We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Visitor Information” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Visitor Information Centre

Banff Visitor Information Centre
224 Banff Ave, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
14037628421
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 65 things to do in Banff
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Welcome to the official visitor centre for Banff National Park. We invite you to stop by the visitor centre on Banff Avenue for all your trip planning needs, accommodation, dining and activity booking, Parks Canada trail, campground and backcountry information. Whatever your need, our friendly staff will ensure you are equipped to have a fantastic visit to Canada's first national park. We look forward to your visit!
Useful Information: Bathroom facilities, Activities for young children, Wheelchair access, Stairs / elevator
Solihull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Visitor Information”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lots of information at the Centre. Great way of sorting out what to visit and how to make the most of your time. Information on not just the attractions of the area, but local things that are going on aswell.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

545 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
74 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good local info”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

Usual visitor information but also displaying weather and road conditions and means of transport available and to where. A lot of roads were closed due to flooding

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank misswickes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
213 reviews
54 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Help with lockouts and geocoins”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

I made several visits to the visitor center during my visit, mostly to check on trails reopening after the floods. The park staff were always super helpful and it turns out the park has set their own geocaches around Banff town and you can earn a geocoin. I was so excited to claim mine that I accidentally locked my keys in my car. The information side of the center was also very helpful with this!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank RoamingTheGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, CA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What's with the video?”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

Our staff member was helpful and very friendly. For some reason they had black & white gruesome video playing & was hard to avoid while waiting in line. It was a video of an animal eating another animal. I guess it's good they at least had it in black & white, but why have it at all?

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cinnne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrie, Canada
Level Contributor
152 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
“Stop here before hiking!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Great one stop shopping for park passes, hiking maps, and $40 bear spray; (which was a steal compared to $60 in Ontario).

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank physio2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Visitor Information Centre also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Visitor Information Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing