We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great way to travel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Legacy Trail

Banff Legacy Trail
Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 55 Activities in Banff
Type: Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Edmonton, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great way to travel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We biked to and from Banff and the trail was mostly repaired from the flood damage last year. There was one small section right on the highway but it isn't very long so don't be discouraged if you were thinking of biking it.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, Canada
1 review
“Paved path in the Rockies”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

Overall, I very much liked and recommend The Legacy Trail. This was my first time not only experiencing this trail but also doing a cycling trip of this length. Yes, it does run beside the highway; however, cyclists going between the towns had to be right on the highway so this alleviates that. You will find more remote trails elsewhere but this is a decent workout for the average person and gets you from town to town. I think it was just over 40 km round trip and took about 1.5 hours each way. Actually mine was longer on the way there due to some chain trouble and stopping for a snack. A couple/few ascents to work through but also a few descents for reward;). It was a little easier on the way back to Canmore, due to terrain and also wind at my back . . . If with school aged children would recommend one way only. Have fun!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alberta
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Now, all the way from Canmore to Banff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

With the completion of the Canmore portion near the end of the 2013 summer season, you can now ride all the way between Canmore and Banff on a paved bike path. It is overall slightly uphill in the Canmore to Banff direction. It makes for a great round-trip bicycle journey. Serious road bikers can go by at a fairly high speed, but most give you the “on your left” warning. For the rest of us, it is a great workout. The Valley View day use area is a pleasant picnic spot approximately half way between the two towns and makes for a great pit-stop in either direction.

We had done the Legacy Trail prior to the final portion being completed and there were a few scary portions where we had to ride on the roads. Now, there is only one very short portion where the trail is on what was the shoulder of the highway, where part of the original trail was washed away by last year’s flood. We found it to be a most enjoyable ride.

While we did not do this, it is possible to make the ride in only one direction and catch the ROAM regional bus back to your starting point. The buses are equipped with bike racks and there is no additional charge to transport your bike.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VANCOUVER
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Beautiful trail for a run”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

We ran a marathon on the trail yesterday, from the Townsite of Banff, almost to Canmore.
It was closed so bike sharing could be a problem.
Great pavement and quite flat. Much better than the highway.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford, Canada
2 reviews
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Super Ride and sights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

The ride is a very well maintained road and offers lovely sights.
Important to be aware of the corners and speeds of other travellers too.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Legacy Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Legacy Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Legacy Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.