen Crescent, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Romantic Cabin for 2
Ranked #3 of 34 Banff B&B and Inns
Moscow, Idaho
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Best log cabin in Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Banff Log Cabin B&B in September 2013. What a wonderful experience. Be prepared for a memorable experience with caring, considerate, and kind hosts. Malcolm and Sharon made our stay so comfortable. From the tips about what to see to future ideas for skiing, we couldn't have asked for a more relaxing stay.

Margo H.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    40
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
33
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kent
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

The cabin was clean and cozy. Lots of attention to detail in the decorating. There were bottled waters in the fridge and chocolate on the pillow each night. The breakfast muffins were yummy. There is a limited kitchen area in the cabin which was nice for making tea and keeping leftovers. The hosts were very friendly. The cabin is close enough to town that we were able to walk around. Would highly recommend.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed at the Banff Log Cabin for two nights at the end of road trip round Canada and it was one of our favourite places to stay.

The cabin is beautifully presented and spotlessly clean, with a real attention to detail. As the cabin is self contained it is nice a private, but you know the hosts are near by should you need anything.

The cabin is a pleasant 10 minute stroll from downtown Banff with all it's restaurants. We even saw an elk wandering round the streets on the way in.

Sharon and Malcolm (and Auntie Pat) were perfect hosts who were always extremely helpful in suggesting activities, sight seeing and restaurants. They were always keen to ensure our stay was perfect - which it was. We loved the surprises in the turn down and the homemade breakfasts were wonderful.

We would whole heartily recommend the Banff Log Cabin.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

A lovely true log cabin in a nice neighborhood with nearby walking trails and easy access to downtown. The wonderful cabin is small but has everything you could want including robes and slippers. Malcolm and Sharon brought wonderful muffins each morning (don't miss the blueberry ones) along with fruit and coffee. There is a wonderful assortment of tea always available. We did miss visiting with other folks which is one thing we like about B&Bs but the hosst here will go out of their way to assure you are comfortable and well taken care of.

Room Tip: Only one room to choose but you will like it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

We had a lovely stay for two days in this B&B in late June this year (right after the awful flood).

Location: The log is in the middle of a residential neighborhood just 10 minutes from Banff downtown. The walk is scenic, overlooking the mountains and going past the Central Park, the bridge over the Bow River. Wildlife can be easily spotted on your way too. In the other direction, the Bow Falls is just 5 minutes away.

The log: Though it's a B&B, we enjoyed a lot of privacy since it's a log outside the hosts' building. The log is rustic but elegantly rustic (if it makes sense). The area inside is not big, but it has everything we need. As shown in the pictures on the site, there is a kitchenette (no stove), a small dining table / work desk, a fire place, a cozy queen sized bed, a side cabin with an iPhone dock, night candles, plenty of travel books etc. The log has a deck that overlooks a lovely children's play area. A perfect spot for reading and breakfast if the weather is good.

The hosts: Unfortunately, we didn't get a chance to meet Malcolm, but we had so much to thank Sharon for! Sharon was very friendly and caring but also gave us enough privacy. Sharon went out of her way to help us through many troubles due to the road closure after the flood. We just couldn't believe it when Sharon offered to bring us freshly baked muffins early at 4:30 am when we had to leave for the airporter extra early because of the road closure. And when the airporter accidentally went off only with our luggage, leaving us behind (!), Sharon, in that very early morning hour, helped us with all the negotiation necessary with the airporter's company with all the efficiency and habitability we would expect from staff in a 5-star hotel.

The pampering service / food: I don't have to mention again how great Sharon's muffins and breakfast are. Just imagine lovely summer fruits and berries, fresh juice, muffins (or waffles) of your choice, coffee and tea, served in lovely glassware and a beautiful silver tray, brought over to your doorstep at a time of your choice. Imagine local chocolate treats on your pillow and bottles of icy sparkling water (not in the fridge, but placed in a charming silver ice bucket) for you to enjoy, when you return from long hikes. That's exactly what we got during our short stay and we felt truly pampered!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

We were sad to leave this amazing log cabin today after a 4 night stay. Sharon and Malcolm are the perfect hosts and their attention to detail really touched us.

As soon as they heard it was our honeymoon they kindly left us a bottle of champagne in our room which we enjoyed by the fire pit outside the cabin.

Every evening Malcolm prepped the fire pit ready for our return which we sat by reminiscing about the days activities over a bottle of wine.

We were totally spoilt with bedtime treats and the freshly baked muffins for breakfast were to die for. You can pick from a variety of muffins, pancakes and waffles which come with fresh fruit, a great start to the day!

We were so happy that we choose to stay here over a hotel, our stay felt so personable and the location is spot on! Only a 10 minute walk to town.

On our last night our hosts gave us some dinner recommendations and even made a reservation for us at The Bison. We had an incredible meal there which ended our stay in Banff on a high.

We are looking forward to returning in the near future!



  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

My wife and I met in Banff 12 years ago and we're married 6 years ago. Our trip to Banff was a very late honeymoon we had always wanted to take. The log cabin was lovely and worked out perfectly for us. It's a small cabin but so long as you are eating in town it has everything you need, is cozy, has it's own bathroom and a counter top with fridge for basic kitchen needs. Location wise I think it's perfect if you're there to visit the surrounding area and be close to town at the same time. You're a short walk over a bridge to town, as well as to the Banff Springs Hotel, but your staying in a quiet neighborhood location with a river you can walk to 5 minutes.

There was a fair amount of mosquitos outside at the time of year we were staying (Aug) but the windows had screens on them so it was fine and mosquitoes come with the surrounding area.

The hosts (Malcolm and Sharon) are a friendly couple who really looked after us in many ways and offered good advice on where to go around the area. They made muffins and fruit every morning served with juice and coffee, and the room comes with a large selection of teas. My wife and I are both vegan, and they were very accommodating to make the muffins without eggs which we really appreciated and they tasted great. We very much enjoyed our time there.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Banff Log Cabin B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Banff Log Cabin B&B

Address: 222 Glen Crescent, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Canadian Rockies > Banff National Park > Banff
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 34 B&Bs / Inns in Banff
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience Banff National Park's exclusive, private and romantic log cabin bed and breakfast. Located within walking distance to downtown and the Fairmont Banff Springs. Includes private parking, high speed internet and gourmet breakfast. Perfect for a romantic getaway, honeymoon or special occasion. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Log Cabin B&B, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Banff Log Cabin B&B to your Saves list