We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great ride on the mild side” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Banff Legacy Trail

Banff Legacy Trail
Banff National Park, Banff, Banff National Park, Alberta, Canada
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #30 of 54 Activities in Banff
Type: Trails, Sports
Attraction details
Port Alberni, Canada
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great ride on the mild side”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2014

Great outing for biking but it can be windy. It is worthwhile
if you want a good outing for a day on a sunny side. Need to stay
focused though.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    12
    7
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Banff
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great way to enter Banff National Park on eastside”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

For people who love to cycle, the Legacy Trail can be accessed in Canmore and goes all the way to the town of Banff. It's paved all the way (one small section had to be re-routed onto the TransCanada because of the June 2013 floods, but that will be fixed from what I've heard), and is not a difficult route. For avid cyclists, avoid the Legacy Trail on weekends as it is absolutely clogged with people and kids who aren't used to cycle etiquette which can make dangerous potential collision situations.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coombs, Canada
2 reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great ride on the mild side!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

It was great to see this finally open and the fact they
are going to have it for bicycles and sightseeing. Need
to get into better shape next time/

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice Ride on the mild side”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

The trail is very pleasant and offers great opportunities to explore and see the sights nearby. As it goes from Canmore to Banff and on to the Bow Valley Parkway it is not too difficult a ride.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Legacy”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

I have to say we were more than a little disappointed. It was just too noisy for our liking. I think it is great if you just want a good workout but for a nice pretty ride, I would just as soon do Memorial Drive in Calgary.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Banff Legacy Trail also viewed

Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 
Banff, Banff National Park
Banff, Banff National Park
 

Been to Banff Legacy Trail? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Banff Legacy Trail, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.